Horror logo

Journal Of An Immortal

Part 1: Introducing Madeline Kelley

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Saturday - October 24, 2020

Seven days until Halloween. The only time of the year to be something different. A different person, species, thing. Whatever you want. It’s usually fun or scary or maybe both. In my case, it’s always scary.

While Halloween happens one day every year, MY Halloween happens every single day. People get to wear their costumes only one day a year. I have to wear mine every single day. But at least, I can change my costume every 10 years. It has to be this way because people should never know that I cannot grow old and may never die. It has been this way since 1860. It is not fun being a different person every 10 years. I do not like becoming someone I’m truly not.

It is almost time for me to pick my new name after I just faked my death – again. I have not decided what hair color I wanted though. My hair is growing so I think I will give it a longer hair length than what I had in my most recent life. Maybe wavy. I am getting bored with straight hair now. I will cut it again in 20 years. I will definitely go with green eyes for this new life. I like to change it every time I start over again. As for my new name, it will be Madeline Kelley. I think it’s pretty.

I miss the days when I was an ordinary girl in Madisonville. I had a prettier name. Even while slavery existed around the time, I could not complain. I enjoyed my childhood until I worked for Mr. and Mrs. Cornier - like my parents did. My parents were bought by them before I was born. My father was African American, and my mother was Native American. I was 13 when Frank, the owner, made me servant to his wife, Mary. Samuel and Benjamin, my little brothers, were not ready to serve anyone. Samuel was 8, and Benjamin was only 4 at the time. Mr. and Mrs. Cornier were always good to my family because we were good at our jobs. Even though I was Mrs. Cornier’s servant, she actually treated me like a daughter. She could not bear children because of her health, so she kind of adopted me. I guess she always wanted a little girl. It was the 7 of us and 2 dogs living in a 12-bedroom mansion... until he came along…

Anyway, I do miss my old name - the name I was born with. But changing names became a requirement for me so the people from my past lives would know that I am dead… and to stay safe from him – Dr. Xavier Clarke. Even the sound of that name petrifies me. I HATE him for what he did to me 160 years ago. I was 23 when he changed my life forever. Because of him, I will stay 23 for eternity. Because of his obsession, I had to watch my family grow old and die, one generation after another. Because of his madness, I have to live in a different state every decade while staying away from Louisiana. Because of this monster, I would have urges to taste blood sometimes. Thank God these urges are not severe. I am able to fight them. Last time I tasted blood was when I busted my lips after falling from a tree at the age of 10. Momma told me never to climb those trees, but I could not help it. I heard baby birds chirping in a nest, and I wanted to see them. I find birds fascinating because they resemble freedom in my eyes. Anyway, I refuse to drink the blood of any living being – especially humans. Dr. Clarke will not make me.

In two days, I will go to Florida and meet with Jeffrey. He will help me start my new life like his ancestors did since day one. He is the only person who knows about me – until he passes the information and duties to his offspring. I cannot wait to tell him my new name. I trust him to give me everything I need. After my meeting with Jeffrey, I will be heading to Pennsylvania to start my new life. I need all the luck I can get…

Sincerely,

Josephine Willis

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.