Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 11

Chapter 11

By Sabal CloonanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The next day I woke up with a nice stretch and yawn. Sitting there just looking around my room as if I was expecting something or someone to be in there. I shrugged and crawled out of bed, slipping my slippers on before hitting the floor with my feet. The smell of bacon, eggs, and God knows what else, filled the room.

"Natalie, breakfast is ready!" Mom called from the bottom of the stairs.

"I'll be down soon," I called heading to my bathroom connected to my room.

I turned the shower on. While waiting I went ahead and brushed my teeth then undressed and took a nice short shower. After cleaning up and getting dressed in casual skinny jeans and T-shirt, I met mom in the kitchen.

"That smells great, mom," I smiled as I sniffed the air, sitting at the table.

She grinned and placed a plate in front of me. She always knew how to make the best breakfast. Eggs, bacon, grits, biscuits, and pancakes. Not to mention a nice tall glass of milk or orange juice.

"Are you going to use the car today, honey? I'm going to Susan's house later but she's picking me up. So, the car is all yours if you need it."

I nodded. "Yeah, I guess I can go check on Johnathan. See if he's okay since yesterday."

Mom nodded and kissed my forehead. "The keys are hanging up by the front door. Be careful."

I nodded and enjoyed my breakfast while playing on my phone. I wasn't really into the phone much. Scrolling through social media wasn't getting my mind off of things. He just acted so strange yesterday. Wonder who he was going on about anyway. I shook my head. I would ask him when I saw him.

After finishing my breakfast and putting my dishes in the sink, I brushed my teeth once more and headed out.

I had cranked the radio up loud and jammed out to one of my favorite musicians as I made the trek to, I guess you could say, the Catcher Manor.

Finally, after what seemed like forever, I finally pulled into the driveway of the manor. The place looked creepier than last time for some reason. But still amazing.

I killed the engine, climbed out, and locked the door. Looking around I see nothing has changed on the outside. So, I walked up the steps and knocked on the giant door. Waiting for at least five minutes before it opened.

I met with Johnathan's uncle.

"Why, good morning, Miss Havens. What brings you here?" He asked, a glass in his hand.

"Um... is Jonathan home?" I asked, clearing my throat.

A smile crossed his face and he stepped to the side to allow me inside.

"Johnathan, Miss Havens is here to see you!" His uncle called as he looked at me.

I had to admit, I felt a bit uneasy around this man.

"Such a wonderful thing..." his uncle went on.

I gave him a confused look...

"Such a wonderful thing, that Johnathan has such a beautiful friend like you," he said, leaning against the staircase and sipping his drink. "He has always sulked around lonely. Talking to himself. Then I just enrolled him in school. Figured I would give him a chance... to see how things were nowadays."

I looked at him confused again. "What do you mean by that?"

He looked at me. A smile on his face. Really... I guess everyone related to Johnathan has that annoying smirk. Must run in the family.

"Uncle, thank you. Go to your study," Johnathan's voice rang through the downstairs.

His uncle rolled his eyes, took my hand in his, and kissed it. "Miss Havens, wonderful seeing you again."

With that he walked off. I looked at Johnathan, a little bit uneasy. He just shook his head and came down the stairs.

"What are you doing here?" He asked.

I crossed my arms. "To make sure you were okay. You kind of ran off. You okay?"

"I'm fine," he said, stepping off the step and walking to the parlor. "You shouldn't be here..."

I gave him a look. "Listen, buddy! I came to see if you were alright. I don't have your number otherwise I would've called instead. And no offence but your uncle is kind of creepy."

Johnathan looked at me and chuckled. "He has that effect on people."

I nodded. "Anything you want to tell me?"

He shook his head. This was getting annoying. All the secrets. I hated secrets.

"Stop hiding things from me, Johnathan," I shot at him.

He quickly looked at me again and lifted an eyebrow. "All this time I thought you hated me."

I looked at my feet. He was right. But then the more I got to know him, the more I became curious about him. He wasn't like other guys that was a fact. He pulled my interest a lot without even trying. I wanted to know more about Johnathan Catcher.

"Well I guess you can say you've rubbed off on me. And I count you as my friend. And I just want to be sure you're okay. Now please, tell me what's wrong!"

He looked down at his feet and sighed. "I assure you, Natalie. I am fine."

I gave him a look. Guess I'm not getting anything out of him today. I looked around the parlor and over at the mantelpiece. A photo of a young man who resembled Johnathan hung over the fireplace. Walking over to it I stared at it as best I could. I could see the red tint in the eyes as that of Johnathan standing before me.

"Is this you?" I asked him.

He stood next to me and looked at it with a nod. "Sure is. Had that done a year or so ago."

I looked at his clothing closely. It was that of olden times when horses and wagons were a thing. I lifted an eyebrow and looked at him then the picture again and brought it up.

"Photo shoot," he simply said with a shrug.

"So, you're not going to tell me anything are you?" I asked, crossing my arms.

"There's nothing to tell," he replied.

You say that now. But I know he's hiding something. And I'm not one to give up. When I want answers, I have my ways of finding things out. And I will find out the mystery of Johnathan Catcher.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.