Geeks logo

The World That Changed

Act 1

By Joshua SaltersPublished 4 years ago 42 min read
Like
This is a Test Read give FeedBack

Long ago the world changed for the worst. No one can explain it, but suddenly everyone began to mutate. As what can be described as a gift from god, the sky began to shine a reddish glow and projected beams began to rain down on the world. Those outside of buildings were affected the most as the beams had direct contact with their skin. The accident now referred to as “The Resurrection” lasted for about a minute and shortly after the horrors began. Hospitals were being filled by the minute as people were mutating Left and right. Some mutations were grotesque as these people seem to be de-evolving into their ancestral traits. While others gained abilities you would see in a sci-fi film. During this time the governments of the world were having meetings as the mutations happen widespread throughout the world. No one knew what was going on until the Pope held a conference.

The Pope: My fellow neighbors it is with great honor that I announced to you that we have been forgiven for our sins. As the Lord has finally blessed us by giving us our true evolution. As I have witnessed through the chronovisor, our true nature has finally revealed itself. Yes the gift from god is the return of our ancestral abilities! Do not fear your current mutations rather embrace them as this is who you are meant to be. From this day forward we shall celebrate this day as our combined birth date. This day shall now be known as “The Resurrection”!

Following the announcement, all other religious organizations were shut down as many believed the Pope was correct and therefore established Catholicism as the number one religion. For the event was enough evidence to even convince atheists that a god exists. In addition, this lead to the Pope obtaining world control as he was viewed as the almighty since he knew about the change. With his newly given power,the Pope rid the world of governmental systems and implemented his own. The world was divided into regions and each region was assigned a lead follower. A person the Pope trusted the most to lead the people into a brighter world. That of course was a lie. What we thought was our savior was actually our abuser. In the coming years the world has been consumed by darkness. What we considered to be the rise of our savior ended up being the rise of the antichrist. The sky’s no longer reflected a bright and blue ocean, but instead reflected the pollution humanity has caused. With polluted oceans the battle for survival grew. Since everyone gained their new abilities a world war unlike any other occured and only the strong survive. Despite having the knowledge of the events to come the Pope himself was ill prepared. Brought down by the hands of his own brother, the Pope ceased to exist and our new leader was strong enough to lock our abilities away. No matter the ability he could shut it down and force his opponents to kneel. Thus begins the darkness age of history. The story of our new Lord, Ren Fukkatsu.

Ren: Hahahahaha! Now that my brother is dead I shall take over as your new world leader and since no one can oppose me I shall establish our new global infrastructure. Those who oppose will be erased and those who accept their fate will be rewarded. And to prove that I’m not bluffing, honey will you join me on stage.

In front of the world Ren erased his wife with a mere glare of his eyes. Proving to the world that there were no limits as to who would be erased. Soon after the trials of the demon began as Rens method to establish social standards was to hold a series of wars. Those who were strong enough to live where divided into different social classes based on their performance, while the weak were eliminated from the world. Now divided by class the world seemed to be in order. The strongest among us were seen as the decision makers and took control of the poverty line. Beautiful utopias were built to home the strong while those underneath battled for survival. In what are known as ghettos the weak are put into camps to serve the strong as slaves or as Ren likes to put it contribute to society. Now our story begins with the young man who is destined to change this world…..or so we hope.

Introduction end.

Chapter 1: Reflections.

Looking from the sun down lying on the ground on the verge of passing out we find Jozaru panting and looking for a source of water. His eyes glowing a reddish star pattern, we dive into Jozaru’s mind as he lays on the ground covered in sweat and dirt.

???: Well well well what do we have here.

Inside of Jozaru’s mind is an empty room where Jozaru is confronted with images of his past life. With each image, a spiritual embodiment of Jozaru is born. Each with their unique color coding and emotional relevance surround Jozaru. There are six in total and they form a circle around the image of Jozaru in his mind.

Misery: He just wants to die is all. He’s been a slave his whole life.

Joy: Jeez way to kill the mood Misery, he clearly is doing just fine.

Control: Will you all be quiet! It’s time we determined what he is doing. Jozaru speak! Why are you not using us!

Jozaru: ……

Misery: Like I said he wants to--

Jozaru: I have a plan. I need to confirm something.

All of a sudden a voice is heard in the background and Jozaru begins to wake.

???: Get up ...Hey GET UP!

Jozaru awakes in shock.

???: Awesome you got up before the guards noticed.

Jozaru stares blankly at the sky and then an announcement is made.

???: Attention it is now time for bible studies. You will each be guided by the guards in groups of ten. Follow these instructions and no one will get hurt. Remember to always work hard and stay focused, because God loves you.

Jozaru: tch..bullshit

Group by group the field is emptied as everyone is required to praise god. The guards guide their respective groups to their seats as they fill the chapel outside of the walls. Once filled the ceremony begins and the first lesson of the day is given.

Pastor Nick: Welcome my children isn’t it a wonderful day today.

Everyone: Yes Pastor Nick.

Pastor Nick: Excellent! Remember if you all behave well and get strong enough then maybe you can leave here and be a success in life. After all god loves you.

Everyone: Yes Pastor.

Pastor Nick: Good then let us begin with the first lesson of the day.

As the lecture begins someone pokes Jozaru with their elbow and begins a conversation.

???: Hey I’m glad you’re alright but next time can you stay up. (In a whisper)

Jozaru: Why are you talking to me? (In a low whisper)

Luis: Just looking out is all. My name is Luis.

Jozaru: No shit I knew that.

Pastor Nick: Excuse me you filthy delinquents is there a reason for sinning during the lecture of our lord!?

Jozaru:......

Luis:........

Pastor Nick: Oh so now you’re quiet? Guards prepare the ceremony. For sinning in lecture they shall be mutilated in public! Now apprehend those filthy devils!

On command from Pastor Nick, two guards moved to guide the boys outside. When the guards reach Jozaru he snaps. As the guards towered above Jozaru and demanded him to stand, Jozaru shot out of his seat and head butted the guard. Witnessing his Retaliation Luis proceeds to follow Jozaru’s lead and begins to attack the other guard. Then Pastor Nick rushes to his desk and pushes the shock button, rendering Jozaru and Luis lifeless as both were equipped with enough electricity to die. This was common practice among those who could revive themselves. Since it was discovered that after a resurrection the individual would lose their memory.

A clock is ticking on a wall and the viewers are shown a foggy scene. This is to represent Jozaru waking up.

Pastor Nick: Seems like this one has given us more trouble than deserved, I propose we dispose of him and get him out of our hair. Oh…

As Jozaru wakes up he vaguely listens to the conversation Pastor Nick is having. Jozaru is laying on the floor in cell locked up in the chapels underground prison facility. This facility isn’t public knowledge and is usually the place where the brainwashing begins. Pastor Nick is across from Jozaru in the hallway looking into Jozaru’s cell.

Pastor Nick: Seems you have finally woken up. Do you know your name?

Jozaru: …….

Pastor Nick: hmm seems like he’s still waking up, let’s examine the other one.

The pastor walks a few cells over down the hall to examine Luis who is tied up in a straight jacket due to his explosive abilities and nature.

Pastor Nick: Fantastic looks like your wide awake.

Luis: Who are you and why am I locked up?

Pastor Nick: Relax I am Pastor Nick and I will be your guide to glory. You’re currently locked up because we didn’t know if you could control your powers effectively. So we locked you up just to be safe.

Luis: That sounds like a lie.

Pastor Nick: Oh no, we are just taking caution is all. Tell you what if you behave and obey you’ll be released and we’ll be out of your hair.

Luis: And if I don’t?

Pastor Nick: hehehehehehe wouldn’t you like to know. Look I’ll keep this simple. Papá Dios, ayudalo con sus suspesticias y convertirlo en to imaginación. El cuerpo es para usted de sacrificio!

Luis: What the hell are you saying? Ah….

Luis’s eyes turn black and suddenly he begins to speak in a demonic tone.

Luis: My child I thank you for your guidance. I shall now restore this souls reflection.

From Luis’s body a bright light emerges and the young man is released from his jacket. Now standing in the cell, the boys reflection is now born and a new Luis is born. The light fades and standing alone is Luis who is now back under the control of Pastor Nick.

Pastor Nick: Hehehehe. Hahahahahahahahaha! YES! Finally with this spell you’ll never rebel again!

Luis: Yes father I shall be your loyal servant. Forgive me of my sins.

At this time we transition back to Jozaru’s mind, where he begins to strategize with the voices in his head.

Control: Hpmh glad to know you didn’t actually kill us.

Jozaru: Whatever control freak look my plan is going accordingly so all of you lend me your strength and let’s get out of here.

Rage: Who the hell are you talking to?

Control: Enough Rage let us see if he is still worthy of our trust. Go ahead young blood show us the reason why you were chosen by the gods.

Leaving his mind, Jozaru stands and begins the confrontation with Pastor Nick.

Jozaru: I knew it.

Pastor Nick and guards turn towards Jozaru’s cell as he appears to awake.

Pastor Nick: What the?

Jozaru: I knew there was something going on when I couldn’t even remember who I was, but now this confirms my suspicion.

Pastor Nick: Hehehe so what? It’s not like you can do anything about it. Now since you’re awake let’s get this over with. Dios….

Jozaru: Arise from the depths of Hell! JOZARU!!!

In a burst of bluish flames, Jozaru is engulfed and begins to transform. His skin begins to burn his clothes and his chains as it turns a bright white light that radiance’s an ominous blue glow. His hair grows slightly longer and turns pitch black. While his transformation is undergoing the guards and Pastor Nick begin to panic and on command from Pastor Nick the guards approach Jozaru’s cell. Then in an explosion the cell breaks apart and knocks the guards back on top of Pastor Nick. Looking up from the ground, Pastor Nick and the guards look in shock as standing before them is a Jozaru that resembles death itself.

Jozaru: Today you die.

Jozaru lifts his hand and on the snap of his fingers, Pastor Nick and the guards begin to burn alive. Jozaru then proceeds towards an emotionless Luis who is unaware of what just happened.

Jozaru: Damn I barely know you yet here I am saving you. Well if I want to change this world then I’m gonna need some backup.

Jozaru grabs Luis and throws him over his shoulder and the two proceed to escape. Jozaru burns a hole through the sealing and leaps out. As he pierced through the hole, alarms go off and and electric force field is activated to prevent Jozaru from escaping. As field sets up, Jozaru utters the word “Delete” and he suddenly vanishes. With the field up the guards begin to calm everyone down and activate collars when some act out of line. As soon as the guards discover Pastor Nick is dead they alert the higher ups. Meanwhile Jozaru and Luis re-appear outside the camp grounds in the nearby forest area.

Luis (possessed): Put me down.

Jozaru: Fine.

Jozaru tosses Luis’s body on the ground beside him.

Luis(possessed): Why are you doing this?

Jozaru: I’m not going to talk to you when you’re like this. So let’s see if I can reverse this spell, I’ve never done this before but here goes.

Luis (possesed): What the?

Jozaru: ¡Lazamiento!

Jozaru puts his hands together to form a circle and shouts into his hands to release Luis of his possessed state. After being released Luis’s body collapses and he faints.

Jozaru: Well I certainly didn’t think that would work. In the meantime I better find some coverage.

Chapter 2 Friend.

Inside of Jozaru’s mind we see Jozaru talk to the images inside his head again.

Control: That was a bit much don’t you think?

Jozaru; How else do we escape?

Anxiety: W..we...we..cou...could ...have…..asked..

Rage: Shut up! He was perfect I approve of it all.

Control: Settle down. Jozaru while I appreciate being free as well I hope you know we are here to guide you to control and develop your skills.

Jozaru: It sure as hell doesn’t feel like it. If that’s the case then why are all of you a curse!

Control: Child we are not a curse, but a reminder and a gift from lord Lucifer himself. We believe we are here to change this world for better or for worse. For some reason you were chosen and so we spirits have taken the form of your pasts lives to guide you away from your old mistakes.

Jozaru: Yeah yeah the same old shit. I’m out of here.

Back in the real world, Luis is lying down next to Jozaru who is trying to keep a campfire alive. Luis then proceeds to wake.

Luis: …….

Jozaru: About time you’re awake.

Luis: Where are we.

Jozaru: in a cave.

Luis: Wait how did we get here and what happened to my shackles.

Jozaru: Relax I used my powers to break us free from the camp.

Luis: You did what! How did you use your powers without dying and why did you save me of all people.

Jozaru: Well to answer your first question, I’m stronger than the pastor when my abilities are unlocked. To answer your second question, I don’t know so consider yourself lucky.

Luis: Wait you have control of your powers?

Jozaru: Kind of.

Luis: I thought you had to be accepted by the priests to receive the necessary training to control your powers.

Jozaru: It's probably true, but I’m a special kind of spellcaster.

Luis: Sounds like some BS to me.

Jozaru: Well you see bird brain, I’m what’s known as a legion, meaning I have multiple spirits inside me and they give me the ability to cast any spell I want.

Luis: WHAT! NO WAY! So can you cast a spell on me so I can master my powers?

Jozaru: Maybe, it’s not that easy as I don’t have full control of my powers.

Luis: But then how did we escape?

Jozaru: Ok I’ll tell you, but you have to swear your life to me. Meaning you can never betray me or reveal my secret. Do we have a deal?

Luis: Sure seeing as we are both criminals I guess I have no choice.

Jozaru: Good so my powers work when the spirits feel like it. This means that my powers can never be consistent. For example, one day I could be a jack of all trades and the next I could be a one trick pony.

Luis: Oh , I get it. So you could be stronger than me or you can be weaker than me.

Jozaru: That’s exactly why I need you as a backup for when that happens.

Luis: Oh ok fair. You did save my life after all.

Jozaru: hehehe good. I got my own peasant.

Luis: What did you just say?

Jozaru: Uh friend. Yeah we’re friends now.

Jozaru with a sarcastic smile on his face looks at Luis and offers a fist bump. Luis then squints his eyes as he feels suspicious of Jozaru.

Luis: Hmph alright friend.

The two bump fists.

Jozaru: Now do you know anyone that could be useful for us?

Luis: What do you mean useful?

Jozaru: Well we’re kind of on the run at the moment and it’s going to take more than just me and you if we want to survive against the bounty hunters.

Luis: Oh right, but wait couldn’t you just do your thing again?

Jozaru: I just told you I can’t control it.

Luis: Oh yeah. Well outside the camp I really don’t know anyone.

Jozaru: Ok good.

Luis: Good?

Jozaru: Yes, good, I was asking in case there was someone close to you that needed saving before we proceed with my plans.

Luis: Hmmm, now that you mention it..

Jozaru: Nope too late!

Luis: Aw come on.

Jozaru: Look I gave you a chance and you didn’t mention anyone so we’re going to follow my plan.

Luis: Alright let's hear it.

Jozaru: We’re going back to camp.

Luis: What? What do you mean we’re going back!?

Jozaru: There has to be some sort of map with the locations of other campsites back there or something with info on it. How else would they know how to teach us to control our powers? Isn’t weird how they have all of the answers?

Luis: Thinking about it, what you’re saying makes sense considering we were locked in for a long time and we were promised how to control our abilities. Yet no one seemed worthy of it.

Jozaru: Exactly, I think they were hiding something from us, which is why they told us that lie. I think that was their way of tricking us into something dangerous.

Luis: Or maybe we weren’t worthy and you’re paranoid about this situation.

Jozaru: Maybe I am paranoid or maybe I know bullshit when I see it.

Luis:hmm you make a valid point.

Jozaru: Let’s give it a shot.

Luis: I don’t know man we’re finally free and you want to go back?

Jozaru: Yes.

Luis: Alright but I won’t be that much help without knowing my powers.

Jozaru: Ok then let’s spar.

Luis: What?

Jozaru: Let’s see what you can do with your powers.

Luis: Oh ok, I doubt I could do much but it will be a nice way to gauge my limits.

Jozaru: Alright then stand up and get ready.

Luis: Alright.

Jozaru and Luis stand up from the ground and begin to walk in opposite directions to create space between them. Then facing each other they both take their signature stances. Jozaru’s stance is that of a classical boxer with virtually no weakness in his stance. Luis’s stance is a lot more unconventional. He takes a perched stance with his hands touching the ground ready to pounce.

Jozaru: Hehe you call that a stance.

Luis: it’s what feels natural to me.

Jozaru: Alright then let’s begin.

Luis begins this dancing towards Jozaru. With every step Luis takes flames begin to appear from his hands and feet. Luis is slowly building up a barrier as he moves towards Jozaru. Notificing this Jozaru quickly casts a spell.

Jozaru: Woah it looks like he’s turning into a ball I better defend myself. Protect!

A faint green aura engulfs Jozaru creating his own barrier. With this protection Jozaru proceeds to move forward and attack Luis. Seeing this Luis quickly stands up and releases his barrier in the form of and EMP shock wave. In the process of release Luis faints and Jozaru is sent flying across the room.

Jozaru: Woah What the hell was that. I didn’t see it coming. Nice job Lu ...Luis? Luis!

Jozaru rushes towards Luis’s unconscious body and checks his pulse.

Jozaru: Great he’s unconscious. Looks like I recruited a one pump chump, but that was a pretty strong attack. if I didn’t have my protect spell I could have been seriously injured from the flames alone. Guess I’ll just rest a bit myself, it’s been forever since I’ve had a good night's sleep.

Jozaru lays across the room from Luis and begins to fall asleep. In his dream we get a glimpse of his past as Jozaru’s first night of sleep from escape becomes a nightmare.

Chapter 3: Souls

Jozaru: No...no...AHHH!!!

Jozaru awakes gasping for air as he is hyperventilating from a memory of his past. Next to him is Luis’s body still unconscious from the spar they had. Jozaru looks down on Luis and begins to speak to his companions out loud.

Jozaru: So what should we do now?

Rage:We? What’s this we stuff about? You got yourself into this shit.

Control: Agreed although I don’t agree with Rage often, this is on you Jozaru.

Jozaru: Alright you jackasses, then how do we revive him?

Control: Well he is a phoenix is he not?

Jozaru: Well yeah but….

Rage: Oh that means we get to kill him yes! Let me take over and control my anger if you get what I mean.

Jozaru: Hell no I learned long ago to never let any of you to possess my body.

Control: Indeed you did learn that but remember we are much more powerful than you and we’re allowing you to dictate the body out of respect for fighting us. However, I’m only going to remind you once. At any given moment we can take over whether you like it or not. So stay on our good side.

Jozaru: Alright fine, but how do we get this guy back on his feet.

Control: Didn’t you hear Rage?

Rage: We have to kill him if you want him back up fast.

Control: You heard him.

Jozaru: Ok so give me y’all powers.

Control: No, we are not responsible for your actions. It’s on you.

Jozaru: What the hell that’s Bullshit!

Control: Sorry if you want to kill this phoenix then get Rage to do it.

Rage: HELL YEAH! Come on Jozaru let me take over I promise it’ll be fast.

Jozaru: Alright forget y’all I’ve got this myself.

Rage: What no! Let me take over damn it.

Jozaru: No end of conversation. I’m out of here.

Jozaru returns to himself after discussing further actions with the rest of his legion mates. Then lays back down to get some rest.

After Jozaru and Luis escaped, the camp in which they fled went into lockdown. News of their escape spread quickly as even the higher officials needed to attend the site for themselves. Under lockdown the slaves were grouped together unable to move as the guards and investigators began to search the area. Even the boss made an appearance.

Ren: Well this is interesting.

Standing in the center of the camp is the King Ren Fukkatsu the strongest human in the world. To his right are the slaves being held captive and to his left are his investigators searching the chapel where Jozaru and Luis escaped. Standing right beside him is one of his ace assassins awaiting his orders.

Ren: Alright Clyde kill them all. Make it look like a painting. Afterwards hunt them down I’m leaving.

Clyde: Understood.

In a matter of seconds the camp became a canvas and one by one the slaves were killed by Clyde and the guards. The slaves were powerless and could do nothing to fight back. As Ren walks away from the scene with a smirk on his face.

Back in the cave Jozaru and Luis awaken.

Jozaru: Sup

Luis: Damn my head hurts.

Jozaru: I bet after your demonstration.

Luis: Oh right we did fight.

Jozaru: Yup, your powers aren’t as developed as mine but it’s not like we have a choice. Come on we’ve got to get moving, it’s only a matter of time before they find us.

Luis: Yeah we’re probably going to get hunted after that stunt you pulled.

Jozaru: Hey we’re safe aren’t we? Cut me some slack would you prefer to be back there?

Luis: No

Jozaru: Alright quit complaining and let’s go.

The two boys rise from the ground and prepare to step out of the cave they have been hiding in. Knowing that using his abilities would make it easier to travel Jozaru attempts to cast another spell.

Jozaru: Ok here goes. Levantar el espiritu!

Luis:....

Jozaru:.....

Luis: Um what was that?

Jozaru: I was casting a spell.

Luis: Well did it work?

Jozaru: Of course not jackass looks like I’m drained.

Luis: Well we better get walking then.

Jozaru: Damn it.

The boys walk out of the cave and begin to travel through the nearby forest. Having a discussion with each other as they have nothing better to do. Meanwhile in the background various forest creatures are indulging in their day to day activities.

Luis: So what’s your story.

Jozaru: My story?

Luis: Yeah who were you before you were a slave.

Jozaru: I was a soft pathetic loser who no one cared about and lost everything precious to me. I’ve learned this world is full of shit which is why I want to change it.

Luis: Whoa that’s deep.

Jozaru: Yeah and you?

Luis: I was living life to the fullest in my village before we were purged and got separated. Not sure where my family are or if they’re alive, but I have faith they’ll still be alive.

Jozaru: Disgusting, faith is for the weak.

Luis: Not really It's another way to look at life.

Jozaru: I guess, but for me that word means very little. Honestly my goal is to change this world and make those who hurt me pay.

Luis: What exactly happened to you?

Jozaru: It’s a long story.

Luis: Go for it we have time walking in this forest.

Jozaru: Fine. I grew up in the ruins of what remained of the old world. I’m not sure what happened, but there was no one outside of me and a bunch of orphans. We were all confused and lost. We had no sense of direction so we banded together and grew stronger with each other. Our instincts kicked in and we learned how to hunt and survive. They were my family. Brothers and sisters, we were together in total 6 of us. Then the hell of my life began.

???: Search the area they have to be around here somewhere!

Startled by the voices in the distance Jozaru and Luis quickly find cover behind some bushes as the Ace Squad was hot on their trail.

Clyde: Lieutenant status report.

Lieutenant: Looks like the witnesses were right. The boys were definitely here given the burnt pieces of clothing everywhere. Seems like they went into a cave of some sort.

Clyde: I doubt they’re that stupid to stay in a cave but for the sake of the bounty I’ll leave y’all in charge. I don’t think I’m needed to hunt down boys. Lieutenant you’re in charge.

Lieutenant: Yes sir.

The commanding officer departs from the vicinity while the troops still search for the boys. Both Luis and Jozaru move quietly and quickly between bushes and trees to avoid being caught. As the distance between the boys and the troops begin to grow larger, their distance from a paradise city shrinks.

Jozaru: Looks like we’re good now.

Luis: Yeah, so now what do we do? Sounds like the camp was destroyed.

Jozaru: Yeah I wonder if they destroyed everything. Well this certainly puts a dent in our plans.

Luis: Well we can’t keep running forever eventually they’re going to catch us.

Jozaru: Hmm I’ve heard stories about a paradise city, but I don’t know if they really exist.

Luis: What are you talking about? Of course they exist. Why else would we be doing all of that hard work for?

Jozaru: I don’t know, but I sure as hell don’t believe anything they preached. We were slaves! Bottom feeders! We were basically left for dead sometimes starving and for what giving praise to God!? Oh my apologies doing what’s right for the people. What kind of bullshit is this? If they exist then how come I’ve never seen them?

Luis: Woah chill dude! Relax, I see I touched a nerve my bad.

Jozaru: huff..huff..huff

Luis: Look we have no maps, food, or shelter. We have to find something and if these paradise cities exist then that should be our goal.

Jozaru: Hehehehe Oh you’re funny trying to get me to chase dreams. To think of all people you were the one I saved. Oh boy.

Luis: Look smartass if you have a better idea then let’s hear it. Otherwise shut up and let’s get moving before they find us.

Jozaru: First of all don’t ever tell me to shut up. Second let’s go this way.

Luis: Fine.

Chapter 4: A New Home

The boys begin to travel north in hopes of finding shelter. Luckily for them faith was on their side. As the boys travel further into the forest, they stumble upon and incredible discovery.

Luis: Look at that!

The boys look up towards the sky with their eyes widened as they have discovered a paradise city. Paradise cities were created to cater the strong for their talents. Essentially rewarding those who won the war. Jozaru and Luis stare at the outskirts of the city as they have never seen one before.

Luis: See I told you they exist!

Jozaru: Well I’ll be damned. The legends are true.

Luis: You can even see through barrier it looks so pretty.

Jozaru: Now how do we get it?

Luis: Maybe there’s a door we can go through.

Jozaru: Maybe but it won’t be easy considering our status.

Luis: Fair point

Jozaru: Let’s search for an entrance.

Luis: Okay.

The boys begin to circle the outskirts of the barrier looking for a way to get in. Towards the south side of the city they notice a gate opening where trash is being removed from the city.

Jozaru: Looks like that’s our way in.

Luis: Great let’s go.

Jozaru: Relax we have to sneak in. We don’t want any attention.

Luis: Ok ready when you are.

The boys wait patiently for the gates to open again and make their move. However upon entering the city they are immediately captured as their presence sets off an alarm. They are then taken to the royal family for judgment.

Zarina: Well would you look at that Hehehehe. A couple of pigs.

King Ross: Hush child that is not how ladies speak.

Queen Ross: I taught you better manners young lady. Keep that up and we’ll send you back….

King Ross: Enough we shall discipline her in our privacy. As of now, let's focus on these criminals. Tell me why are you here?

Luis: We were just looking for a new place to call home.

King Ross: And you thought that coming to a paradise city was the best solution given the consequences of your actions. I hope both of you realize that I could easily hand you two over to the higher ups and get rewarded for your capture.

Jozaru: Hold on, before you decide our fate please hear me out.

King Ross: Go ahead amuse us.

Jozaru: We can serve you as your guards.

Collectively the Royal family burst into laughter. At this moment the guards let their guard down and the boys make their move. Luis unleashes and burst of flames to create separation and break out of the chains. Jozaru cast a quick spell to improve his speed and get behind the King.

King Ross: Well I’ll be damned.

Jozaru: What will you do now?

King Ross: Boys I’ll give you credit. You broke out of the chains and took down some of my men. Not only that, but you managed to take my back. With some training and discipline you both can be of use indeed. However….

In a swift move the king demonstrates his power by impaling Jozaru through his gut and pinning him to the ground.

King Ross: Don’t ever threaten me again. Now I admire your guts. Zarina you’re in charge of their development. Since you think you’re grown. I don’t have time for this trash. Joyce take care of your sister. Make sure she doesn’t go overboard. The misses and I have more important matters to attend so I’m counting on you both to not disappoint me.

Zarina: But Daddy

Joyce: But Daddy

King Ross: My decision is final you two! Now someone get a medic, this one is bleeding quite a bit.

The royal families medical team comes out to treat Jozaru and some of the guards who were taken down. Afterwards Jozaru and Luis are shown to their chambers where they are given a royal uniform, a bed with a sink in the room and a closet. The next day…..

Zarina: Alright I guess it’s time to summon the maggots. Yukio join me please.

Zarina and Yukio walk together down to the chambers of the boys. At this time the boys are getting up and are dressing up in their uniforms.

Yukio: With all due respect madam, but why am I accompanying you?

Zarina: Well I noticed that one of the boys used a spell and since your are our best spellcaster I thought you would be perfect for training them.

Yukio: Understood madam.

Zarina: Look Yukio I’m not exactly thrilled about this either I would honestly prefer avoiding them altogether, but for the sake of my honor and I must obey the king. Now enough chatter let's get these two ready for their first lesson.

Awaiting at their chambers, Jozaru and Luis are both sitting on their beds awaiting their next orders. The doors to their chambers open and awaiting them outside is Zarina and Clyde.

Zarina: Hello boys lets begin.

Zarina leads the boys to their combat chambers where she explains to them her role and the reason why the boys were shown mercy.

Zarina: Alright boys listen up. You were lucky to receive a second chance by my father. I’m not sure what got into him and quite frankly I don’t care. Now if you two are going to be a part of our elite squad then you must be prepared to do everything and anything to get the job done. Obviously I don’t expect you to be elite fighters at this moment after all you were taken down quite easily by my father. You can bet that I can do the same. Now then for today we will go over introductions as well as the purpose of your training. Yukio if you would be so kind.

Yukio: Yes ma’am, allow me to introduce myself, my name is Yukio Sasaki and I will be assisting Princess Zarina with your development. I am the families royal right hand and the commander and chief of the royal guard. While I may seem kind, please don’t be fooled. I will not hesitate to end your life if you disobey our orders and rebel. Now I understand that one of you can use spells. Who would that be?

Jozaru: That would be me sir.

Yukio: Perfect, it seems that you are lacking in the physical department. That will be an issue when you learn some of my techniques. Zarina are these boys going to receive the proper nutrients?

Zarina: We will provide them with the bare necessities.

Yukio: That simply won’t do. I will give you a list of the proper nutrients to give to him. He will need it if we want him to be a very valuable asset to our team.

Zarina: Very well, noted.

Yukio: Great! Now as for you mister..

Luis: Luis sir, my name is Luis.

Yukio: Pleasure to meet you Luis, now what are your abilities.

Luis: I can manipulate fire and ashes and--

Yukio: Ah a Phoenix! I haven’t seen one yet, you are truly one of a kind. Is it true that if you die you can resurrect yourself?

Luis: Uh maybe, I haven’t tried it.

Yukio: Interesting would you care to show us?

Luis: Uh

Zarina: Now Yukio our job is to train them not kill them.

Yukio: I understand, but for the sake of knowledge I beg you for permission to put down this phoenix.

Zarina: If he actually dies it will be on your hands.

Yukio: Understood I shall take responsibility if he doesn’t resurrect.

Luis: Wait you’re not really going to kill me right?

Yukio: You’re already dead.

Luis: What

In a sudden flash Luis is disintegrated and then resurrects himself.

Luis: Wha...What!

Yukio: hmmm….

Luis: How did you do that!? How did I do that!? I didn’t even hear you cast a spell.

Jozaru: Yeah that was amazing.

Yukio: The powers of the Phoenix is so interesting. Also I don’t need to say a chant to conduct spells. This is something I expect you to learn Jozaru.

Jozaru: Understood sir.

Yukio: Fabulous I am pleased with what I see. Now Zarina how would you like to begin their training?

Zarina: Let’s go over the basics for today. I doubt they know how to throw a punch.

Yukio: Understood! Now Jozaru and Luis please step up and I want both of you to strike my hand. The goal is for me to see your punching technique and go from there. There will be no need to use your powers and abilities as we will examine those later. For now you can take as many punches as you need to demonstrate your techniques.

Jozaru and Luis: Yes sir!

Jozaru and Luis take turns throwing two punches at Yukio. Jozaru throws two straight jabs with no rotation. Luis throws two proper jabs.

Yukio: Ok good! Now for the results. Jozaru, you are a terrible puncher. Not only was it weak you had no torque or rotation so you could have sprained your elbow if you weren’t careful. Luis, you have shown to me that you are capable of throwing actual punches. I’m quite surprised. It seems to me that Zarina would be better suited to be your teacher than me. As for you Jozaru we have a lot to work on.

Jozaru: (sarcastically) Great.

Yukio strikes Jozaru in his gut, bringing Jozaru to his knees.

Jozaru: Gawk!

Yukio: Jozaru please understand that we are giving you a second chance and I will not tolerate any sarcasm. I will be able to detect when you are being sarcastic and when you’re dishonest. This is your only warning. Now then good showing both of you let’s begin with basic conditioning skills after you both have cleaned the entire palace.

Luis: Wait what?

Jozaru:....what?

Yukio: Consider this your initiation. If you’re going to live here then your going to build your value. Once you have cleaned the palace we can begin your basic strength and conditioning routine before advancing you two to learn proper techniques and understand your abilities. Here are your tools, get started!

Luis and Jozaru: Yes sir!

Jozaru and Luis each grab a bucket and a mop and begin to wash the palace. While they clean the palace, they are monitored by the royal guards and are watched by the security cameras while Zarina and Yukio head out of the room and head towards Zarinas chambers.

Zarina: Judging by your reaction I can see you are interested in the boys.

Yukio: I’m really only interested in Luis. I see he has great potential and he knows how to throw a punch at least. I’m very curious about his abilities as a Phoenix and I hope you don’t mind training the lad.

Zarina: It’s not like I have a choice, but I’m surprised you are speaking this highly of one of those pigs.

Yukio: Well as I have said, I’ve never seen one so I didn’t think they would exist.

Zarina: Fair enough and Jozaru?

Yukio: I would honestly execute him if it were my decision, but considering he’s a low life I wouldn’t expect anything less.

Zarina: While I agree that he lacks discipline, he did take my fathers back so there is some potential.

Yukio: Yes, but he’s on a very short leash. An undisciplined spell caster is a dangerous one. A single mistake could cause destruction. I will not hesitate to end him if his emotions get out of hand.

Zarina: You have my fathers permission to do so. I trust your decision making and your ability to teach. For now return to your chambers and do what it is you do. I will be monitoring the boys from my chambers and tomorrow we should proceed with phase one.

Yukio: With all due respect, if I could meet with Jozaru prior to the training to set some ground rules that would be greatly appreciated.

Zarina: You have my permission.

Yukio: Thank you.

Zarina and Yukio would return to their chambers and the boys would be cleaning the palace. Later in the night Yukio would meet Jozaru in his chamber.

Yukio:.....

Jozaru:......

Yukio: Jozaru I will be honest with you. If it weren’t for the royal family, I would have ended you for your sarcasm. However, you are a low life so I expect nothing less from you. With that said we’re going to lay the foundation and try to make this work ok.

Jozaru: I’m sorry, but I don’t care if you send me. I’m not going to kiss your ass because you have a fancy title.

Yukio: Watch your tone child.

Jozaru: Or what? Are you going to kill me? You fear this royal family enough to not kill me sooner. You’re a sellout!

Yukio: Enough! I’m not here to listen to your ramble. Understand that I am here to assist you with your training and discipline. It is in your best interest to make this work Jozaru. Otherwise the purpose of you leaving the camp would be a waste!

Jozaru: And who are you to say that it is!? As far as I’m concerned my purpose has been fulfilled. I’ve seen the outside world. I’ve seen what lies outside those walls. As far as I’m concerned I’m content with what’s—

Yukio backhands Jozaru.

Yukio: Silence you fool. You will not fool me Jozaru. I know what your goal is. I know that simply witnessing the world is not enough to satisfy you. I’m convinced your her to change this world. A simple ambition that I witnessed while exploring your memories.

Jozaru: What? How did you—

Yukio: Remember I am a master sorcerer and I can easily look into your memories. I’m also aware that you are locked out of certain memories due to the camp system.

Jozaru gets up from his bed and grabs Yukio by his collar.

Jozaru: You bastard! Tell me everything you know about me. Tell me what is this curse I have. Tell me about my own history damn it!

Yukio: No.

Jozaru throws a punch at Yukio. Yukio takes the punch to the chin while tears flow down Jozaru’s cheeks.

Yukio: Hear me out, I know you’re a tortured soul but it’s better for you to relive your own memories than for me to tell them to you. I can teach you this if you cooperate with me and your training.

Jozaru:.......

Yukio:.........

Jozaru: Deal.

Yukio smiles and Jozaru lets go of Yukio.

Yukio: I’m pleased that you have seen it my way. I will teach you the spell when you have the necessary strength for it. At this time the spell would kill you and that would be a waste of talent. For now get some rest and we’ll work out a regimen for you to follow.

Jozaru: Yes...sir.

Yukio: Wonderful.

The next day Jozaru and Luis reunite with Zarina and Yukio in the practice area.

Zarina: Good morning boys!

Jozaru and Luis: Good morning.

Yukio: Alright then let’s begin with the basics. For today we’re going to work on your strength and conditioning. You will each need to wear these weighted vests. They’re about 50 pounds to start so there’s nothing to worry about. In addition you will each need to carry a chest about 75 pounds. Your task is to run laps on the track we have outside. You will run until you collapse. After words we’ll be going over your nutrition plans and then we should be able to start the training. Any questions?

Jozaru: Um yes.

Yukio: Great you begin now.

With a snap of his fingers Yukio teleports the boys to the track outside with their vests on and a chest in their hands. Jozaru and Luis are both in shock of what happened and are struggling with the added weight.

Yukio: I said begin gentlemen.

Jozaru and Luis: Yes sir!

Jozaru and Luis make several laps before they each collapse.

Yukio: Wonderful you survived! Now do it again.

Yukio heals the two boys and they run again until they collapse.

Yukio: Great job! Now let’s get you both healed up and go over nutrition plans.

Yukio snaps his fingers and the boys are fully healed.

Yukio: Ok for Luis you will be on a lean meats diet seeing as you’ll mostly be dealing physical damage to your opponents. We need you to get your weight up so you can be most effective. As for Jozaru you’ll be on a vegan diet. It’s important to maintain your current weight and let your body rejuvenate itself. It’s a strict diet but it has many long term positives that are necessary to access more advanced spells. Other than that we can begin the actual training, once you have completed your daily tasks.

A few hours pass and the boys are done with their daily tasks.

Yukio: Excellent! Well done. Now let us begin. Luis you will stay here with princess Zarina and she will show you what you can do with your abilities. Jozaru you will come with me to the yard. We will practice simple techniques before we go to the study so you can learn more about your abilities.

Jozaru: The study?

Yukio: Yes you will need to read up on skills. Now let's begin.

Yukio snaps his fingers and transports Jozaru and himself to the yard. Leaving Luis with Zarina.

Zarina: Alright now that those two are gone, I want you to come at me. Show me your abilities and I’ll be able to tell you how to use them.

Luis: Alright!

Yukio: Now Jozaru let us begin. Show me what spells you can already perform. I want to see if you mastered any.

Jozaru: Alright, I’m not sure that I have, but here goes nothing.

mature
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Salters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.