Horror logo

Dream State Part 4

This is part 4 of my short story Dream State, if you haven't read the other parts of the story go check them out on my profile. The story is write in point of view as you the reader as the main character.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
Dream State Part 4
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Dream State Chapter 4: Awaken My Senses.

My eyes once again open as I observe that I'm in a room that seems much more lighter than the one from the night before, the dark walls of this room seem to be made up of a black and crimson patterned wallpaper.

I'm laid upon the velvet covered cushions again but they seem to be lined up against a large, high-backed supersized bed which seems to be made of two super king bed's that have been pushed together and zip-locked in place then covered in soft black and deep red silk sheets, with the soft velvet cushions as a delicate finishing touch.

Across the room opposite to where I am laid is a large fireplace with what looks like a very expensive electric fire in the centre to give the element of flames but also a touch of modern taste along with classical romance. Above the mantelpiece of the fire is a large portrait of the man who has been haunting my dreams, the man who has become my nightmare, a demon within my mind.

It is then that my eyes drifted towards the floor length heavy black velvet curtains, they seem to blow round ever so gently in the breeze which seems to be coming in from the open balcony doorway as bright moonlight seems to flood into the room.

I slowly got out of the bed noticing my slim pale figure which was dressed in a soft rosy pink floor length satin nightdress with a matching satin dressing gown lightly tied together, my feet somehow found their way to the soft warm carpet and tread lightly and carefully, almost timidly to the large open French doors.

The night air seemed cool and refreshing yet still comfortable to be stood out, as I peered out of the French doors I could see the man I had been visited by so often now in my slumber of night.

He was sat reading a book within the light of the moon, his figure seemed every bit real however he wasn't fully dressed although his modesty was covered in what seemed to be tight legged short boxers, with his own black silk dressing gown over his shoulders yet barely tied together at all as it was showing his ripped abs.

He seemed to be sat next to a candle lit table, a wine bottled stood in a bucket of ice while a large bowl of fruit seemed to rest in the centre of the table.

I tenderly continued to walk heading over to him, his back was still facing the doorway as I gently started rubbing his strong muscular shoulders, I could feel him relax to my touch closing his book before placing it on the table before him with one hand while his other hand looped over gently taking hold of my left hand, lifting it to his lips kissing it so tenderly, before guiding me round from the back of his chair, as he stood up looking at me in stood before him.

His deep blue eyes almost looked green in the moonlight, they had this strange mystical and almost other worldly look to them, let alone their haunting stare that seemed to piece straight into my heart. He seemed to circle round me looking at me as if I was some prized gift, I could not help feeling venerable before him but this was a normal feeling however I felt it even more when his fingers gently ran down my shoulder then further down my arm to once again hold my hand, spinning me round to face him once again. Without warning pulling me close to him as if in a lovers tango embrace, his eyes once again meet mine I had not realised how close we had become until his lips touched mine at first lightly then quickly deeply and passionately, a kiss that seemed to linger under the moonlight that made all senses so unaware to the mind with a burning desire to become so wild and out of control. Before I knew what was happening I felt my body being guided across the balcony, swaying gently in a waltz formation, his hands gently holding me close to him guiding me around. Every now and then our lips once again met sharing a moments passion, not once could our eyes look away from each other.

When I did finally stepped away managing to step out of his reach I could not help but need to get answers. "Why is this happening? Is this real?" I asked as my voice filled with utter confusion and fear with the words almost rushing from my tongue.

At first he stood looking at me as if contemplating my question as it were some great miracle, then slowly he stepped forward towards the table picking up a small box, before turning back to face me once again. "Its very much real, it is our dreams that link us together and this place is our greatest desire, our dream home where we may share our dreams of passion and lust. This is our safe heaven and why we are linking so strongly well it is happening purely because we crave each others company, maybe I have spent too long away from you maybe its time we meet again and rekindle that flame that never truly died, we both got on with life so maybe its time our lives become fully whole together as through they are one once more." He replied before stepping closer toward me again taking hold of my hand placing the small box within the palm of my hand. "open it." He said softly.

I could not help but think of his voice as nothing more than like a soft gentle purr, it was so filled with dreamy desire and lust that I could not help but fall madly in love with him, my eyes looked down away from his well chiselled face as I looked at the dark blue box that had been placed neatly and carefully in the palm of my hand. As I gently opened the lid of the box to see an elegant looking heart shaped ruby engagement ring, I looked up in shock at the man who had haunted me, utter confusion but his actions and although I tried to hide my shock it wore so very clearly visibly upon my face. "But we were hand-feast together five years ago? We were blood bound then too, so why this?" I asked as I slipped the elegant looking ring out of its box sliding it carefully on my wedding finger. "Because I never fully promised you my heart in the way I should of promised it." He replied his voice seemed so uneasy, as if he felt so much pain and regret I could not help but look up at him once again his eyes still a mystery to me, pulling me in to wanting his elegant touch yet knowing I needed to tell him that I thought I was going mad.

I carefully stepped forward warping my arms around his shoulders before gently kissing his lips to then look at him. "I love it, and I love you, I always have I always will, I knew when the time was right this would happen, but I never thought our dreams would bring us back together." I began to say as I take a few moments to just enjoy being safe in his arms, before taking a sharp deep breath knowing it was now or never.

"I...I've something to tell you, and I'm not sure how you will take it, as you seem so comfortable with this dream travel, I...I've been signed in to care at the local mental health hospital of my own choice, because I don't think I can tell the difference between the dream state and waking state." My words seemed to slip from my tongue like cruel bitter tears as I quickly stepped away from him, shaking in fear that I was admitting I was mad.

To my amazement he stepped forward quickly grabbing both my hands putting them on his chest before lifting my chin up to force my eyes to once again look at him. "Nothing will hurt you, I'm gonna find you and it wont be long, I promise you that." He said before kissing my lips at first tenderly but then becoming more heated and passionate, before he scoped me up in to his arms, caring me back inside the large plush bedroom. Laying me back on the bed as his fingers gently untied the dressing grown and slipping it off my shoulders before he sat on the edge of the bed with me, gently tracing his fingers across the skin of my arms.

He leaned forward once again kissing my lips passionately while leaning me down on to the bed before whispering in a purr-like manor. "I will see you soon, soon we will be together." Before he sat up right once again standing up and walking around the end of the bed as he left the bedroom as my eyes became heavy, as I slowly began to drift off into sleep while I remain in this beautiful vampyric home.

Before I knew it though I was once again awake looking at a round faced nurse leaning over me, clearly I was back in the padded cell of the mental ward. The morning sunlight seemed to fill the room with a glittering glow as I sat up being handed a small paper cup with pills and a small plastic cup of water as the nurse instructed me to drink and take the pills, yet as I did so I noticed the ruby ring on my hand, it truly had not been a dream at all so then there was hope that perhaps its a memory I am unlocking but only time will truly tell.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.