Horror logo

A Meeting with Death

A creative story

By Shelby WellsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Meeting with Death
Photo by Fey Marin on Unsplash

A Meeting with Death

The wind whipped and whirled violently, possessing me like a demon, tossing me back and forth and causing my hair to thrash in every direction. Rain descended in torrents and grabbed at the earth as if daring to steal the soil, leaving only bare, cold stone. In chill waves water pounded against my pale face and seeped into my tattered dress. God truly was releasing his fury tonight. However, this tantrum hardly held any validity in comparison to the mystery I now tracked.

Breaking into a sprint, I shielded my face from the icy daggers, continuing to fight through the weather. Wind striking at my face, I felt weightless as it threw aside like a ragdoll. I toppled to the ground, hands sinking into the thick mud. Efforting to release myself from its grasp, I pulled, but the ground clung to me stronger. It seemed to call for me to give up my venture, but I could not afford to falter. Led by curiosity, I pushed myself deeper into the forest to discover what I hunted.

A monumental crash sounded in front of me as a blinding flash struck an oak tree. I hardly had time to blink before the ancient tree teetered like a swing and finally toppled straight forward. Quickly, I pushed myself through the slop and rolled out of the tree’s reach. With its final breath ringing in my ears, I gasped. Its corps fell directly where I lay a mere second ago. Like a steady drumbeat, my heart pounded. I had begun to lose feeling in my limbs, and the remaining parts of my body throbbed intensely from the cold.

Passion and sheer tenacity ushered me further into the forest. I thrashed through the brambles, which tore into my skin like rabid dogs, though I hardly paid them any mind. Without a single alteration in my course, I sensed another being close by, and then silence… Silence like I had never experienced before. It echoed through my head and stung the insides of my ears. The searing ring of silence. Not a word nor a drop of rain could be heard. The more I deepened my venture, the slower the world around me seemed to move. Like a never-ending ripple on the surface of a pool, reality pulsed back and forth, reliving the same moments. Raindrops fluttered endlessly, suspended in the air as if by strings. The leaves remained frozen in mid-movement, as if by a steadily blowing breath. However strange this suspended existence appeared, it was a simple fluke in comparison to the stench which followed. The once icy-fresh air had been replaced with the vile, pungent smell of death—one that reeked with a scent of rotting flesh and crusted blood. If a smell could have a sound, I would describe it as a scream. A terrible cry that would send chills coursing down one’s spine.

Choking, I clutched my stomach for fear of vomiting. In my bones, I could sense the creature for which I searched. He lay in wait only a stone's throw away. I knew this was the time, the place, and the feeling that followed was not dread but rather peace.

Suddenly, out of the corner of my eye, I caught a flash of movement. I progressed even further, moving the brambles out of my way. The green trees parted to reveal a clearing. Illuminated by the shimmering light of the full moon, I spied a singular figure waiting in a cloak of wispy black. To describe him as tall, dark, and handsome would hardly do him justice, for his demeanor displayed only elegance and beauty—eyes pure white, skin ashen grey, soft features all set in angelic glory—all features pointing to perfection. His whispy black hair levitated with an unseen force, cascading down to his waist. In his icy hands, he held a singular, white rose, which emitted a soft glow; one that was faint in appearance, yet constant in rhythm.

This was death. Not a skeletal disfiguration of a man, but rather a beautiful, otherworldly presence. I did not fear him, nor did I expect ill will of his doing. He caused no pain or suffering. He was simply the collector, the keeper of balance and order. His hand only ensured the continuation of reality, and, for that, I was grateful that he bore the burden of restoring balance.

I walked closer to him, and before the darkness, I only felt his chill hand caress my cheek, then no more.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.