Horror logo

Numb

a journey into the unknown

By Malu VelascoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Forest

Woke up feeling numb, high pitch sound and blurry vision was there for a couple of seconds but it faded away, the place where I was could have been anywhere truly! because I did not recognize it. Where was I? and what was I doing there? Feeling extremely tired I began to get up to take a look around and attempt to make sense of what was going on. Come on! I said to myself, please remember what you did last………..Oh no! then I felt a sudden chill all over my body.

.....

It was a cold night, colder than usual, I sat in my porch running my fingers through my necklace and looking at my golden cross. I drank my hot passion tea with lemon and sugar to help me relax as I felt uneasy the moment, I knew I would eventually have to go to bed. I've been having these dreams, this very realistic dreams that take me to a faraway place, a place I don’t recognize. I've been waking up in a different place after I fall sleep, it is a forest, cold and covered in fog where I fear the unknown with an overwhelming power of helplessness I try to explore but as I begin to walk I feel a presence behind me, I try not to turn around as I am consumed in fear but I get to the point where I can no longer hold it and I finally turn around, I have a feeling of death, of breathlessness but I cannot see what comes at me or what happens because it is all too fast it feels so real but I know I am dreaming. I no longer breathe, I no longer live but I am aware, I am still conscious. I open my eyes and I am in bed but I cannot move my body, I am screaming inside me but I cannot say a word, I have no control over any of my limbs, I cry in my head again, I feel the presence, I feel it staring at me and it smiles, it slowly smiles. I can feel it closer, almost sensing its breath on my cheeks as I feel I am going to pass out I can move! I am moving and I jump! I jump up from my bed and there is nothing there.

Every night is the same dream, this forest, this cold forest where I encounter my worst fear, I will not be able to get past this unless I face it. Face my fear in the forest. I tell myself to do so, again and again all day until now the night is finally approaching, and I know I am going to have to do it. Stop shaking! you can do this, cannot be avoided anyways.

.....

This is a dream, this is a dream I tell myself. But yet this isn't a dream! Help! this isn't a dream Oh My GOD this isn't a dream! I am really here! I am here this time but HOW? WHY? how could this be? It is impossible right? it couldn't be could it? I don’t understand I feel so confused I am so numb.

I begin walking slowly, my legs are shaking I don’t want to face what’s next I am crazy to have wanted that! I know what happens after that, I don’t want to die! please don’t let me die! not yet I am not ready PLEASE!!!

I hear something far, footsteps in the leaves perhaps? My heart skips a beat or two. it's getting closer oh no! I hear breathing, its breathing! Oh MY! It is here, its close its behind me its time, time I face it, face the unknown, I turn around and see trees, leaves in the fog. I hear a sound and look up to see an owl! big bright eyes staring at me. The night is approaching and its harder to see. I turn to keep walking and OH!...........

GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE Grace! GRACE! look into my eyes, she said with a half-smile in her pale face! It was an old woman with bright grey eyes, long white hair in a long white dress. She said it again now grabbing my shoulders with sharp nails cutting into my skin.

I found you dear, I got ya! Noooooo no you don’t! I smiled back at her, it was a satisfying seeing her half smile disappear as her face was filled with amazement. I said I am not scared, I DO NOT FEAR YOU! I grabbed her hands and removed them from my shoulders...I said I was not afraid of you! She smiled again, this time bigger and said.. but oh... you should dear...she let out a scream that got to my bones, her jaw dislocating to the ground her fingers getting longer to grab me. I remember my faith, I grabbed my cross and said a word of belief and threw it inside her mouth! I heard another scream but this time louder than ever it was horrifying to hear but I believed in me, I believed in his power, I was in the shadow of death and feared no evil because he was beside me. I felt another hand in my shoulder and I looked to the side, a bright light consumed me, it was all around me! I turned to see the evil and the light was inside her, within her and it destroyed her in a thousand pieces. Fear and doubt were dead, she was dead! and I passed out, felt to the ground and hit my head in a rock.

I woke up in my bed, there was something different I was able to move my body, unlike the past few nights I was able to move, not paralyzed anymore I jumped out of bed in excitement, I had faced the enemy! but...hold on something wasn’t quite right I had some pain, in my head, I touched it and felt a bump, saw my hand and it had a blood stain in it. My heart stopped, He is watching over me, the unknown is not to be feared for he will be by my side.

The end.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Malu Velasco

I have been a writer since I was a child, it is in my blood. I have been more of a free writing blogger but I am starting to pursue my writing more seriously lately.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.