Horror logo

My Second Taste of Freedom

My First Car, A Short Horror Story

By RJPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1
My Second Taste of Freedom
Photo by Michael Mongin on Unsplash

My father always said your first taste of freedom is learning how to ride a bike. I was a late bloomer in that aspect. Not learning to ride until about eight years old. I remember the freedom and euphoria pulsing through my veins. I eagerly filled my lungs with the cool air whipping past my face. It was very free, simple, and pure.

By Stephen Kraakmo on Unsplash

My father said your second taste of freedom was driving your first car. He had driven an old truck that he installed deep thundering bass speakers in and called Rooster. Like many other things in life I wanted to follow in his footsteps and drive something unique and my own. I was 18 and had just gotten my license. I’d been walking to and from work at a local grocery store and finally saved enough to buy something decent, and used from Craigslist.

By Gilles Desjardins on Unsplash

After work one day I tossed myself onto the couch and propped my feet up, looking through what was available for under 5,000. In time I had messaged a handful of people and lost a little faith in humanity. When I was almost ready to give up I noticed a cute little Volx Wagon bug. It was yellow and had a rustic feel. It was perfect and on a whim, I called the seller before even finishing the ad.

To my relief what sounded like an older woman answered the phone in a quiet, warm voice. I smiled and felt the anticipation and excitement building in my stomach and seeping through my voice.

By Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

“Hello.”

“Hi, um. I’m calling about the car you have for sale on Craigslist, I hope it’s still available.”

Her voice perked up and she suddenly seemed much happier.

“Oh, yes! It’s available. It’s my son’s car, he’s in the military and doesn’t have much use for it anymore. He really loves the thing and kept it up.”

”Well, that's great to hear. If you wouldn't mind I'd love to meet and check out the vehicle in person.”

”Oh sure, sure sweetheart. You can just come by the house, it is in the driveway and I can give you the keys for some collateral so you can test drive it. Just give me a shout when you're heading over.”

I replied that I would and set my phone down to hop in the shower and get refreshed for the night's outing.

When I returned to my phone there were dozens of messages there to greet me. I furrowed my brow watching the progression from friendly, to slowly more daunting, tormenting, and demanding.

She started off inquiring where I was, saying how excited she was that the car was going to a good home. The messages got angrier as she took my lack of response as disrespect. She was raving about the younger generation and their lack of respect. I was creeped out and preferred to avoid too long of an interaction with her. I really wanted the car and my impulse was overriding my logic. I wanted to plaster my stickers on the rusted paint and feel the wind in my hair with the crazy lady far in my rearview.

I attempted to shrug off her callousness in my response and just apologized for not responding and told her I’d like to head over now if that was okay.

My phone buzzed while I slid it into my pocket and I knew she’d already responded. I slipped on my shoes figuring she was just giving me the go-ahead and sending me her location. Once I had finished getting ready I typed her address into the Lyft app and waited before meeting my driver out front.

The sun was beginning to set and followed my Lyft ominously like it was foreshadowing the coming interaction. I was enveloped in darkness by the time the tires crunched along her dirt driveway. I saw the bug lit up under the headlights and bounced out of the car excitedly thanking the driver.

By britt gaiser on Unsplash

Quickly, I headed over to the car, running my fingertips along the worn yellow paint. The door was unlocked and creaked open as the porch light and front door of the big house sprung to life. The old woman used a cane to take a few steps and stare into the black at me. It felt like we were making eye contact though I knew she couldn’t see me.

“Hey!” I called out shaky voiced. “I’m over here by the car.”

She nodded and made her way slowly down the steps, moving tiredly over to meet me.

“So what do you think?” She said flatly as she approached.

“it’s nice. I’d like to start it and see how she runs. Would I be able to take it around the block?”

“Uhmmm sure, sure. But I’m going to need some collateral so I know you’ll come back. “

“Right, okay. How about my keys?”

“That works, the keys to the bug are in the ignition waiting for you. I was planning on joining you but I’m feeling drained tonight. Don’t be gone too long.”

I tossed her my keys and she moved out of the way positioning herself to watch me back out and disappear down the street. Long after I had taken the car I still felt her eyes watching me through the pitch-black trees on either side of the road.

I breathed a sigh of relief to be alone and sunk into the seat. Trying to get a feel for the way the old bug handled. It was barren in this area and I was thankful that she ran like a dream. We coasted down the country roads listening to the crickets and frog’s songs in the night.

By Danny Lines on Unsplash

I was making a U-turn to head back when a wire suddenly clasped around my neck drawing my breath short. I gagged and tried to move my head forward but I was constrained with my skull pressed against the seat.

“Don’t fucking move.”

My body tensed and I obeyed. Hoping my breath would return soon.

He tightened his grip and commanded me to keep driving. I couldn’t see him in the dark backseat but his hands were worn and rough. The wire cut into my skin and I blinked hard to remain conscious gripping the steering wheel with white knuckles.

“I bet you’re confused. I like to explain what’s happening to my victims. I love the whole process I really do.” He ran the back of his fingers down one side of my cheek and the wire loosened enough for me to breathe.

“The world forced me to be this way. Mother is only keeping me regulated. It’s a necessary evil. I get to kill one person every year. This is very special what you’re doing. Very special.”

I felt him lean forward and sniff my hair, causing me to shudder. His breath wreaked of alcohol and his voice gave way to an older man. It was deep and raspy.

“No, no I understand you.” I spat out frantically, taking one of my hands off the wheel to pry the wire from my neck ever slightly.

“I think it’s brave to restrain yourself all year. You’re so brave and courageous.” I knew insulting him would get me nowhere. Maybe fluffing his ego will buy me time to escape. “It’s a shame you have to do it all alone. Aren’t you lonely carrying this secret by yourself?”

He was silent for what seemed like hours before he yanked the wire tighter and I gasped in agony. “Don’t lie to me.”

The last pull caused me to lose control of the car and I felt us sliding into the opposite lane, before flying into the tall grass that lined the highway.

He cursed and struck the back of my head hard enough to send stars passed my vision. I heard him climb out of the car, followed by the familiar creak of my door, he yanked me out of the driver's seat and tossed me into the field with ease. I scrambled to my feet dizzily, seeing 5 of him in my vision. I ran with what energy and stability I had, clambering into the middle of the street to get anyone’s attention, anyone’s help. I was screaming frantically as I saw a light approaching over the hill.

The man stopped short of following me onto the interstate and instead opted for hopping in the bug and screeching along the field into the darkness. I breathed a sigh of relief as my face was illuminated by flashing blue and red lights. The officer got out of his car and it was over as quick as it began.

A word of advice and a warning to others. Never meet anyone alone and never ignore your gut. It's been a full year and I'm finally ready to look for a vehicle again. Today I logged onto my craigslist account and I had a new message. I thought that was strange. When I clicked my blood turned cold. It was a link to an ad and I could see the first line.

Yellow Volx Wagon for sale, my son is leaving for the military...

fiction
1

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.