Horror logo

Ghost Stories

Was it All Real or Just a Wild Imagination?

By Elise Published 4 years ago 10 min read
Like
Photo Source: Unsplash

My childhood home was a strange place. It was a magnet for bizarre experiences, but it’s hard to tell if they were real because as a child my imagination was wild. Whether I made these things up or not they stick with me and I think about them often. So, let's get into it.

First ghost experience

My mum was a single parent, so it was just her, my sister and myself for many years.

We lived in a small townhouse where many strange experiences would occur. So, from three-years-old up until I was six, my sister and I would share a room.

Some nights when our mum would put us to bed we would sneak out of our room and run around the hallway. Our mum would tell us off and put us back in bed. We thought it was hilarious, but now I can see how annoying that would have been.

One night mum put us to bed, did the routinely book reading and tucked us in. When she left the room my sister and I were talking instead of sleeping. I would have been around four or five, so we were most likely talking about Furby’s or Pokemon.

Mid conversation we hear our mum tell us to get back into bed.

We were confused since we hadn’t moved from our beds. We told her we were in bed already, so she came in to check for herself.

She asked us if we had gotten out of bed because she had seen someone run in the hallway. Obviously, it hadn’t been either of us and she believed us. Maybe we seemed sincere or maybe she noticed we were still tucked in tightly.

And that was my first experience with paranormal stuff.

The First Time I Saw a Ghost

I know in the first story I didn’t get to see what my mum saw, but this next story was my first ghostly sighting and this all happened in the same house just a few years later.

It was a hot summer night and I had kicked the doona off of me. I was about eight or nine and had my own room finally. I’d woken up in the middle of the night feeling rather thirsty and as I sat up to reach over for my bottle on the bedside table I noticed a white glowing shape at the end of my bed. It looked like a child but not really because it was white and glowing. In my sleepy state I thought it was just my doona bundled up at the end of my bed. I only looked at it for a split second and then turned my head to look for my water bottle.

When I looked back at the end of my bed I noticed my doona was actually bundled up near the wall next to me, not at the end of my bed. The thing that was at the end of my bed was now gone and I freaked out. I didn’t get to have a drink of water that night instead I grabbed my doona and covered myself. Sweating and thirsty I somehow fell asleep that night and now I no longer look around my room at night.

The scariest smile I’ve ever seen

This happened a year or two later and it happened in the morning which is weird.

It was 7:30 A.M. that my alarm went off for school. When I sat up I looked around my room that’s when something caught my attention. My focus was on the closet door, which was white and what I saw freaked me the fuck out. It sounds weird now but it was scary at the time. There was a beautiful set of teeth on the door staring back at me, not literally staring obviously but it was smiling and opening up like it was laughing at me. I couldn’t hear laughter but I could tell that it was laughing.

Was it my imagination? Was I just tired? I don’t know, it looked so real and I can still see the image in my head to this day.

I watched those teeth open up into a laughing smile. I blinked multiple times. I rubbed my eyes and looked again, it was still there. I looked a little closer and was petrified so I ran out of the room. All that happened within 30 seconds. I never saw that smile again thankfully.

The Little Girl Holding a Basket

When I was eleven-years-old I was sitting at the dining table doing my homework. It was late afternoon in summer so the sun hadn’t set yet and I really wanted to go play outside before dark but had to finish my homework first.

I was facing the entrance to the hallway — the same hallway where many things had been seen — and at the corner of my eye, I could see a girl standing there. I thought it was my sister so I didn’t pay much attention. It looked like she was holding a basket and wearing a hat and a dress. I thought it was odd but still didn’t lookup. The girl bent down and picked something up, it looked like she put it in her basket and when I finally looked up no one was there. That moment happened within seconds. I was a little spooked but being eleven I needed to go play outside, so finishing homework was my priority.

Was That You?

I don’t remember what age I was, maybe ten or eleven, and we were having a birthday party at our house. The adults were mostly outside and the kids were all running around inside. There were around eight kids that were there that night so you can imagine how crazy the house would have been.

Some kids were watching T.V. and others were chasing each other through the hallway, playing hide and seek, doing all the normal kid stuff.

Eventually, it was time for the cake so everyone was going outside, but at the corner of my eye I saw a little kid in red poke their head from the hallway. When I looked the kid was gone. I thought it was my stepbrother because he was wearing red that night, so I ran into the hallway after him but when I looked he wasn’t there. I ran to the back door and noticed that all the kids were outside playing tag together — including my stepbrother. I asked him if he had been hiding in the hallway he said no.

I still wonder if my brain just thought I saw a kid in red or if I actually had. We will never know.

My Phone

When I was 16 my phone use to slide off the desk by itself. I thought it was just because I was moving around a lot or I had bumped it. I saw it slide right off and fall to the ground. The first time I didn’t think much of it because I thought maybe I’d done it. But it happened for about a week or two every few days.

My friends were over one day and I was in the middle of telling them about it when they saw it happen. We thought it was creepy but I still wasn’t sure if it was anything paranormal.

I tried to jump around, shake the desk, checked if it was on a tilt but nope, there was no explanation.

Then one day, I had a whole bunch of crystals on the desk with me (I was really into crystals at the time) and I was researching how to activate them — don’t ask, I was going through a phase — and all of a sudden the whole desk began to shake. I freaked out and ran away. After that my phone stopped flying off the desk and it never shook again.

My Aunties Haunted House

My aunt was living in a haunted house for a few years. I personally never saw anything but I was there when things happened. Of course, I was too busy watching T.V. or playing with my toys to care at the time so I missed out on seeing anything. Though I do remember being scared of my aunties room. I felt uncomfortable going near it so I use to close her door.

So, one night my mum, sister and I were sleeping in the spare room at my aunties. Sometime during the night my mum woke up and saw a girl walking out of the room. She thought it was my sister going to the toilet and she said: “Are you alright?” There was no response, which she thought was weird. She waited a moment but heard nothing. Then she realised that she could hear us both breathing. Yep, we were both beside her, asleep. No one had left the room and she probably spoke to a ghost.

Another friend of my aunties was staying there one night in the spare room and the door opened by itself while she was asleep. That same friend was in the kitchen one day, we were all there, and as she bent down to pick something up a jar fell from the bench onto her head. My aunty and mum saw it fall, they don’t know how it fell but safe to say everyone freaked out.

One night two other kids were over at my aunties house along with my sister and me. I didn’t see this, unfortunately, but my sister was standing near the kitchen bench, along with one of the other kids, and on the bench my aunty had this little crystal statue. In front of my sister the crystal went flying across the room and smashed to bits, it was as if someone had hit it really hard. My sister thought the other kid did it but they had no idea what happened. My aunties friend saw it happen and freaked out because she saw it go flying across the room by itself.

Girl in Chains

Back when my sister and I shared a room she woke up in the night and turned over in bed. Standing there at her bedside was a young girl. She was in chains, her black hair was in two buns and she lunged forward at my sister. She hid under the blankets for the rest of the night, scared to move.

I’m sad I missed out on seeing that.

Here Are a Few Short Ghost Stories For You

My mum and stepdad recently bought a house and the first time they went to go see it the door flung opened by itself.

They also saw a bag of lollies fly off the shelf and land in the middle of the kitchen.

My mum recently saw a man walk out of a phone booth onto the road and disappear at 11 pm.

She also woke up one night and could hear the T.V. was still on in the kitchen. So she got out of bed. You need to walk through the lounge room to get to the kitchen and she could still hear it clearly. The moment she opened to the door to the kitchen everything went silent and the T.V. wasn’t on.

My stepdad had fallen asleep in the lounge one night. When he woke up he could hear footsteps on the carpet and when he looked he saw a black shadow disappear behind the T.V. He obviously freaked out and ran to the bedroom. Safe to say that was the last time he fell asleep in the lounge.

Back when I was just a baby, in the middle of the night my mum woke up and when she turned over in bed there was a face with black eyes and a wide smile zoom down at her. And of course, she hid under her blankets for the rest of the night.

A few years ago while I was asleep a picture of a woman popped into my head and it felt like she was there with me. I couldn’t see her face but I could see a dress she was wearing. The next day I asked my mum and sister if they knew anyone who wore a dress like that and they named a few people but we weren’t sure. We went to visit my grandmother and we also asked her. She brought out a photo album and we went through it. Yep, you guessed it. One of the photos was of a lady wearing the dress I saw. We asked who she was, turns out she is my grandfather’s sister who passed away.

That’s It

So there you go, most of the stories that we have are all written here for your entertainment. I love hearing ghost stories, so if you have any of your own please write it in the comments below. It’s so fascinating.

Thanks for reading, have a great day ❤

Originally posted on Medium

Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.