Horror logo

Letter to my monster.

Universe 5X23ce.

By Just SomeonePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Panic.

Sweat is running through my forehead as I try to remain calm enough to write. My body aches curled up under the bed. My leg is not in a natural position. But I can't move or you will see me.

Breathing hurts. My lungs ache to gasp for air, my anxiety commands me. But you will hear me. I need to pace my breaths.

My hand holds the pencil lightly. The words can barely be made out on this piece of paper. I will keep writing anyway. I need to. I don't know why.

I heard it. Another thunderous step towards my room. One every few seconds. Even though you still seem a bit far away, it raises the hairs in my neck. It freezes my blood.

I don't know how I got here. I feel like I have been here forever. I feel like I have lived under this bed ever since I was a child. Can that be right? Was I born under this bed? I can't think, another step towards me and my body tenses again. You're getting closer.

It's so dark anything beyond this small world of comfort is beyond me. I do not know what is out there besides this piece of furniture and my writing paper. I think there's nothing, actually. There might be a door, because the noises come from the hallway. The door might be closed, because the noises seem muffled.

Another step.

Will you kill me? Are these my final moments? My body seems to agree with that. Why? How?

How do I know I need to be hiding? How do I know to be scared? I am so desperate. Is there a window in my room? Can I jump through it?

Is this my room?

I can't remember.

I can't remember.

I can't remember anything.

Another one.

My stomach turns and I feel like I need to puke. The urge to stay immobile and quiet is greater, so I don't. You are coming for me. I know you are coming for me.

Please. Please don't hurt me.

Please let me out from under this bed. Let me out of this room. I will be forever grateful. Turn and leave. Don't come any closer and allow me to live. I want to live.

A step. Loud and so close it could be outside that imaginary door. I don't hear it but I feel a door knob turn. I can't see anything, but I feel a door open.

I can't help it as the tears start to run through my face. I wonder what I did to you. I don't think I have ever done anything in my life at all.

A few more steps. You almost reach this bed that has become my trench. I have stopped breathing. I can make out a few shadows right next to the edge of my bed. Your legs maybe.

A few seconds pass and it feels like a couple years have gone by in that stillness. Those legs start to bend as you kneel down next to my shelter. My eyes close on their own. My heart is beating so fast it seems like it will burst my chest open. I can feel it. I know your face is staring back at me know. I know you found me.

"It's time"

Am I still writing this? How is this still been written?

It takes an inhuman force. I slowly start to open my eyes and they begin to adjust. There you are. Staring back at me. My own own face. My eyes looking into my own.

I stare at my self. "It's time", I repeat. I am calm now. I have found myself.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Just Someone

Just someone writing about some things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.