Horror logo

Journal Of An Immortal - Part 3

Remembering Me

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Tuesday – January 5, 2021

Moving forward, I need to always remind myself to never go anywhere on New Year’s Eve. I knew I should have remained home and celebrated alone. I did not think that I was going to run into someone from my past. No, I am not talking about Dr. Xavier Clarke. I am praying that I will never see him again. This was someone else.

I was just trying to be nice to Don when he invited me to his estate for a party. Ever since I became a tenant at one of his apartments, Don has been so good to me. He reminds me of Mr. Robert Cornier – the man my family worked for before I turned immortal. Like Don, Mr. Cornier was very funny. He was also kind and generous. I remember every weekend, Mr. Cornier would play hide and seek with me and my younger brothers right before supper. What white man would play hide and seek with three children mixed with African and Native American in Louisiana in the mid-1800s? A good-hearted man who was like family to me. True, I was not too thrilled about working for Mr. and Mrs. Cornier. However, I could not complain. We were living in a beautiful estate owned by Mr. Cornier, and the couple treated my family so good. Mr. Cornier was like an uncle to me. Don reminds me of him. I would not be surprised if Don is a reincarnation of Mr. Cornier. Anyway, Don and his wife were throwing a private New Year Eve’s party. Apparently, I was the only tenant he invited to this party. I am not sure why. Maybe Don is a reincarnation of Mr. Cornier after all, and based on this possible past life, his instincts told him to send me an invitation. I do not know. This private party was small with only thirteen people.

Here is what making me very, very uneasy. Don has a nephew in his early 30s. His nephew is Christopher Kirkland who happens to be a detective in San Diego. In my previous life, my identity was Allison Canning, and I was living in San Diego at the time. I was also living in the same apartment building Christopher was living in. Christopher knew me as Allison Canning. I should know because he lived down the hall from me, and he use to hit on me. I mean he was genuinely nice. He was nowhere near being a pervert like my current neighbor, Franky. He was more of a gentleman. Occasionally, he would ask me out, but I turned him down each time. I did not want to get attach to anyone – especially a good-looking guy like him. At the time, I had red hair with brown eyes. I am hoping having jet-black hair with green eyes now will help me be unrecognizable to anyone from my previous life. What are the odds of me running into someone across the states in the next life? Should be zero to slim, right? I am not quite sure what the Universe is trying to tell me or do to me. As soon as Christopher arrived, I nearly passed out. Christopher saw me as if he seen a ghost. Obviously, he remembers Allison Canning. I am positive that he does not know that I was Allison. How could anyone survive a burning liquor store? That was the fake death that Jeffrey helped me set up for Allison. Christopher and I did not really talk much at the party. We just greeted each other and said a few words here and there. I mean it was an awkward encounter for the both of us.

I thought that being Madeline Kelley in this new life would be easy for me. My neighbors are horrible. I ran into someone from my previous life. My nightmares about Dr. Clarke are getting even more intense to the point where I do not want to sleep at all. Now, there is a possibility that Dr. Clarke is nearby. I overheard Don talking to Christopher about a killing spree happening in Philadelphia. Apparently, the victims would have their blood and organs scattered in places they were found dead. Blood would be on walls and floors. Organs would be bitten into, and some parts were left behind. It sounds like the work of Dr. Clarke. I remember that was how he murdered my family. He made me the way I am now, and I refuse to follow his path. They never caught anyone who slaughtered these victims in Philadelphia. These mysterious murders could be unrelated to Dr. Clarke. However, I would not put that past him. If Dr. Clarke is in Philadelphia, that means he is close to me, and I should relocate to another state.

Christopher offered to drive me home that night. I almost said yes because it was great seeing him again as he was visiting his uncle Don. But I do not want him to see right through me. No one should know that I change my life every ten years because I cannot age… and I probably cannot die. The man is a detective. If he ever finds out, it may not end well for me.

Sincerely,

Josephine Willis

Journal Of An Immortal - Part 2

fiction
1

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.