Horror logo

Immortal Chapter 4

Chapter 4

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Immortal Chapter 4
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Natalie’s POV

Everyone was very quiet. I blinked a few times as I watched Johnathan run off. I have never had anyone stand up for me like that in my life. He surely had Mark shaken up a bit. And I'm sure everyone else shaken up.

"Hey, are you okay?" Carol asked, putting her hand on my shoulder as she wrapped a towel around me.

I nodded. "Just take me home."

She looked at me worriedly and nodded. She didn't have to be told twice. She ushered me inside the house and up to her room.

"You're so lucky Johnathan jumped in and saved you! I was frozen in place, I was so scared," Carol was saying as she dug through her closet for dry clothes. "That Mark is a jerk. He could've killed you and he didn't seem to care."

I just sat there in silence while she continued to ramble on. I didn't have any words. Everything happened so fast. I caught Carol staring at me with dry clothes in her hands.

"I know you've been avoiding Johnathan all day. But I think you owe him your thanks, yeah?"

I rolled my eyes because I knew she was right, and I took the clothes and went to her bathroom to change. This was ridiculous. I don't even like the dude. But he seemed to like me for some reason. I stared at myself in the mirror for a few seconds then met Carol outside in her car after saying bye to Lukas and Malcolm. This day was so over for me.

"Just get a lot of rest, okay? You've had a long day," Carol instructed.

I smiled and nodded. "You got it."

I didn't even want to come in the first place. I wasn't blaming anyone but myself for the events that occurred today. If I would've kept my mouth shut, I might not have been thrown in the pool.

It wasn't long till we pulled in my driveway. I hugged her and stepped out of the car and waved goodbye as she pulled away. I looked down both ways of the empty street and just felt this strange eerie feeling come over me. Like I was being watched or something.

Turning, I got the life scared out of me. "Johnathan..."

"Hi... Didn't mean to scare you," he gave his smirk that quickly disappeared. "I was just making sure you were okay."

I made my way to my front door, him following close behind. "I'm fine... And thanks for, um, jumping in and saving me."

I glanced at his smiling face. "No trouble at all. Anything you need, just tell me and I'm there."

I zoned out for a bit. First, he goes all ape on Mark and now he's here at my front door.

"I don't know what your game is, Johnathan. But don't think for one second I'm buying it." I pointed a finger at him.

He smirked again. "Whatever do you mean?"

With that he winked, said goodnight, and walked off. Something was just off about that guy. He knew exactly what I meant. No one who's normal goes crazy at a pool party, threatens someone, and randomly runs off as if they have a secret.

I shook my head in annoyance as I watched him disappear around the corner. He was indeed an odd fellow, that was the truth.

______________________________________

Johnathan’s POV

I just laid there in my dark room pondering the day's events. That was the worst way to start my first day out in the world. It has been a very long time since I've been in the presence of so many people. I nearly lost control. I almost killed that guy all because I was angry. All because he tried to hurt someone who I was falling for. I was about to give away who and what I am. I shook my head. How could I be so reckless? Was it because of her? Natalie Portman. I closed my eyes and thought about how it all began. How I became who I was.

(Flashback 1800)

"Mr. Catcher is the reason we are in this mess," a supposed friend of my father's retorted as if he was the only one in the room.

"I beg your pardon, Mr. Chandler," my father responded. "It is my deepest and most utter apology that you feel this way. But the way of The Counsel cannot be changed or helped in that matter."

Mr. Chandler took a deep breath and sighed. "I understand that. I also understand what you're trying to protect. But I can guarantee their loyalty won't last long. They're getting restless, Jared."

Father shook his head and sighed. "I understand this. But I made a promise and I intend to keep it. This discussion is over. My son and I have other engagements to attend."

He rose from the leather chair, as did I, and we both shook Mr. Chandler and Mr. Rory's hand.

As we got out of ear shot, I stopped my father. "What is your plan, Father? They clearly want to sabotage your work."

Father chuckled and placed his hand on my shoulder. "No worries son. I will just have to come up with a whole new plan and relocate everyone."

I nodded and followed him out to the coach that was pulled by white horses. We climbed in but was met with someone my father knew very well. And someone who made me feel very uncomfortable.

"Hello, Jacob," my father said, not even looking at the man. "What brings you here?"

"You know good and well what brings me here," he said in a cold manner. "My people are getting restless, Jared. And from the sounds of it, Mr. Chandler doesn't want to cooperate."

Father sighed deeply and looked at the man, who I feared, straight in the eyes and leaned forward. "Jacob, you and your people have no worries. I will come up with a plan. I swore to keep you all safe, and I shall carry out that promise."

Jacob looked at me which caused shivers to run down my spine. "You better have a plan, Mr. Catcher. Otherwise my people and I would have to take OTHER precautions."

I looked down at my hands and a shiver went up my spine. Looking back up at the man, I looked about the carriage. He was gone. Staring back at my father, I could see a trickle of sweat rolling down his face. I gave him a questioning look.

"Don't worry, son," he smiled. "All is well."

How can all be well...? When your own father has been threatened by a vampire? My father wasn't hiding his feelings from me. I could see right through him. Nothing is worse than being threatened. But being threatened by a vampire is a whole new story.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.