Horror logo

Am I Being Followed? 1.6

By: PrettyQuill

By PrettyQuillPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
1

**Disclaimer**

Do not distribute or post elsewhere without my approval

This series may contain:

Disassociation, Blood, Gore, Violence, Seeing things, Hearing voices, Dangerous situations, possible crude language and mental breakdowns.

Please read with caution as it is still in progress and as I remember specific parts of this dream it could change what the disclaimer will hold

I head towards the stove to at least get the mint out of the oven, “Which council is this for? I thought I made it clear to all of the ones I know that I don’t want anything to do with them.” Raising an eyebrow he asks, “Is that so? Even though I was sent to get you before today, I did hear you say that you would assist the forest if they needed you.” After placing the tray on top of the stove I freeze for a moment, without looking at him, I ask, “So you’re a part of the forest spirits?” I can feel the grin, paint across his face, “Very good! Now get ready so that I can get you back to the council.” I turn around and roll my eyes and cross my arms, “Fine. But I’m not moving from this spot until you tell me your name.” He looks at me, a bit surprised it took me this long to ask, “Alexander, but you can call me Alex.”

“Well Alex, I need to let Andy know I’ll be gone for a while. Is this supposed to be on the down low? I need to know what to tell Andy.” I don’t like talking with Andy about any of my work the spiritual councils, but I usually end up telling him after it’s already done, but since I have stayed away from it, successfully until now, for about 8 years now. “This does need to stay discreet, but we would never ask you to hide this from your husband.” I squint at him for a moment, not used to having an option, and finally accepting his answer.

Without explaining, I start boiling water to make tea. While I let the two cups of tea steep, Alex, obviously confused, watches me darting around the house grabbing a blind eye candle, matches, a jar of binding oil and a jar of protection oil, an hour glass, and some string before coming back to the kitchen. “Come with me, Alex. And grab the tea.” He gives me a confused look before grabbing the cup of tea and follows quickly behind me as we go upstairs.

After we get upstairs I stop in front of Andy’s art room door to face Alex and sternly whisper, “Do NOT, under any circumstances comment on his painting! Do you understand me?” He puts his hands up signaling he agrees. I turn around and gently knock on the door between us and Andy, “Hey babe, can I come in?” “Yeah!” He replies quickly while still lost in his panting. We walk into the room and I put the stuff in my hands down on the small table to the side of the room, “Hey Andy, are you ready for another tea session.” He snaps around, heavily annoyed, seeing Alex walk into the room. He makes eye contact with me, visibly frustrated, “Are we really doing this again? I thought you were done with all of this!” I stand in front of him and hold him trying to hold back some tears knowing how much he would hurt while I’m gone, “I know I was supposed to be done with all of this, but I’ll explain after I set everything up, I want your opinion on it.” He wraps his arms around my waist, trying not to get paint on me, and gives a deep sigh, “Fine. I’ll at least hear this out, but I’m not happy about it.”

I let go and put my hands, gently, on either side of his face and lightly kiss his forehead, and smile before stepping away to light the blind eye candle in the center of the room. I walk over and get one of the cups of tea from Alex to hand to Andy. Andy already knows what this tea is for and waits for my signal. I walk to the table to prep to string before getting started. Without facing him, I give Alex instructions, “Alex, don’t start drinking until I say to.” He looks at the tea cup in his hand and then back at me a bit agitated, “Excuse me? Why do you think I would drink this? I don’t even know what it’s for.” I look at Alex for a moment before I give a small shrug, “Well…I’m not going with you unless you drink the tea when I say to, AND if you refuse you’ll forcibly be removed from this house. Feel free to try me.” I turn back to face the table, Alex looks at Andy who is looking down failing to hide his amusement and frustration. “Is she serious?” He asks Alex while pointing at me while I lean against the table. Andy looks at me and then to him grinning, “Absolutely, the tea rule applies to everyone, including me buddy. If we start this without you then you won’t be able to even get close to the house until the hour glass runs out, and during that time she can completely block you from coming back.” Alex, unsure of how to respond, submits to drinking the tea. He’s still unsure of what it does, but doesn’t want to risk going back without me. “Fine.” He says with a sigh. I call the 4 corners, starting with north, then east and so on. I walk to the table with the hourglass and put one hand on it, pushing as much of my intentions and power into it that I could, causing it to glow Blue with speckles of Orange and black. Without taking my hand off the hourglass I look back towards the guys, “Are you ready?” “Yeah.” They reply in unison. I nod, “Drink all of it in one go.” When they finished the tea, I flip the hourglass and let go of it causing the light to explode.

I turn to see Alex look around confused as to what just happened and where the light from the hourglass had gone. “The light?” I ask Alex since he seems to have never seen this type of magic before. “Yeah! Where’d it go?” Alex responds curiously. “We’re in it. When I flipped the hourglass over and let go, it forced the energy to create a bubble around us until the sand runs out. I made it, you like it?” Alex gives a slight nod, looking impressed, “Now I get it! Before we go into what the council wants with you, what was that tea for? It tasted pretty bad.” I chuckle, “Well since you drank it I’ll tell you. The tea isolates the memory of the time frame within the bubble, and it makes it so that the drinkers can only remember what happened when they are around anyone else that was in the bubble, in person. It also protects the information from those around us if it gets brought up in the company of others” Alex nods again, “So why don’t you need to drink it?” “Because I cast it, and I brewed it. So I have interacted with the tea, but I can also block my own memories as needed. Not the point of this though.” I respond

Andy speaks up, “Exactly! Now we have an hour. Tell me what in the fuck is going on, and who the hell is he!” Understanding his frustration I calmly respond, “Babe, I know this is really sudden, but this is Alex, he is a part of the forest spirits council agents, he was instructed to find a way to bring me back with him to the council.” He starts raising his voice out of anger, “Yeah! But why are you even accepting this? You said you’re done with dealing with the councils, and now out of nowhere you start helping a new one? What are they asking of you? How long are you going to be gone for this time? Huh? Last time you were gone for two years! Do you really think that’s fair to me?” Trying to hold back the tears from the overwhelming emotion I can feel coming from him, “I don’t know how long this will take, but I messed up earlier in the woods and I accepted some mint from the forest spirits in exchange for help if they need it, and turns out they have been trying to talk to me for a while now but couldn’t because of the barriers. Now I have to help them, whether I like it or not, because I accepted it without setting any boundaries first. Plus I brought Alex here into the conversation so that you can ask him all of the questions you want.”

Andy looks up at Alex with anger sewn into his expression, “Will this be dangerous?” Alex nods, “Yes, this can turn out really dangerous if it’s not dealt with properly.” Andy puts the cup down on the table beside him and clasps his hands together trying to stay calm with the man who is just doing his job, “How long will this take?” Alex, looking a bit tense and like he doesn’t really want to answer the question, “We aren’t sure exactly how long this will take, but it’ll be about a few months at least.” “Can I go with her?” I look at Andy, upset he even asked, I’m about to say something, but then I remember how he felt when I was gone the last time. Before I left the first time I made it so that we at least made it so that we could always sense what each other are feeling. Alex takes in our expressions, “Technically I shouldn’t let you but they said if you insist on coming with her then we can house you there.” We both look at Andy with shocked expressions and before I can even wrap my head around it Andy lets out a sigh of relief, “Good, then I’m coming.” He turns to me and points, “No if, ands, or buts. Do you understand?” Even though I want to argue my mouth refuses to open, I can only nod. Andy clears his throat a bit, “Do you even want to know what is going on?” I turn to him and shrug, “The way I see it, is I don’t have a choice at this point, so why not wait and hear it from the council themselves.” Andy shrugs back, “Okay, well get the things you’ll need for a long stay and then we can be off.” Before we head off to start prepping to leave I ask, “How are we getting to the council?” Andy snaps and points at me with a grin, “Almost forgot, we’re teleporting, I’m too lazy to walk that far.”

I nod and take a look at the hourglass and see that we actually finished up this conversation quicker than expected, “We still have quite a bit of time so let’s try and get everything together before the timer runs out. Alex and I start running around the house packing things in bags like clothes, ingredients, oils, my book of shadows, journal, and some of my more important crystals. Andy packs some of his art supplies, clothes and a couple of his favorite trinkets. We meet back up in Andy’s room. Before we leave to make sure we have everything that we will need that they won’t already have.

After going over everything we felt we needed to take with us I take Andy’s bag and put our bags aside, “Alright! Just one more thing before we can leave!” Andy and Alex look at each other before they look to me, “What else could we possibly need to do before we leave? You already put several layers of protection on the house and a spell to keep people away from this area in general this week.” I look between both of them before clapping my hands together and saying, “Whelp! There’s one last stipulation to me leaving.” I look towards Alex with a smile painted on my face, “You have to promise to keep Andy protected at all times until I’m done with what the council wants me to do.” Alex shrugs and puts his hands in his pockets before saying, “Okay. I promise to keep protected.” I close my eyes, shake my head and sigh, “I feel like you know it’s going to be more complicated than that.” Even though I’m now looking Alex in the eyes, I can feel Andy roll his before he says, “I don’t need that kind of protection Autumn, I can protect myself!” I stare daggers into Andy. Giving off an overwhelming aura, letting them know I wasn’t asking him, “I said what I said….No ifs, ands or buts. Do you understand?” Out of anger I spit out the same words he used with me about going. His eyes wide and hands in the air, he surrenders, “Okay, I won’t argue.”

I grab the string that I’ve already prepped and walk over to Andy and Alex, “Okay, Alex if you want to say no, you can, but like I said I won’t leave with you unless you do this. So now is your only chance to back out of this.” Alex, unsure of what I’m about to do, he takes a deep breath before exhaling his response, “Well, then I guess I don’t have much of a choice. What do I need to do?” I look at Alex then at Andy, “Alright. I need you guys to take each other’s right hands and then don’t move.” They take each other’s hands and then I start chanting the spell and contract while the string starts wrapping itself around their hands. While still chanting I start writing symbols on their hands and wrists with the oils I grabbed earlier, before I start the binding, “…Alexander. Do you promise to keep Andrexlin safe, even if it could cost you your life?” Alex, looking uneasy and sweat starting to bead on his temples, “Yes.” I nod, “And Andrexlin, do you promise to do everything in your power to stay out of danger to make Alexanders task easier?” Alex scowls at me for a moment but doesn’t want to mess this up, “Yes.” I nod again and then strike a match and light the string on fire while saying, “These two souls have agreed to work together in keeping their promises with each other, and are now bound together until I myself unbind them. As I will it, so it be.” Neither of them move while the string creates a binding mark that can be seen from all angles on their hand.

Once the string is fully burnt up and the mark is finished I let the guys know they can let go now, “Alright let me try to explain how this works now! So each set of people that do this can experience different things for different reasons. With this binding, if for whatever reason, Andy is in danger you’ll get a type of notification, and your body may react without you thinking about it if the need for assistance is great enough, and as Andy has promised he’ll make this as easy as possible for you, so that hopefully your assistance isn’t needed during my time with the council; but I’m taking no chances of losing him Alex, do you understand your position?” Alex takes a moment before responding, “So I don’t have to be around him the entire time, but I am still responsible for his safety?” He asks looking for confirmation. “Right! If he’s in need of help, safety wise, you’ll know as soon as his subconscious does. Which he is really good at detecting danger.” Alex nods his head in understanding, “Okay, seems simple enough.” I look to Andy, “I know you aren’t happy about this, but thank you for going through with this.” Andy steps closer to me and embraces me in his arms and places a kiss on the top of my head, “I know you are just worried about me. Plus, you probably wouldn’t have let me go if we didn’t do this. I love you, Autumn.” I wrap my arms around him, smiling, and take in the amount of love I feel coming from his body, “I love you too, Andy.”

To be continued...

fiction
1

About the Creator

PrettyQuill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.