Horror logo

My Staring Cat

Ever wonder what cats stare at when they stare? Find out what this cat stares at!

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1

My cat is always staring at me. No matter what I do, he’s there looking at me like he’s amazed by me or something. Maybe he’s just pondering. About what? I have no idea.

Maybe he’s figured out that he’s not like me. Maybe he’s thinking on how to be like me, or why he doesn’t look like me. Of course, he could only think that he doesn’t look like me if he’s already seen himself in a mirror without thinking that his reflection is another cat. Again, how would he know what another cat looks like if he’s never seen himself? When he does see himself in the mirror, does he really think that’s him or another cat? Does he even recognize what another cat is?

I guess instincts is what really drives him.

I always had this thought that he is plotting to kill me. I wake up every morning and he is there staring at me. On the dresser across from the bed, right next to the TV. His yellow eyes just beaming at me. Many times, he beats me at the blinking contest. Yes, I wake up and see him there sitting staring without blinking. Who knows how long he’s been there, but he never blinks. I always lose the blinking game with that cat.

One time, I blinked and he wagged his tail. It curled up like a squirrel behind him for a second. Then, he went into statue-staring mode again. He was the master of staring. I swear those yellow eyes were looking to kill me or something terrible of that nature.

Again, he was just trying to figure out how to kill me. Yes, he knew he was a lot smaller, so he was figuring out how to take me out with my size and all. Since they are natural-born killers, my cat was simply going way over his league. He had killed a few birds in the past. I do let him out and, once in a blue moon, he brings a dead pigeon. One time he brought a mouse. It was half alive. I had to finish the job for him. He kept that little sucker alive for a while for his amusement. Anyway, I hope that he doesn’t do that with me. Let’s say he figures out how to kill me. Then, he keeps me alive for a while just for kicks. Yeah, no thanks!

Cats!

This damn cat just kept staring at me constantly.

It was getting creepy!

His playing time with me was becoming minimal.

I needed my cat back. I was tired of his constant morning stares.

So, he stared and stared. My black cat became a relentless machine when it came to staring me down. Then one day, I realized something. Maybe he’s not staring at me. Most of the time, when I’d get up, he would stay there and kept staring at the spot where I was sleeping. It didn’t occur to me that maybe he was not staring at me.

So one evening, I got up to fixate his stare. It turns out that he was not staring at me, not at that moment. He was still staring right over my left shoulder when I went up to him. I took a deep look at his eyes, and he was fixated on something else but me. His blank stare went right over my left shoulder. 

I leaned back slowly and turned quickly. 

Nothing was there.

I laughed to myself. 

I was tired and turned off the TV. 

When the TV turned off, on the screen, a reflection of a man with a black suit appeared standing next to my bed.  

By Bazooka Teaches

fiction
1

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.