Horror logo

Mona

Multiple Personality Girl

By Earth Angel JennPublished 4 years ago 39 min read
Like

Mona

Mona- Short girl 18 years old, pale, black hair/alter ego blonde hair.

Senior in high school

Mason- Mona’s boyfriend has shaggy brown hair plays football

Pete- Mason’s best friend and football buddy, lives on the same street as Mona

Claire- Mona’s best friend, brown hair, writer for the high school paper

Mr.Elder/Ed- Senior in the mental health hospital

____________________________________________________________________

(Setting Friday night after school Mona and Mason go out to see a scary movie.)

Mason: How was your math test today?

Mona: I hate math! I would have failed it but we didn‘t even get started on it, did you hear Mrs. Hall flipped out on the class and went crazy for no reason started screaming nonsense and then she collapsed she was definitely on something we finally got the principal involved she doesn’t believe us but I think she’s in the hospital now.

Mason: I heard about some commotion in the halls didn’t know what happened, wow, that is some crazy stuff!

Mona: Ya she like had a nervous breakdown or something I don’t even want to think about it anymore, lets talk about something else.

Mason: What kind of movie are you up for tonight?

Mona: Hmmm what’s playing.

Mason: (Scrolling through the newspaper) Some Indie Romance Film, some kids puppet movie, the classic Axe Man…..

Mona: (Excitedly) Ooooo let’s see The Axe Man!

Mason: Are you sure you can handle the scary parts?

Mona: Ha of course! Nothing scares me.

Mason: Ok if you say so Axe Man it is.

[ The two walk up to the ticket window of the town’s community theatre.]

Mason: (To clerk) Two for The Axe Man.

Clerk: ( Hands tickets to Mason) Certainly here you go.

Mason: Thanks.

 

[The two walk inside the theatre with some time to kill. The smell of the theatre has a weird smell, kind of old, popcorn sounds popping, the red carpets still dirty.]

Mason: Do you want anything to eat?

Mona: I guess I’ll have a small popcorn and a coke. What are you getting?

Mason: Ummm I’m gonna get a coke and some gobbers.

Mason: (Speaking to cashier) Hi can I get 2 large cokes, a gobbers, and small popcorn.

Mona: (Speaks out) Can you put butter on that!

Mason: Since when do you put butter on your popcorn?

Mona: (Unsure) Oh I realized I like it now.

Mason: (Speaking to cashier) Ya I guess you can put butter on that.

Cashier: The total is $19.98

[Mason hands the cashier a 20 dollar bill]

Cashier: Here’s your change.

 

Mason: Thanks.

[The two walk into the correct movie room.]

Mason: (Whispers) Where do you want to sit?

Mona: Somewhere in the back.

Mason: Ok.

[The two quietly make their way to their seats in the back of the room.]

Mona: Wow its crowded in here.

Mason: Well ya, it’s a horror classic, 30th year anniversary.

Mona: How many times have you seen this movie?

Mason: Oh I seen it a couple of times, You?

Mona: Oh I’ve never seen it before.

Mason: Never?

Mona: Nope.

Mason: (Talking while eating his gobbers) Hope you like it then.

Mona: (Quietly) I’m sure I will.

Mason: What was that?

Mona: Oh nothing.

Mason: Oh the movie is starting!

[Lights fade, picture on screen starts playing.]

Mona: Get excited!

[The movie plays everyone in the theatre is silent, halfway through the film there is a scary scene, everyone in the theatre screams, except for Mona who gave a little chuckle.]

[Movie Ends]

[Lights turn back on, the two walk out of the movie theatre.]

Mason: (Looks up at the sky) Wow there’s a full moon tonight, its when the crazies come out, ha!

Mona: That’s what they say, its beautiful.

Mason: It’s gotten a little chilly out, do you want my jacket?

Mona: No I’m ok I like the cold.

Mason: Don’t want you to catch a cold.

Mona: I said i'm fine!

Mason: Ok if your sure.

Mason: (Looks at his watch) It’s 10:05 did you want to do anything else?

Mona: Oh I actually gotta get on home early tonight.

Mason: Ok I can give you a ride home.

[They both get in the car and drive to Mona’s house, Mona stares up at the moon a lot.]

Mason: You feeling ok?

Mona: Mhmm

[They pull up to Mona’s house, Mona exit’s the car fast.]

Mason: Can I see you tomorrow?

Mona: Sure, see you later.

Mason: (Waves) Alright I’ll call you.

[Mona disappears into her house.]

[The weekend passes on by, it is now Monday, back at school.]

[Mona and Rebecca are in homeroom together.]

Mona: Hey Rebecca, How was your weekend writing seminar?

Claire: It was awesome, I really liked the college I visited, they have good writing workshops. Their campus is beautiful, I love the fall foliage, perfect for photo journalism.

Mona: That’s great.

Claire: Ya how was your weekend, do anything special?

Mona: Oh no it was a quiet weekend for me.

Claire: Did you hang out with Mason?

Mona: Oh ya on Friday we went and saw The Axe Man.

Claire: Oh I love that movie!

 

Mona: Ya it was inspiring.

Claire: Huh?

Mona: I mean exciting.

Claire: Oh.

Mona: Ya everyone in the theatre was screaming and squirming.

Claire: Ya it is scary.

Mona: Didn’t scare me.

Claire: Oh really?

[Bell rings]

Claire: Talk to you later!

[Claire enters her next class.]

Mason: Pssss Rebecca.

Claire: Hey whats up.

Mason: Have you talked to Mona?

Claire: Ya I just talked to her in homeroom, why what’s up?

Mason: I’ve been calling her all weekend. She hasn’t answered my phone calls, has she said anything to you.

Claire: Oh no she hasn’t said anything.

Mason: Hmm weird she’s been acting strange lately.

Claire: Oh really? She’s coming over after school I will talk to her.

Mason: Thanks!

[School day ends, Mona and Rebecca are standing outside]

Mason: (See’s Mona and starts running towards her) Mona!

Mona: Hey.

Mason: Where have you been all weekend I’ve been trying to call you.

Mona: Oh I’m sorry I was really busy.

 

Mason: Are you mad at me or something?

Mona: Oh no, everything is fine, we can get together soon ok.

Mason: Ok hope so.

Mona: I gotta go bye.

Mason: (Confused look on his face) Alright bye.

[Claire and Mona walk to Claire’s house]

Claire: Is everything ok between you and Mason, you can tell me.

Mona: Oh ya everything is fine I was just really tired this weekend.

Claire: Oh tired from what?

Mona: Oh umm It just took me forever to clean out the garage.

Claire: Is that paint all over your hands?

Mona: Oh ya I spilled a bunch of red paint in the garage.

[They arrive at Claire’s house]

[They start doing their homework and gossiping]

[Mona’s phone rings 3 times in a row]

Claire: Are you going to answer that?

Mona: Oh it’s just Mason.

Claire: He’s your boyfriend you should talk to him.

Mona: He wants to talk to me all the time, know what I’m doing at every second, I can’t handle it anymore!

Claire: Woah im sorry.

Mona: I’ve got so much to do, a lot of time consuming stuff.

Claire: Like being in charge of the school committee?

Mona: Ya that, its very tiring.

Claire: If you can’t handle all of it, you should just step down.

Mona: NO! I’ am fine.

 

Claire: Ok sorry I asked.

Mona: Hey sorry I actually can’t sleep over tonight I gotta help out my parents.

Claire: Oh ok no problem another time.

Mona: (Packing up her stuff) Ya of course.

Claire: You leaving now?

Mona: Ya I gotta get home and eat dinner and stuff.

Claire: Ok talk to you soon.

Mona: Bye.

[Claire phone rings]

[Claire answers her phone]

Mason: Hey Claire its Mason.

Claire: Oh hey Mason.

Mason: Hey is Mona there?

Claire: You just missed her she just left.

Mason: Oh, I’ve been trying to call her, I hardly see her anymore, she’s acting really strange lately.

Claire: Ya I noticed that too, I’m worried, she’s looks over tired, stressed, just unhealthy.

Mason: I hope I hear from her soon.

Claire: Ya I'm sure she will call you.

Mason: Thanks for letting me know.

Claire: Anytime.

[Next day at school arrives]

[Claire notices that Mona isn’t in homeroom]

[Normal school day continues]

[Mason sees Claire in the hall and dashes towards her]

Mason: Hey Claire!

 

Claire: Hey.

Mason: Have you seen Mona at all?

Claire: No she wasn’t in homeroom this morning.

Mason: Hmm strange.

Claire: We can stop over at her house after school.

Mason: Good idea.

Claire: Alright meet you out front at 3.

[The school day ends it is now 3:00pm]

Claire: (Sitting on the brick wall outside of school waves over to Mason)

Hey Mason!

Mason: You ready?

Claire: Yep.

[Mason and Claire drive over to Mona’s house, they walk up the path and ring the doorbell]

 

[Mona’s mother answers the door]

Mother: Hello guys how are you?

Claire: Hi I brought over Mona’s homework since she’s missed school today.

Mother: Oh thank you how kind, she was feeling sick today.

Mason: Can we see her?

Mother: Of course, come in, she’s up in her room, go on ahead.

Claire: Thanks!

[Mason and Claire walk upstairs to Mona’s room and knock on the door]

Mona: You may enter.

Claire: Hey Mona!

Mona: (Angrily) What are you guys doing here?

Claire: I brought you your homework since you missed school today we wanted to see how you were.

 

Mona: You shouldn’t be here.

Claire: Why are you sick?

Mona: (Shouting) No! I’m fine, I didn’t want visitors!

Mason: Calm down Mona.

Mona: Don’t tell me to calm down!

Claire: We just wanted to see if you were ok, gosh.

Mona: I’m fine you can leave now.

Mason: What’s wrong with you? Why are you acting like this?

Mona: What’s with all the questions?

Mason: Your acting strange.

Mona: Oh I’m acting strange huh? I want you to leave!

Claire: Were your friends!

Mona: Ya right some friends you are, you are plotting against me, everyone is plotting against me! What are you two doing here together? Have you been talking about me? Hanging out behind my back, I can’t trust anyone.

Claire: No, no! stop Mona it’s not like that!

Mona: Sure it is! I said get out!

Mason: Fine we’ll leave, I hope you feel better.

Mona: Sure you do.

[Mason and Claire hurry down the stairs and exit]

Mason: What was that all about?

Claire: I have no idea .

[Mason and Claire drive away]

[Mona’s mother knocks on her door]

Mother: What was that all about?

Mona: Oh nothing, I need to go work in the garage.

 

Mother: Alright if you say so, be back in time for dinner.

Mona: Don’t worry I’ll have an appetite.

[Mona heads downstairs and into the garage, there are a lot of tools in there for wood cutting and such]

[Mona’s parents hear a lot of loud noises and power tools]

Mother: (Yelling) Mona! Time for dinner!

Mona: (Wipes off her dusty face) Alright, I’m coming!

Mother: (Looks at Mona) Clean up before dinner!

Mona: Alright.

[Mona and her parents sit down at the table for dinner, Mona’s mother made steak and potatoes.]

Mother: (Scooping some vegetables) So Mona what have you been working on in the garage?

Mona: Oh its just some art project.

Mother: Do you need any help?

Mona : NO!

Mother: No yelling!

Mona: (Talking with food in her mouth) Sorry.

Mother: How is Mason?

Mona: What is with all the questions! I’ am going to my room!

Mother: (Looks shocked) What did I say? What is with her attitude problems?

[Mona storms upstairs and slams her door]

Mother: I hope she is alright, I’ll give her some time and space to cool off.

[Mona’s parents finish dinner and head to bed.]

[Mona is pacing back and forth in her room, it is midnight, Mona sneaks out of the house and off into the night, she returns at 4am heads back into her bed and sleeps for 2 hours, her alarm goes off at 6am and Mona get’s ready for school.]

[Mona takes a shower then goes downstairs to the kitchen to eat breakfast]

 

Mother: Feeling better hunny?

Mona: (Drinking milk) Yes.

Mother: That’s good to hear. Have a good day at school today. Get all your homework done.

Mona: Yep.

Mother: Good.

Mona: Can I get a ride?

Mother: Oh sure.

[Mona’s mother drives her to school]

[Mona heads into homeroom]

Mona: Hey Claire!

Claire: Oh your talking to me now?

Mona: What are you talking about silly?

 

Claire: Uh yesterday, you kicked me and Mason out of your house?

Mona: Oh that? Don’t take everything so seriously.

Claire: Well at least your feeling chipper today. You still going to help me out with the school decorations in the gym after school today?

Mona: Of course! Mason has his football practice today.

Claire: Oh you talked to him?

Mona: Yep.

Claire: So everything is ok with you two?

Mona: Yep.

Claire: Well that’s good.

Mona: Meet you after school in the gym!

Claire: See ya then!

[Claire enters her journalism class]

 

Mrs. Jacobs: (Announces) Hey class I have a special assignment for everyone, I’ am having everyone to go to local hospital in town and each person is going to have a topic. Everyone is going to get their own patient and write a report. Here is a hat I ‘am going to pass this hat around and everyone picks one piece out and that will be your topic.

[Claire gets excited her turn is coming up, she reaches in and pulls a piece of paper out, she unfolds it and it reads Dissociative identity disorder]

[She peaks over at another girl]

Calire: What did you get?

Girl: Anorexia.

Mrs. Jacobs: Now class I want you to take this assignment very seriously and professionally. You need to do a lot of research. I want you to take your time on this.

[Bell rings its 3pm]

[Claire likes the assignment and thinks long and hard]

[She heads for the gym to decorate it]

Mona: Hey I’m here!

 

Claire: Hey your late, your suppose to be in charge, can you set up that table?

Mona: Oh calm down everyone knows what to do.

Claire: (Hands Mona a clipboard) Give this to people to sign.

Mona: (Heads over to table) Alright.

Girl #1: Where do I sign up?

Mona: (Checking her cell phone) Hmm?

Girl #1: Is this the sign up form?

Mona: Ya here’s a pen.

Girl #1: Thanks.

Mona: (Still on her cell phone) Yep.

[Mona heads to the bathroom]

[20 minutes pass]

Claire: (Talking to girl) Hey have you seen Mona?

Girl #1: Nope.

Claire: (Talking to girl #2) You haven’t seen Mona have you? I saw her going to the bathroom.

Girl #2: I was just in there, there was no one in there.

Claire: Oh ok thanks.

[Claire calls Mona’s cell phone, no answer, she leaves a message Hey Mona where are you, call me.]

[Claire is frustrated and confused]

Claire: Alright it’s 4pm time to leave.

[Claire heads to the parking lot as Mason in his football gear is running towards her]

Mason: Hey!

Claire: Hey have you seen Mona?

Mason: I was just about to ask you the same thing, she was suppose to come to my football game.

 

Claire: She was helping me in the gym, but then she just disappeared.

Mason: That’s weird.

Claire: Yea I know, well maybe she’s dealing with something and she will tell us in time.

Mason: I hope so.

Claire: I’ll see you later.

Mason: Later.

[Claire rides her bike over to the Mental Health Hospital]

[It is getting a little chilly so she throws on a sweater and scarf]

[She sees the sign Edgeview Institute parks her bike and goes to the front desk]

Claire: Hi I’m Claire I’m a high school student….

[She gets cut off]

Nurse: Say no more.. You’re the first one to arrive, taking a start before the rest of your class huh, I know your teacher let’s see what is your topic.

 

[Claire shows her topic to the nurse]

Nurse: Ah there’s a lot to learn about that, you seem like a smart girl. Here is your visitor pass, go on up to the third floor, the nurses station up there will show you around.

Claire: Thank you.

[Claire takes the elevator up to the third floor]

[She arrives at the nurses station]

Claire: Hi I’ am a student doing a school report on someone who has Dissociative identity disorder.

Nurse: Hi oh yes I can show you around.

[The nurse and Claire walk around the third floor]

Nurse: Everyone is at dinner right now, but when they get back I can introduce you to Mr. Elder. He is a sweet man, but has his problems, His wife died 10 years ago and after that he hasn’t been the same. But I don’t want to write your report for you.

[The nurse shows Claire where the lounge is, the art room, it is all very nice and clean]

[Claire hears shouting from one of the patients room]

Nurse: I will be back in a second don’t be scared.

Claire: Ok I’ll be here.

[Claire starts roaming around a bit but not to far from the nurse’s station, she see’s a girl in the distance with blonde hair, as she starts getting closer she can see her a little more clearly, this girl resembled Mona, but it couldn’t be her, Claire starts walking more closely to the girl, but the girl went through an exit door, Claire opens the door and looked down the staircase and no one was there]

[Claire walked back to the nurses station and the nurse appears]

Claire: What age ranges are the patients here?

Nurse: Oh anyone of any age can be a patient here, there’s people who are part timers also, have their own lives outside and come here for help and support when they need to. Oh dinner time is over I will introduce you to Mr. Elder.

[Claire and the nurse walk up to Mr. Elder]

Nurse: Hi Mr. Elder how was your dinner tonight?

Man: It was horrible and call me Ed!

Nurse: You don’t want to be called Mr. Elder today?

Man: No Ed!

Nurse: Alright Ed settle down, you have a visitor today.

Man: (Gasps with excitement) Ohh!

[Nurse pulls Claire aside for a moment] Everything is fine dear, Mr. Elder is harmless, by the way your topic Dissociative identity disorder is also known as Multiple Personality Disorder, but I’m sure you will do a lot of researching smart young girl like you. If you need anything just let me know.

Claire: Alright thanks.

[Claire sits down at the table with Mr. Elder]

Man: (Raises Eyebrow) Who are you?

Claire: Hi! My name is Claire I go to high school.

Man: What do you want from me?

Claire: Oh I’m just here to visit with you. What’s your name?

Man: My name is Ed.

 

Claire: Well nice to meet you Ed. What do you like to do?

Man: (Yelling) They got me trapped here like a rat, A rat I say!

Nurse: Mr. Elder no yelling your going to scare away your visitor, is that what you want?

Man: No my name is Ed! Mr. Elder is not here.

Nurse: One more time and your going to your room.

Man: (Looks at Claire) Who are you?

Claire: My name is Claire, I just told you that.

Man: My name is Mr. Elder nice to meet you.

Claire: (Confused) Nice to meet you to.

Man: Did I tell you back in my day when I was your age I had two jobs. I had a paper route and sold ice cream at the beach. That’s where I met Darcy. Oh Darcy how I miss her.

Claire: Was Darcy your wife?

Man: Yes it was love at first sight, she was beautiful had long brown hair like you.

Claire: What happened to her?

Man: Who? What?

Claire: Mr. Elder are you ok?

Man: My name is Ed, Today is Friday I’m suppose to be at dinner.

Claire: Oh no today is Tuesday Ed, you just ate dinner remember.

Man: I’ m starving, you can’t tell me I just ate!

Man: (Slaps face)

Claire: Are you alright?

Man: Why is the television on? What is that noise? It’s getting closer!

[Nurse comes over and turns the television off]

Claire: Should I go?

Man: Oh hi dear, Darcy meant the world to me, one day she told me she had to go to Paris for a grand opening art exhibit, I would have gone with her but I had to stay and work and pay the bills, she said she would only be gone for a couple of days and she would be back. That was the last time I saw her.

Claire: Oh I’ am sorry to hear that what happened?

Man: Her plane got in a crash, engine problems no one survived.

Claire: Oh my that is terrible.

Man: (Crying) She was too young to die.

Claire: (Hands him a tissue)

Man: I don’t want to talk about it.

Claire: What do you like to do for fun?

Man: I like to draw, anything artistic. Darcy would be proud.

Claire: Oh that sounds nice.

[Airplane flying above]

Man: (Shouting and covering ears) It’s getting closer! It’s going to crash!

Nurse: (Shouting) No its not!

Claire: I really should be going, I will see you again soon, bye Mr. Elder and Ed.

Man: (Waves) Bye.

[Claire talks to the nurse]

Nurse: Is everything alright?

Claire: Oh yes I’m fine, I need to head out. I’ll come back and visit again.

Nurse: Your very mature for your age, don’t forget to sign out.

Claire: Alright thanks.

[As Claire started heading home she started thinking about that girl she saw, and thought about how much she looked like Mona]

[Claire arrived at her house and started working out her homework assignment she took notes at the hospital while talking to Mr. Elder]

[Claire typed on the computer about Multiple Personality Disorder so she could understand it better]

[She starts writing her report]

 

[Claire gives Mona another call goes to voicemail again]

Claire: Hey Mona, can you call me back please, I’m not mad, hope to talk to you soon, bye.

[Claire falls asleep at her desk]

[She wakes up in the middle of the night and hears a girl screaming in the distance]

Claire: Hmm that was strange.

[She falls back asleep]

[Wakes up in the morning for school]

[Gets ready and grabs an apple, heads out the door and rides her bike]

[Arrives at the parking lot in front of the school]

Mason: Yo!

Claire: Hey what’s up?

Mason: Today after school were all going swimming in the lake you wanna come?

 

Claire: Sure sounds like fun.

Mason: Have you seen Mona?

Claire: No I’ve been leaving her messages.

Mason: Me too.

[All of a sudden Mona enters]

Mona: Hey guys!

Claire: Hey I’ve been calling you.

Mona: Oh I lost my phone somewhere.

Claire: Oh really. Hope you find it.

Mason: A bunch of us are all going down by the lake after school you coming?

Mona: (Turns pale) What? The lake? I can’t water not safe.

Mason: Since when do you not like swimming?

Mona: I said I can’t ok, I have to go, I’m busy, Bye.

Mason: Um ok, you still coming Claire?

Claire: Ya.

Mona: (From a distance) Oh sure of course Claire wants to go.

[Claire has a confused look on her face]

Claire: (Looking at Mason) I’ll talk to you later.

Mason: Ok.

Claire: Mona wait up!

[Claire chases after Mona but she disappeared]

Claire: (Signs) Not again.

[Claire gets a text message from Mason saying were all meeting at the lake at 6pm]

[She thinks that gives her plenty of time to change at home]

[They are serving mac and cheese at lunch]

[Claire starts writing notes during her class time about her hospital report]

[When the school day ends Claire goes home and changes and rides her bike to the lake]

[A bunch of people from school are there and there swimming in the lake]

Mason: (About to jump in the lake) Hey Claire watch me!

Claire: Ready, Go!

[Mason jumps in the lake from a high rock and makes a big splash]

Mason: Woooo!

Claire: Nice!

[It gets dark early and they all sit around a campfire]

[Claire sees Pete Mason’s friend]

[Pete comes sits next to Claire]

Pete: Hey Claire where’s your friend Mona?

Claire: She couldn’t make it.

Pete: Oh that’s too bad.

Claire: Ya.

Pete: Are you going to college next year?

Claire: Ya I’m hoping to get into a journalism major.

Pete: Oh that’s cool you’ve always been good at that.

Claire: Ya how about you?

Pete: I’m looking to get a football scholarship.

Claire: Oh nice I have to take some pictures of the next game.

Pete: (Hands Claire an extra blanket) It’s getting chilly out here.

Claire: (Wraps it around herself) Thanks, it definitely is.

[There all roasting marshmallows]

[There is a ringing sound that is coming from the woods]

[Everyone checks their cell phone and it is nobody’s]

[Claire gets up and gets closer to the ringing on the ground she finds a cell phone]

Claire: (Confused) This looks like Mona’s cell phone.

Mason: That is hers.

Claire: Why would it be here?

Mason: That’s strange.

Claire: I need to get home I’ll call you later.

Mason: Alright.

[Claire gets on her bike and goes home]

[She paces back and forth in her room thinking about Mona’s cell phone]

[The doorbell rings]

[Claire answers the door]

Mona: Hey girl!

Claire: Hey Mona what are you doing here?

Mona: I can’t stop by and see my friend?

Claire: Of course you can.

Mona: (Walks in the house) How was your night?

Claire: It was fine, I actually found something.

Mona: You found something?

Claire: Ya I found your phone.

Mona: My phone?

Claire: ( Hands the phone to Mona) This is yours right?

Mona: Ya wow I was looking for this. Where was it?

Claire: It was near the lake.

Mona: (Scarred) The lake? I don’t go by the lake.

Claire: That’s strange.

Mona: I gotta go.

Claire: But you just got here.

Mona: Ya I just remembered something sorry, I’ll see you later, thanks bye.

Claire: Um ok bye.

[The next day at school Claire starts thinking more and see’s Mona at lunch]

[Mona sits down]

Claire: Hey Mona, have you ever heard of Edgeview?

Mona: (Turns white) Huh?

Claire: Edgeview Institute the mental hospital.

Mona: (Puts food in her mouth) No.

Claire: Oh ok I’m doing an assignment there.

Mona: Oh.

Claire: Would you like to come there with me after school?

Mona: What? No, I’ m busy I can’t.

Claire: Why are you always so mysteriously busy these days no one sees you anymore?

Mona: Your crazy.

Claire: (Upset) Whatever Mona, bye.

[Claire gets up from the lunch table and goes outside, breaths in the nice fresh fall New England air]

[Claire thinks she is going to stop by Edgeview after school]

[The rest of the school day Claire daydreamed a lot]

[After school she headed over to the institute]

[Claire approaches the building, she parks her bike, she notices that same girl she saw before walking around the back of the building, she wanted to get closer and check it out.]

Claire: (Shouts) Hey you there!

[Claire starts walking closer to the girl, but the girl got up and ran away]

[Claire goes back to the entrance and goes to the nurse’s desk.]

Claire: (To nurse) Hey I saw this girl outside in the back is she a patient here?

 

Nurse: Oh you must be talking about Lisa. She just started coming here last week, she’s a part timer. I don’t know to much about her, but she is your age.

Claire: Oh I see.

[Claire walks by the art room and see Mr. Elder in there]

Claire: Hi Mr. Elder

Man: Oh why hello there, young whipper snapper, what a nice surprise.

Claire: How are you doing today?

Man: Oh just swell.

Claire: You making anything?

Man: Oh just doodling.

[Another patient in the room is shouting Ed, Ed, Ed!]

Man: (Angrily) What do you want? You calling my name?

Patient: [Throws a paper airplane at Ed] Swoosh.

Man: (Shouting) How dare you, get away from me!

Claire: Stop that!

Man: (Starts sobbing) Go away!

Claire: Mr. Elder come with me.

[Claire and Mr. Elder walk away down the hall]

Claire: Everything is going to be ok, don’t let people upset you like that.

Man: Oh Claire there you are. You are a sweet girl.

Claire: Mr. Elder you are a nice man as well, don’t let anyone tell you different. You’ve been through a lot.

Man: Yes.

Claire: You feeling ok?

Man: Yes I’ am a little sleepy I think I should take a nap.

Claire: Ok I just wanted to stop by you can go take your nap.

 

Man: Alright see you later.

Claire: Bye.

[Claire goes home and keeps wondering about that mysterious girl.]

[The next day after school]

[Mason is at his football practice and is talking to a new girl at school]

[Girl walks up to Mason] Hey there, I just joined the cheerleading team!

Mason: Nice, how do you like it here?

Girl: Oh I like it.

Mason: That’s good to hear. I'm sure you'll make lots of new friends!

[Mona sees Mason and the girl talking]

Mona: (Shouting) Hey you girl!

[Mona pushes the girl to the ground]

Mona: Don’t talk to my boyfriend bitch.

Mason: Mona! What are you doing!

[Girl runs away]

Mona: Why is that new girl talking to you?

Mason: (Shocked) She’s my cousin!

Mona: Oh well you should of said something then.

Mason: You don’t act like that to people, what is with you?

Mona: I don’t trust people like that.

Mason: Your making no sense, I need to get back to practice we’ll talk later.

Mona: (Smiling and waving) Ok bye lover.

[Later that night]

[Claire’s phone rings]

Mason: Hey Claire

Claire: Hey Mason how are things?

Mason: Did you hear what happened today after school?

Claire: No what?

Mason: You know Courtney?

Claire: Yea your cousin that just transferred here.

Mason: Ya Mona pushed her to the ground today cuz she was talking to me.

Claire: She did what? That’s craziness.

Mason: Ya I dunno how much of this weird stuff I can take anymore.

Claire: I don’t know what to do either.

Mason: I’m gonna try to get in touch with her tonight, I’ll update you later.

Claire: Ok thanks bye.

[Midnight]

[Pete calls Mason]

Pete: Hey man, sorry I didn’t call you back sooner, I just got in.

Mason: Hey you ready for the big game?

Pete: Oh ya super pumped!

Mason: Do you know if Mona is home?

Pete: I don’t know but I can check for ya.

Mason: Ok cool.

[Pete looks out the window down the street to Mona’s house]

Pete: Her garage light is on.

Mason: Oh really? She must be home then.

[Pete gets out his binoculars]

Pete: Oh wait man there she is. She’s standing outside.

Mason: Really?

Pete: (Looks closer) Ya what is that she’s holding?

Mason: Huh?

Pete: What? She’s holding an axe!

Mason: An axe?

Pete: Ya this is weird. I just turned off my light so she can’t see.

Mason: This is starting to sound creepy.

Pete: She is dragging a large trash bag.

Mason: I don’t like the sound of this.

Pete: Dude, I dunno what’s going on but I don’t want to start thinking its something bad. I’m kind of curious but I’m also really tired, I need to get some sleep. I’m gonna go to bed alright?

Mason: Alright thanks man, talk to you later.

[Next morning Mason wakes up for school, turns on the t.v. breaking news local teen dies in woods, axe found, still on the hunt for the killer.]

[Mason turns pale, and is scared.]

[He remembers last night talking to Pete saying he saw Mona with an axe]

 

[Mason calls Claire]

Mason: Hey Claire did you turn on your tv?

Claire: Ya I just saw the news.

Mason: I was talking to Pete last night, and he saw Mona with an axe.

Claire: What? You can’t be serious, you think Mona had something to do with it?

Mason: I’ m not sure these days she’s been acting really crazy.

Claire: Well that is true and I suspect that I’ve seen her at Edgeview.

Mason: Should we tell someone about this?

Claire: I don’t think it’s a safe idea to assume just now, we don’t really have any evidence, maybe we should pretend everything is ok for now, until we know for sure?

Mason: Ya I guess your right I don’t wanna be wrongly accusing people.

Claire: Ok see you in school.

[Mason thinks to himself that he wants to pick Mona up and drive her to school he hurries to get ready and heads over ]

[Mason pulls up in front of Mona’s house and beeps the horn]

Mom: Is that Mason outside?

Mona: Oh I didn’t know he was gonna drive me today.

Mom: Better hurry!

Mona: Bye.

[Mona walks to the car and gets in]

Mason: Hey you.

Mona: Hey what are you doing?

Mason: I can’t surprise you and pick my girlfriend up for school?

Mona: I don’t like surprises. You should of called first.

Mason: Well I have been calling and you don’t answer.

Mona: Well I don’t have my phone on me 24/7 I’ m busy.

Mason: Oh where were you last night?

Mona: I was home why?

Mason: Oh just wondering.

Mona: Were you spying on me?

Mason: Spying what? Your crazy why would I do that?

Mona: (Shouts) Don’t call me crazy!

Mason: Oh sorry I didn’t mean it.

Mona: You better be.

Mason: Ok Mona we need to talk, I can’t keep doing things like this.

Mona: Doing what?

Mason: Putting up with your new attitude all the time, your gonna make me crazy.

Mona: Well if you don’t like me anymore just say it.

Mason: I didn’t say that. I just want to talk to you and spend time with you, like we use to.

 

Mona: Well times are changing.

Mason: What?

Mona: Whatever I’ll see you later.

Mason: You can never give me a straight answer.

Mona: What do you want to know?

Mason: Umm well why are your finger nails so dirty? You always keep your nails done and clean.

Mona: I haven’t had time lately.

Mason: What are you so busy doing?

Mona: What’s with all the questions? A girl can’t have any privacy.

Mason: I didn’t think we keep secrets from each other.

Mona: I need some time alone.

Mason: Is that what you want, for me to leave you alone?

 

Mona: No I just want some space! Back off!

[Mona storms out of the car]

[Mason is getting a headache from all this confusion]

[The first bell rings everyone heads to their homeroom, an announcement by the principal is heard over the loud speakers]

Principal: Attention everyone I’ m sure some of you may know about the killing last night on the news, the school is on lockdown for the rest of the day, thank you, prayers go out to the family.]

Girl: (Speaking to Claire) Pssss lockdown? What does that even mean?

Claire: Eh kinda like everyone is on guard and alert for anything suspicious no one can enter or leave through the front door without security or something?

Girl: Damn.

Claire: Ya apparently there’s a killer on the loose.

Girl: Good thing today is a half day at school it will go by fast.

[The school day ends early Claire goes home and has to babysit her little brother]

[Claire’s parents finally arrive home at night and Claire takes a shower]

[Claire’s phone rings]

Claire: Hello?

[The phone rings again]

Claire: ( Even louder) Hello??

[The phone rings a third time]

Claire: (Yelling) Who is this?

Mason: Claire? It’s Mason.

Claire: Oh Mason. Were you just calling me?

Mason: No.

Claire: Oh someone keeps calling me but no answer.

Mason: I decided that we should come up with a plan.

Claire: A plan?

Mason: Ya we need to get some evidence to prove if Mona is actually a killer.

Claire: How are we going to do that?

Mason: We need to get into her garage somehow.

Claire: Are you sure this is such a good idea?

Mason: We have to know! If she’s a killer, she needs help.

Claire: How are we going to do this?

Mason: We meet tonight!

Claire: Tonight? Ah so soon?

Mason: The sooner the better.

Claire: I guess, what time should we meet?

Mason: 10 a’ clock.

Claire: Ok I gotta get ready.

Mason: I’m gonna park 2 blocks away from her house. Meet you on the corner of Walnut.

Claire: Alright see you then.

[Claire hangs up the phone and changes her clothes, she is packing up some things, a flashlight, walkie talkies, phone.]

[Claire walks downstairs]

Mom: Where are you going?

Claire: I’m going out.

Mom: Uh no not tonight I don’t feel safe theres a killer out there.

Claire: Are you serious?

Mom: Ya sorry. You have to stay in tonight.

Claire: But I have plans!

Mom: Your gonna have to change your plans, its not the end of the world.

[Claire walks back upstairs, calls Mason but no answer]

[Claire lays on her bed thinking what should she do.]

 

Claire: I can’t leave Mason hanging by himself!

Claire: Grr I need to sneak out!

[Claire thinks on how she is going to sneak out.]

[Claire is able to climb down the side of her house near her window]

[Claire waits an hour, for her parents to fall asleep, she then opens her windows and starts climbing down.]

Claire: I wonder where Mason is, why isn’t he answering his phone!!

[Claire rides her bike to the corner of Walnut Street.]

[Claire sees Mason’s car there but no one is inside]

Claire: (Whispering) Psss Mason?

[No one answers]

Claire: (Whispers) Mason are you here?

[Claire starts worrying]

 

[Claire tiptoes through the night sneaking around slow soft steps hiding behind bushes all the way to Mona’s house.]

[Claire is trying to find Mason]

[Meanwhile Mason has got an early start to Mona’s house]

[Mason parked his red car and wanted an early glimpse of what Mona is up to]

[Mason slowly walks up to Mona’s house quietly in the dark]

[It is foggy outside Mason makes his way up to her garage, wipes the window with his sleeve and peers through the window]

[Mason sees nothing but darkness]

[Mason just about to open the door but he sees movement inside, a blonde girl]

[Mason knocked over a garbage can outside and it alerted the girl inside]

[She storms outside]

Mona: (Angrily) You! What are YOU doing here?

Mason: Mona is that you?

Mona: Spying on me I see.

Mason: What have you done to your hair?

Mona: Don’t you like it?

Mason: It doesn’t suit you.

Mona: That’s kinda of the point.

Mason: Whats going on I’m confused.

Mona: Well now since you’ve seen my secret identity I’m going to have to kill you.

Mason: (Chuckles) Ha your kidding right?

Mona: I’m afraid not.

Mason: (Still on the ground) Your really the killer aren’t you?

Mona: Right again.

Mason: Why are you doing this?

Mona: Oh I just like doing things like this.

Mason: You need help, I can help you.

Mona: Oh its too late for that.

Mason: No its not.

Mona: Shutup! No more talking.

[Mona grabs an axe]

[Mona standing over Mason with an axe in her hand]

[Mason trying to swirm away]

[Mona lifts the axe up high and trys to get Mason]

[Mason screams in pain as it slighty cuts his left leg a little]

[Mona lifts the axe up high again and repeated her action]

[The axe slighty scrapes his right leg]

Mason: (Screaming in pain) No! Please, stop!

[Mona lets out an evil laugh]

Mason: (Screaming) Help!

Mona: No one is going to help you, you are mine!

[Claire finally arrives at Mona’s house]

[Claire sees the scene and blood everywhere]

[Claire starts panicking]

[Claire sees an axe and picks it up]

[Mona raises her axe again]

Mason: (Looking at Mona’s eyes) Mona I love you!

[Mona pauses and looks into Mason’s eyes, she starts lowering her axe]

[Claire comes running up behind Mona with the axe and drives it right into her back]

Mona: (Screaming) Ooooooooo!

[Mona drops to the ground with the axe still in her back, lying still]

Claire: Mason you ok?

Mason: I think so. Call for help.

[Claire calls the police]

Claire: (To Mason) They’ll be here soon!

Mason: It’s finally over.

Claire: (Tightly wraps cloth around Mason’s legs) You’ll be alright. Just hang on.

Mason: Thanks for saving my life.

Claire: What a day.

[Sounds of ambulance sirens in the background]

Ends.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Earth Angel Jenn

Taurus, Spiritual, Insomniac, ENFP, Cancer Survivor

Love writing, your donations are appreciated and will give me the motivation to continue writing stories for you to enjoy, Love and Light

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.