Horror logo

Am I Being Followed? 1.0

By: PrettyQuill

By PrettyQuillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
This is something I drew and edited on my own, this picture isn't related to the story in anyway.

This story is a dream I had and will be posted in segments due to the length of how it turned out.

**Disclaimer**

This story may contain

Blood, Gore, Violence, Seeing things, Dangerous situations, and mental breakdowns.

Please read with caution as it is still in progress and as I remember specific parts of this dream it could change what the disclaimer will hold

I sit up, as I am slowly waking up and rubbing my eye while I stretch the sleep away. I quickly realize that today is the day I get my first paycheck from my new job!

I jump out of bed and got dressed in my office casual clothes with it being Friday. My Coworker Tom had agreed to help me pick out new work clothes after work today, since all of mine were handed down from my mother; which worked for now, but they are very much out of fashion and not really up to dress code any more.

By the way my name is Autumn, and I live in a studio apartment alone about 5 minutes from the corporate office building for Bank Co. which is where I work.

As I leave my apartment to head to work I feel like something is following me. I look around to see if I can spot anything out of the ordinary, but can't seem to notice anything that would be out place, so I continue to walk the rest of the way to work.

When I arrive to my desk, Tom walks up, "You didn't forget about going to the mall after work today, right?" I reply smiling, "Of course I didn't forget, that's actually what got me out of bed this morning." Tom smirked, "So you were excited to hang out with me, outside of work? I'm honored!" and finished with a slight giggle. I roll my eyes and smiled, "Why yes! I enjoy kicking your butt at video games whenever we hang out." then stick my tongue out. Tom laughs, "I'll beat you this time, after we get done buying you brand new work clothes of course." "Hey, Tom. Can you come check these numbers for me?" one of our coworkers calling him back to work. Tom looks back at them and gives them a thumbs up then looks at me, "Looks like they're calling me back." He goes to fist bump me, "After work, don't forget!" "Not a chance!" I reply while fist bumping him back. Then get back to work so I can finish it on time to clock out.

I'm too immersed in my work to notice the time flew by, as Tom walks up behind me and lets me know that it was getting close to clock out time. I let him know that I am close to being completely finished with my work and that I'll meet him by the front door when I'm done. I quickly finish what is left and then pack my stuff to meet with Tom.

When I the front door is in my line of site I notice Tom as he is paying a delivery man who is dropping off two cups of coffee. I walk up to Tom while saying, "Who's the coffee for?" Tom jumps just enough to let me know he didn't know I was there, "Geez! You're so quiet; it's going to give me a heart attack one of these days you know." Giggling I reply, "You didn't really answer my question." Smiling and sarcastically he replies, "Oh well I was going to give you one of them, but if you think giving me a heart attack is funny then maybe I should give your favorite coffee to someone else." Reacting fake shocked with a gasp, "You wouldn't dare!" He hands me the coffee while laughing as we start walking towards the mall, which is only about a 15 minute walk from the office.

On our way to the mall, I start noticing the same feeling of being followed as I did early in the morning, I turn and see a little creature, that reminds me of a gremlin but with much lumpier skin and a little bigger, that is staring at me from a railing across the street. As I notice it a bus drives by and then the creature is gone. Tom nudges me a little, "Are you okay Autumn? What are you looking at?" I shake my head and tell myself that it wasn't there, "Oh, I just thought that couple at the table outside that restaurant, look really cute. Don't you think?" As I smile and point at an elderly couple that are smiling and laughing as they talk. Tom stand behind me and brings his head down to my eye level over my shoulder and smiles, "They are! Maybe one day we'll have that." I look at him and we're both blushing, we're as red as tomatoes at this point. I smile and say, "Maybe."

To be Continued....

fiction
1

About the Creator

PrettyQuill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.