Horror logo

Midnight

Chapter One-Aeon

By Viola ShadowheartPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Image by Bruno Starling from Pixabay

Vampires have been coexisting with humans for centuries remaining their predators, but as Guardians of the Vandernight court one of the most powerful and largest courts in the supernatural world, it's me and Elliot's job to make sure we're never exposed to humans and that no abominations between supernaturals were born or created, that's the oath I took two hundred years ago.

"Aeon!" Elliot waved his hand in my face.

"Yes, what is it Elliot?" I turned to face him as rain dripped from his straight black hair that clung to his tan cheeks and neck.

"It's quiet tonight we should head back to the court before the sun rises in five hours, besides we have to attended lord Claude's birthday soiree tonight." Elliot said before diving off of the clock tower and into the alley below, I took two more photos then followed behind him.

"Your driving tonight." I tossed him the keys.

Elliot drove down the crowded streets until we reach our court located in the countryside away from the civilization of Ashdale a city outside of Great Britain. He swiped our keycards then slowly drove through the gates to the fountain where we were greeted by the Security Guardians and Claude Vandernight the lord of our court.

"Any suspicious activity tonight?" Claude asked me.

"No, but when we review the photos we'll update you, my lord." I replied as we walked downstairs to the white marbled basement of the castle where all the guardians did their work.

"Anything interesting out there tonight Aeon?" A Guardian asked.

"Hopefully not but it's been far too long since I killed a werewolf my blade arm is going to get weak."

"That won't happen to you your the best of us you know." A younger Guardian chimed in.

After Elliot hooked the camera up to the computer I sat next to him and began scrolling through some of the photos. I could tell Elliot would rather be at Claude's soiree than attempting to find something suspicious in the photos, unlike him I wasn't much interested in court politics or gossip. "Elliot you should head to the soiree and enjoy yourself."

He stared at me for a while not blinking his dark green eyes. "Are you sure because I can--"

"If I find anything I'll keep you updated."

"Okay, I'll see you upstairs." He removed his black trench coat then fixed his sheer black thumbhole shirt before catching up to a few of the other Guardians.

Elliot was considerably younger than me in vampire years given he was turned two hundred and fifty years after me at the age of twenty-one. Like myself, he once had a human life, one he preferred not to remember due to certain circumstances. I continued scrolling through the photos until a young man around nineteen maybe twenty continuously appeared in the photos, I zoomed in on him to see why he appeared to be looking behind him, upon analyzing him I saw two guys following him. "Werewolves?" I said to myself.

"What about those mangy mutts?" I knew it was Danika because she and I shared the same English accent as the majority of the court except for a few like Elliot.

"Danika, why aren't you at the party with everyone else?"

"That's where I was heading before I heard you mention werewolves." She leaned over my shoulder scanning the photo with her lilac-colored eyes.

"You know your a security rank two Guardian? This isn't for your eyes.

"Yes, but I saw Elliot at the soiree and you were nowhere around."

"I'll be up soon." I told her.

"Riiight... I'll leave you to it then." Danika put her long wavy hair in a ponytail as she went upstairs to the soiree. Danika had light brown skin and wavy hair that came to her small waist. She had been a vampire for four hundred eight years, one hundred less than myself.

Before observing the photo anymore I heard Claude coming down the stairs. "Aeon, my child come join the soiree with everyone else."

I nodded my head closing down the computer. "I'll join everyone in a few moments, my lord."

After I finished showering I slipped on my long black dress and a pair of black heels. My curly black hair fell against my pale shoulders as I put it to one side, once I was done I went upstairs to join everyone.

"Ahhh you look ravishing." Claude smiled.

I bowed my head. "Thank you." I watched Elliot mingle with the rest of the court as I sipped blood from my wine glass, he would've been better suited as the court advisor had that position not been filled by Lau. I couldn't help but try to figure out why two bulky looking guys would be following that young man in the photos, I crossed my leg while looking out the window at the raindrops, in the distance I could see the sun beginning to rise.

"Fifteen minutes until daylight lockdown." The announcer said.

"Claude I'll be in my room talking to Elliot."

"Alright, my child." Claude was one of the four ancient vampires who could be in the sunlight without the fear of being burned to death, unfortunately that gift wasn't passed down to any of his creations.

I went back downstairs and printed the photos of the young man before going into my bedroom, I sat on my queen-sized bed to look at the photos of the young man while I waited for Elliot who came in a few moments later.

"Did you find anything?"

"Yes." I showed Elliot the photos of the young man and told him what my suspicions were.

"Why would two werewolves be following a helpless human? Unless they going to feed on him, and how do you know their werewolves?" Elliot laughed.

"Look at their body structure especially their facial features, they even move slightly faster than the average human."

"We're going to investigate." I told him.

He sighed. "Fine but this is petty." He left my room slamming the door behind him.

I intended to do my job with or without Elliot, it's our job to protect our coven and expose any potential threats to our lord. Besides I knew a werewolf when I saw one so I wasn't going to argue with Elliot about something I was well versed in.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Viola Shadowheart

I'm an aspiring creative writer who hopes to publish a book someday I just graduated highschool and love to play video games, write, listen to music and learn new things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.