Horror logo

Leoni has been Abducted!

Chapter One. This book does not have a title yet but it is a work in progress. This is just a preview and rough draft to gauge interest.

By Mandii WellsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Many people consider waking up to be a blessing. They are granted a new day to be alive, a new day to be free. What will the day bring? This generally has been me all my life, but today, today is different.

I woke up to the warm sun shining on my face, the smell of lavender and maple danced in the air as if I was in some sort of paradise. I must be dreaming. I kept my eyes closed tightly as I fought my imagination and struggled to wake up. I pictured myself in my own mundane life. Home, what was home? No smells to fill the air unless I made them. No light through the window, no warmth, just sort of normal. I couldn’t snap myself out of it. “Wake up!” I screamed in my head. “This isn’t real” the soft quiet thought followed as I gripped my sheets. I felt the silk run across my fingers unrecognizable but a tangible form of luxury. What is this? I brought myself to open my eyes cautiously. No way was I home. I knew that now. The shock ran over me as I looked around, still unconvinced that this was reality. A four-poster bed, sheer purple curtains pushed back and tied elegantly with black velvet strings surrounded me. No way this was real.

Again, the delectable fragrances fluttered around the room. To my right, I saw an intricate nightstand topped with a vase of lavender and my belongings. Did I bring myself here and not remember? Is this a hotel? I sat up to take in more of my surroundings. I remembered the warm sun that was shining through the window. As I stood up, I braced myself hoping that I would wake up. My feet hit the floor and I began to believe that maybe this was, in fact, real.

I tiptoed to the window and peered through. I saw an unfamiliar sight; mountains topped with trees in the distance and a sublime green courtyard directly below. Wherever I was, it was breathtaking. I stepped back from the window and put my hands to my heart taking a deep meditative breath while I glanced back at the room around me.

Still standing in awe and wonder but also a little bit of confusion, a knock on the door snapped me out of my daze. “Who- who is it?” I managed to choke up the courage to ask.

“Good morning Leoni, are you hungry?” An unfamiliar but gentle feminine voice answered. Hesitant, I swallowed the lump in my throat and responded.

“I haven’t thought about it. Who are you? Where am I?” The words rushed out of my mouth as if they had been sitting idly by anxious to be heard.

“May I come in? This tray is getting awfully heavy”.

Searching frantically for something to defend myself, I grabbed a book that was beside me. “I suppose you would, even if I said no”.

The door crept open, an average woman with cherry-kissed cheeks and pale hair appeared carrying a serving tray overlaid with an assortment of food. The woman was meek but seemingly genuine and kindhearted. She set the tray down and asked if she could have a seat.

I sat down and gestured her to a chair near the bed. “I know you must have many questions. It’s ‘okay. Don’t be afraid. This is a welcoming place, and you will be cared for beyond your wildest dreams”. Her voice seemed to melt through the deepest layers of my heart. I did not know this woman, but I felt at ease. I was calm for the first time since waking.

“Where is this? What am I doing here? Did Charlie send me to a home? I mean I know I have been a little mental lately because of overworking myself, but I am really ok. I don’t need to be here, I have a therapist, ask him”.

She gently gazed at me waiting for me to finish. My words were spilling out a mile a minute. As I caught my breath, I asked, “How do you know my name? Who are you?”

“This is not a mental health facility, but it is a home. It can your home too if you welcome and accept it to be. I know your name because Mr. Jerrick told me He saw you struggling in your life and thought you needed a break. You can be happy here”.

“I do not need a break. I need my life. As mundane as it is, it’s mine, and I am entitled to free will. Do not tiptoe around my questions. I want answers. Where am I? Who is Mr. Jerrick? I want to go home”. This time I was fierce in my words.

“My dear, in time you will know. It is time now to adjust and relax. There is plenty of time to get to know your new home. If it is truly your desire to leave, you may request visitation with Mr. Jerrick to discuss, but I must say, I think once you settle in, you will find this place quite pleasing. I too was nervous when I first arrived”.

“I want to know now. I do not have time to play your stupid games. Whoever Mr. Jerrick is, I demand to see him now”. As I finished my words, a man walked through the door.

The woman quickly curtsied “Oh, Mr. Jerrick, we were just speaking of you. I was telling Miss. Leoni about her new home and that we will take great care of her. You don’t usually greet our newcomers in their rooms, what is the occasion? The preparations for her welcome dinner are in place for this evening”.

“That will be all Marcella”. The man said firmly. The woman again curtsied and giddily smiled in my direction as she left the room.

Mr. Jerrick was a tall man with broad shoulders. The way he carried himself gave off a vibe of great importance. His eyes were exceptionally striking. When they peered into me, the only thing on my mind was obeying. Me, someone who is outspoken and fierce. Me, who speaks out against oppressors, was now the one being oppressed. I had so many questions, but I knew they would not be answered. So, I sat waiting for what was next to come.

“As Ms. Marcella had explained, this is your new home. It is quite unheard of for me to visit a newcomer as I am an extremely busy man, but I knew how feisty you would be. I had to come down and make my expectations clear before my home runs amuck. I do not intend to be harsh, but I must avoid confusion and ultimately eliminate any possibility of rebellion. I understand this is all new and the desire to run may be on your mind, but you will find, you are treated with the utmost respect here. Everyone who comes here finds their place in our home. Those who follow my rules get rewarded. Those who don’t…well you do not find that happens too often”.

I stared in awe still focused on his deep green eyes. The fear ran through my body, but his eyes wouldn’t allow me to protest. I knew I needed to escape, but for a moment I was the perfect soldier waiting for orders. I dug my hands into my sheets silently whispering to myself that this wasn’t real.

“I expect you at dinner tonight. We will get to know each other a little more and discuss your desires given you will participate in the discussion, which you will”. I slightly opened my mouth as if to protest by he glanced my way, and I was ready to stand at attention to my new commander.

“Ah, well good then, I look forward to it”. He shot a sly smile in my direction and turned toward the door to leave. I stood up. He paused, still facing away from me.

“Ms. Marcella said something about requesting a meeting with you to leave”.

“Now Leoni, you have only just arrived, it is no time to make rash decisions yet. I will see you at dinner this evening. In the meantime, feel free to look around and explore your new home”.

I let out a deep breath of relief because I was finally alone. I lazily fell on the bed and let out a huge sigh. A million thoughts and questions flooded my brain. Who was Mr. Jerrick? What does he want from me? What could I possibly offer anyway?

My thoughts were interrupted by the sound of my stomach growling in protest to the lack of food. I glanced over at the tray that was left behind. Succulent grapes, half an orange, a stack of fluffy pancakes topped with maple syrup, and a piece of dark chocolate lay there temping me. My stomach made its intentions loud and clear. I was far too hungry to object. If the food had been poisoned, maybe I would wake up and go back to reality. Maybe this was my escape.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mandii Wells

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.