Horror logo

Inception

A Typical Spooky Story

By Mel LeighPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I couldn't take it anymore! The sounds and cries of my sister being tortured in the next room made me die over and over inside.

And the worst part was that I couldn't do anything about it.

I cringed every time I heard her voice; knowing she was in unbearable pain and just wanted it to stop! But his words just kept repeating over and over in my head;

"You're next…"

Was it not enough torture to have to listen to my sister's cries of agonizing pain in the other room? It's not like I could do anything about it. Our murderer had tied me to my bed. I tried to break free of the strong, thick rope that bound me even though it wouldn't do any good. There was nothing I could do but wait for my turn.

"Shut up!" his familiar booming voice echoed through the house, "I told you not scream!"

His voice used to be comforting to my sister and I. It was a voice we could trust.

She couldn't stop screaming. When, I heard his shot gun shoot, I heard her scream out my name in thinking there was still someway I could save her.

“Ali!”

The silence that was put upon my sister forever, filled the house. Not hearing her voice at all was worse than hearing her cry.

I know it sounds wrong but I still wish I was hearing her screams. It meant that she was still alive and there was still a chance we both might get out of this to live another day. But that was impossible now. She was gone. She was truly gone.

I closed my eyes as his footsteps approached the doorway to my room. The last time he did this, we thought he was just checking in on us. We thought he was someone we could trust.

"Oh please," I thought, "Just please have some mercy on me."

I closed my eyes and heard him approach the doorway. "Wake up Ali," he said.

He thought I was asleep? Why would he think that? How could I be asleep during all of this? But I suddenly felt the rope around my wrists fade away and my blanket softly lie on top of me. I finally was able to let a scream out of my mouth and I opened my eyes. I was in my room, waking up from a nightmare.

I let out a sigh of relief.

I rolled under to find my older sister sleeping peacefully in her bed. Thank goodness.

I heard the door to our room open a crack. "Ali? Are you alright?" he asked.

I sat up in my bed and saw him enter the room. "I'm fine," I said with caution, "I just had a nightmare.”

I know he wasn't really a bad guy but the feeling of fear of him was still lingering from my dream.

"Well I'm glad to know you're alright," he said walking between the beds, "Because I'm afraid your sister isn't."

I shook my head and looked at him confused. "What are you talking about?" I asked.

He grinned evilly at me and turned my sisters face toward me so I could see the gunshot wound in her forehead.

How could this be? It was just a nightmare! Only a nightmare! I was frozen in my spot. I couldn't even cry because I was so shocked. I managed to choke out, “But w-why would you d-do this?”

"Because she was nothing but trouble and you know it!" he yelled at me.

I screamed again hoping our mother would come and protect me.

"Ali…"

It was my sister! Was she speaking to me from beyond? "Ali!" I heard her say again.

She sounded worried and suddenly I felt myself being shaken, only to shoot my eyes open and find myself being shaken by my sister. She was alive and well. "Ali! Are you alright? You were screaming in your sleep!" she said.

I stayed frozen in my bed. I was afraid to move. "Yes. I'm fine," I said monotone. I took notice that I was really awake this time. "I just had a nightmare."

"About what?"

"About dad torturing and killing you," I said trying to sound like I was joking. But I couldn't hide the shakiness in my voice.

My sister sighed and I could sense her rolling her eyes. "I'm sorry I got mad at you before bed," she said climbing into her bed, "And I'm sorry I didn't believe you. You were right when you said I should have told dad about my boyfriend sooner but really?"

"I guess so," I simply responded feeling better.

"You're twelve years old and you're dreaming things like this?" she asked turning off the bed side lamp, "You need to stop watching that show every night. It gives you creepy nightmares. Now go back to sleep and try to have a happy dream!"

I took a deep breath and realized my sister was right.

No more Spooky Six O'clock Hour for me.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mel Leigh

I have loved writing stories since I was a little girl. I also enjoy cosplaying, comics, crocheting, reading and drawing in my spare time. Check out my cosplay page for more updates:

https://www.facebook.com/AmazonPhenomenonLady/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.