Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 28

eBook Available

By Sabal CloonanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I knelt by her bedside for a day and a half as Natalie laid there motionless. There were times her facial expression changed as though she was in pain. After taking a few moments of crying and holding onto her hand tightly, I gathered myself up and went to my study to find information on a man I had known all my life. He was like a brother to me growing up and finding that he was a vampire made the world not seem empty. I had found him a few days after my mansion burned down. Thanks to Racheal, she had led me right to him and he took me in for a while until I had decided I wanted to move on.

Flipping through papers I was finally able to locate his name. William O'Dalaigh of Edinburgh, Scotland. William had been a vampire before me and that was before my father was murdered and my home burned down. He was in Scotland tending to some issues, as he had put it.

We had sworn to stay in contact even though we had parted ways. And he told me to contact him if I needed him for anything. And as of now, I needed him more than ever.

"William, it's Johnathan Catcher," I began, a shake in my voice. "I really need a friend right now."

I began to pour my heart out to him over the phone and like always, he was an amazing listener and very understanding.

"I am so sorry this has happened to you, John," he stated with a deep sigh. "I don't want to seem like I'm against you but perhaps you should've stayed in hiding longer. But what's done is done and it can't be redone."

"I just don't know what to do, Will," I began to cry. "My uncle has betrayed the family name, Natalie, and myself. Jacob has sent Natalie into a painful sleep and I have no one else to turn to. I need to find the cure for Natalie, so she won't suffer anymore. Please help me..."

"Calm down, John. I am your friend. We are like brothers. Of course, I will help in any way I can. I would propose in bringing Natalie here, but I am unsure how unstable this poison will be coursing through her body," William sounded deep in thought, his accent ringing in my ears like a soothing lullaby.

I knew turning to him was a good idea and I was so glad I did. He gave me reassurance. Something I hadn't had in such a long while. And to call him a brother, not by blood, meant more to me than anything.

"I shall prepare a way there if you do not feel she is stable enough to be moved. Just call me back tomorrow and let me know," he added. “In the meantime, I shall send a coffin for you to lay her in. We want to make sure she is comfortable in her travels and so she won’t move around too much.”

"Thank you so much, Will. I am honored to have such a trusting friend like you in my life," I humbly stated.

We ended the call and I made my way to Natalie's side. She looked so helpless and in agony it pulled at my heart making me feel weak. I scooped her up in my arms, testing her stability. I knew now that travelling would be fine but placing her in a coffin was a better idea.

Turning to a good friend was all I could think about in how to help her. I was at a loss for ideas and words when it came to this strange poison that tied her down into a deep agonizing sleep. And soon, she will be better. She will open her eyes and gaze into mine and everything will feel okay again. William O'Dalaigh was my only hope now. But only time will tell if I lose everything again or if I gain back what I'm about to lose.

_____________________________

There's more to this chapter! Find out what happens next by getting the full book here https://store.bookbaby.com/bookshop/book/index.aspx?bookURL=Immortal

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.