Horror logo

My reality

The story of a hybrid

By Tabitha Alexander Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
My reality
Photo by Zoya Loonohod on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered why you're alive? What your purpose in life is. I use to wonder that every day till one day it finally smacked me in the face. It literally put a fist in my jaw. You see I'm not human, well not anymore. I haven't been a human in over 500 years. This is my story of how my brother and I were taken from our family and turned into monsters.

We lived in the country on a nice little farm. It was my mother, father, brother, and I. We were not poor but we were nowhere rich. We managed our lives simple. Mother would keep the house clean, cook our meals, and makes sure we had clothes on our backs. Father worked hard out in the fields so we could have money for buying essentials. My brother and I were to go to school every day and when we came home we did our chores before dinner.

One day the whole family was sitting down for dinner when we hear a loud sound coming from outside. It got louder the closer it came to the door. Then with one big hit our door was taken down as it slamming to the ground. We all jumped up from our seats when a dark figure came into the doorway. He was a tall man with black hair and red eyes. The look in his eyes said it all, he was an enemy. He looked around the room staring at each one of us. His glowing red eyes landed on my brother and me that's when he smiled really big and we saw the teeth in disbelief. They were so long and sharp, we knew right then that he was a vampire. He lunged for us and we screamed, we didn't know where to go or what to do. I froze in place as did my brother. I was so scared I blackout and have no idea exactly what happened after that.

I woke a while later with my head hurting and heart pounding. I screamed out for my mother and father but didn't see them. a blur ran toward me and I knew it was my brother. He took me in his arms and held me close to his chest. I sat up looking around to see where we were and all I saw were iron bars. The man from our house has brought us back to where his clan was. What was he planning on doing with us? Where we going to be slaves or just dinner. My vote was neither, I just want to go home to mother and father.

We sat in our cage for what seemed like forever waiting for something to happen. Then finally someone came into our cage. he was a small boy kind of around our age. He let us out and took us to his master that was outside. We get out there and there are vampires everywhere, I had never seen a vampire before but now had seen hundreds within minutes. The master sat in his chair with a big smile on his face not a care in the world. They forced us to kneel in front of his chair like good little children, I wanted to vomit. Two other vampires came up beside us and the master stood up and said welcome home.

I woke back in our cage not knowing what had happened the night before. I looked around and everything seemed to be brighter to me. I could see in the dark like I never could before. What have they done to us? I feel so different and I'm hungry. The little boy returns and asks how I'm doing, A lot of children don't survive the change, Then it hits me so hard my head gets dizzy. They have turned us into vampires, We are now the children of the night.

After much screaming, crying, and punching things I had calmed down and sat and stared at the wall in silence. What were we supposed to do now? Be happy that we are apart of this huge family that we didn't want any part of in the first place. I was so upset I really didn't know what to do with myself but I knew one thing was very clear we were going to get out of this place alive.

I was released from my cage a few days later after I got the hand of the whole vampire thing. I walked outside for the first time since the night of the change. Everything seemed different like I was seeing everything for the first time. I searched around looking for my brother, it felt like I hadn't seen him in ages. I walked past a hut and to the left there he stood. I ran to him jumping in his arms for a big hug. We let go to look at each other and I noticed something about him, he didn't look like me. He didn't have red eyes like did and wasn't as pale. Come to find out they didn't change him. He was kept human but why? Why would they only change me? What do they have planned?

A few weeks went by, I still haven't figured out why they decided to keep my brother as a human. I can't think of any good reason. Other from thinking that over I found out that I'm a good fighter. We have matches every other day and haven't lost a one. I never knew I was this powerful on the inside. All of this rage and anger has come up to the surface and I just let it out in the ring. My brother didn't approve of my fighting but it passed the time.

Months had passed and I still couldn't figure out why they kept him human. Then one night my world came crashing down. They called everyone to gather around outside and that's when I saw them. Werewolves were standing on either side of the master. They towered over him and could take him out in one swipe of their massive paws. The master said they were here for their cut of the humans we had in the clan, my mouth dropped. My own flesh and blood were part of the humans we had and now he was going to be given to the wolves. I had to do something fast, no way was I going to let them give him away, I can't lose him he is all I have left. The humans come out heading towards the wolves and my brain is racing.

The wolves come close to them to examine them. Any they see that are too weak or sick they would disregard right then. It seems that all of them are well enough to go with them but what am I going to do. They turn to take their leave with their humans and I jump into action. I ran at them as fast as I could and put myself in front of him. I stand there and growl at the wolf showing him I'm not afraid of him, I'm not afraid of anything not anymore. He takes one paw and tries to knock me away but I dodge it with ease and come back with a punch to the face. My adrenalin is running so high I forget that there are two wolves and the second comes behind me and hits me in the head.

I woke up in a different place, somewhere I have never seen before. I sat up fast looking for my brother and the room started spinning out of control. I relaxed a moment and collected myself. Then a voice I knew rang in my ears. My brother stood there looking at me. I asked him what happened and he told me that I was bitten. Bitten, I couldn't have been, I wouldn't be alive if I had been. I sit for a moment and I could tell that something was different.

I was able to move around the compound free with the rest of the wolves. They stared holes into me when I walked by. I was the outcast here and no one wanted to be around me. The leader came to me and told me that I was what they called a hybrid. A half-vampire, half-werewolf. What does this mean for me? Would I be a target for others that don't get along with the vampires? No, I can't let us stay here I have to get us out of here no matter what.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tabitha Alexander

IStart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.