Horror logo

Ghost Hunting

Different types of Ghosts & Equipment needed

By Kate AdamsPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Halloween Costume for the dog

Before I lived at 4938 W. Wescott Dr, Glendale Arizona 85308 I never believed in Ghosts and Ghouls let alone bad entities. My first experiences at this house were when my Dad was diagnosed with cancer. The activity started after the Hogekins Lymphoma came back after he was cancer free for several months. There was one afternoon when I came in from being outside smoking and as I passed by a short set of stairs leading down to the third level of the house I saw the full bodied apparition of my Grandfather with whom I had never met due to him being killed in the line of duty while fighting for our country in WWI. I had only seen photos of him before he went to war and a photo of him with his platoon. To see a full bodied apparition of my Grandfather startled me at first but I wasn't scared due to the fact that I knew he was there for my Dad. As the cancer became worse for my Dad; we all prepared for the inevitable, which was his passing. There was one day however, when he was in his room resting on the bed with the door cracked. I didn't go up to the 3rd floor, rather I went into the front room and looked up the stairs to see his door cracked and my Grandmother standing in his room looking out into the hallway. Although I didn't want to see my Dad pass away from such a terrible disease I knew by seeing my grandparents at different times that when the day came my dad would be in good hands as his parents' came to take him home.

My second experience in this house was six months after I had acquired my CNA license and was working at a facility that I use to be a housekeeper at. One of the male residents' who had dementia would always come out of his room and state to the charge nurse on duty the he "Didn't do it". No one knew exactly what he was talking about but we rolled with it and assured him he was o.k. After eight months of working at the facility the male resident passed away. I was at home sleeping when he passed away and was awoken by him stating in my ear that he "Didn't do it". So, I got up, lit a white candle and some sage and after doing this I gently spoke to him, letting him know it was o.k. to move on. His work here is done and I thanked him for being a friend. I never heard from him again after that.

My third experience in this home was not to long after my Mother had started taking me to an Angel shop in the downtown Glendale area. One of the owners happens to be a Psychic Medium, which I think is rather cool. I certainly wish I had those abilities but am not that fortunate. There was one night where I was awoken by voices in my closet, clanking of glasses and pool balls cracking on a pool table. The only person I could associate that behavior with is my Great Aunt who had passed away a few years earlier. After I had informed my Mother of what happened the following day; we had gone to the Angel Shop to ask the owners what to do under those circumstances. We were directed to buying sage and using it to have to entities move on. I was also informed by the Psychic that what I heard was my Great Aunt, in her own way, letting me know she was o.k. and that I din't need to worry about her like I used to. All three experiences were sad but I felt comfort in hearing and seeing loved ones one more time.

Now that I have gone over my own experiences I will go onto the different haunting's and equipment used by Ghost Hunting groups.The following information I acquired from ghostsandgravestones.com/typesof ghosts. The different types are as follows:

1) Interactive Personality: The most common of all ghosts spotted is usually of a deceased person, someone you might know, a family member or perhaps even a historical figure.

2) Ectoplasm or Ecto-Mist: This vaporous cloud usually appears a few feet off the ground and can move swiftly or stay still-almost like it's orbiting.These ghostly encounters have been caught on video and in photographs and can be white, gray, or even black. Although they can simply appear this way , linger than move around quickly ,sometimes ectoplasm appear before becoming a full bodied apparition. Many people have witnessed them outdoors, in graveyards, battlefields and historical sites.

3) Poltergeist-The word actually means noisy ghost because it has the ability to move or knock things over, make noise, and manipulate the physical environment. A poltergeist is actually one of the rarest forms of haunting's and to many the most terrifying. Loud knocking sounds, lights turning off and on, doors slamming, and even fires breaking out mysteriously have all be attributed to type of spiritual disturbance.

4) Orbs-Orbs are probably the most photographed type of anomaly.They appear as a transparent or translucent ball of light that is hovering over the ground. It is believed that orbs are the soul of a human or animal that has died and is traveling around from one place to another.

5) Funnel Ghosts: most often spotted in homes or old historical buildings, the funnel ghost or vortex is frequently associated with a cold spot. They usually take on the shape of a swirling funnel and most paranormal experts believe they are a loved one returning for a visit or even a former resident of the home. Appearing as a wisp of light or swirling spiral of light , they are often caught in photographs or in videos.

The following are just a few items that Ghost Hunters would use while on a case:

1) Camera-Both still and video

2) EMF-Electromagnetic Field Detector which can detect the electric pulses a Ghost can emit as well as to locate high spikes in the electrical wiring of the home or business being investigated.

3)Digital Recorder- Which will allow an investigator to record voices that would otherwise not be heard by the investigator asking the questions.

4) Spirit Box-Used to communicate with Ghosts

5) Computers so as to record and make copies of an investigation.

6) Thermal Cameras and thermometers- These are used to detect temperature changes.

If you decide to go on a Ghost Hunt I suggest you go on a tour of a Haunted place or go on an investigation with a paranormal group in your area first before trying it on your own. And always be respectful of any Ghosts lingering around as they are still here due to the inability to move on.

Happy Hunting!

-Kate-

Like

About the Creator

Kate Adams

I have 28 years experience in the customer service field with one year experience as a Medical Assistant, one year experience as a CNA with various positions (Cashier, In Home Health, etc) in between. I also have an Associates degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.