Horror logo

Down Worlders

Imagine a life where our childhood myths are true. Demons and vampires wondering our world, must be hard. Losing the ones we love to them are even harder, Join Isabelle as she lives a dangerous life

By Kelly PersaudPublished 3 years ago โ€ข 3 min read
Like

๐“’๐“ฑ๐“ช๐“น๐“ฝ๐“ฎ๐“ป 1- ๐“ข๐“ฎ๐“ฎ ๐”‚๐“ธ๐“พ ๐“ผ๐“ธ๐“ธ๐“ท

I woke up to the sound of my phone ringing wondering who could be calling me at three in the morning. "๐“ฆ๐“ฑ๐”‚ ๐“ฒ๐“ผ ๐“ถ๐”‚ ๐“ซ๐“ธ๐“ผ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ต๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ท๐“ฐ ๐“ถ๐“ฎ?" I thought to myself. I pick up and what he told me changed my life, " Thanks for informing me, Victor" I said with a pain in my chest and tears in my eyes then hung up the phone. It's that call we all dread of getting, that turns your whole world upside down and makes your heart feel like it's stopped beating. The call to inform you that you've lost a loved one. My heart sank to my stomach and unable to keep my balance I dropped to my knees. Tears run down my face like a river and soon my eyes become so swollen to the point where I can barely open them, and my vision goes blurry. All my memories with her come rushing backfilling my head. I remember when I first met her, Jessie was shy but she was good at what she did. I remember the first time fighting alongside her, I remember it all like its yesterday. I bawl even harder taking in the fact that ill never see her smile again or hear her laugh. Oh, what id do right now just to hear her yelling at me. Our job isn't safe in fact, its the complete opposite. We live a dangerous life all the myths you've heard as a kid about vampires, werewolves, warlocks, demons and angels are all true. We call them ๐““๐“ธ๐”€๐“ท๐”€๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ต๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ป๐“ผ. Only a group of people know they exist, and our job is to protect the mundanes. We're called ๐“—๐“พ๐“ท๐“ฝ๐“ฎ๐“ป๐“ผ ๐“ธ๐“ฏ ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ๐“ฎ ๐““๐“ช๐“ป๐“ด. Jessie was a hunter. The next day I had to find the strength and energy to get out of bed. Somehow I managed to throw on my clothes and go to work. When I get there my eyes meet Jessie's desk and the empty chair behind it. The room felt cold and empty, and I can't stomach the fact that she's gone. Overwhelmed I went outside to get some air, I was later joined by my partner/best friend Sasha. Sasha is tall, slim thick and beautiful. She has beautiful dark skin that glows and long black curly hair. Sasha has these gorgeous emerald eyes that you can get lost in, I swear I would be all over her if it wasn't for me being straight.

Sasha's POV: Isabelleโ€™s ice blue eyes that are usually filled with joy are now filled with pain and sadness. Her long, straight, light pink hair no longer shiny and bright. Instead, it looks dead. She no longer had her golden tan skin instead her looked pale like she had just seen a ghost, she now has huge bags under her eye's I'm assuming she did sleep at all last night. "Isabelle," I say then she slowly moves her eyes to meet my gaze. "She's gone Sash, I didn't get to tell her how much I love her, she was so excited to become a mom...I- I was so excited to become an aunt," She says with a heartbroken tone. "We don't live forever," I say trying to remind her that we all go at some point. "Its all my fault, she asked me to go with her and I didn't if I was there with her she would be sitting in the office right now," She says with anger followed by pain. " I should have been there Sash, I should have saved her!" She yells letting the guilt take over her the sinks her face into her palms then drops to the ground. " Kelly let me tell you something you've to told me," I say as sit beside her on the ground. "Each life represents a rose in a garden some roses blossom before others and what do we do with the roses that blossom?" "We pick them," says Isabelle. "She blossomed," I say to her as I stood up to leave "I love you Sash," she said with her head down but I could still see a smile on her face. "I love you too Izzyโ€.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.