Geeks logo

The Perfect Order to Watch Kung Fu Panda.

by Nyim Hussain 2 months ago in movie

It sure is the perfect order!

With the dates for the lockdown to be eased revealed just over a week ago now, I thought I can slip in a few movies before I go back to school.

Then I thought, how about we go back a few years? Perhaps, we can go through action and watch the Taken franchise or we can go through comedy and watch the Men in Black franchise?


By billow926 on Unsplash

You've read the title. I watched Kung Fu Panda!

The idea that we should do things in chronological order seems to be a default setting for humans, whether it be getting ready for school - which most of us will have to get used to again from next week - or how to bake a cake, makes sense right? I mean, we can't just pour the milk into the bowl first and then add the cereal! But with things, such as movies, we sure don't need to go in chronological order.

I'll summarise the order in which I would watch the Kung Fu Panda franchise since I have marathoned them.

Behold the Dragon Warrior Order!

1. Kung Fu Panda 1 (2008)

2. Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Furious Five (2008)

3. Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness

4. Kung Fu Panda Holiday (2010)

5. Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Masters (2011)

6. Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Scroll (2016)

7. Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011)

8. Kung Fu Panda 3 (2016)

9. Panda Paws (2016)

10. Kung Fu Panda: The Paws of Destiny

Behold the Dragon Warrior order!

THIS is how you watch the Kung Fu Panda movies, and I'm sure Shifu and Oogway would be proud! If you haven't yet seen them, copy and paste that order into your notes, and if you've already seen them and want to know why I destined the order like this, stick around. Minor spoilers are ahead.

So, we start with the first Kung Fu Panda (2008) because it's the first one to happen chronologically. It's ideal to learn about that transition of Po from being a waiter at a noodle restaurant to being part of the fireworks display as he rolled down the stairs of Jade Palace to watch the ceremony.

We then move onto the first of the short films, Secrets of the Furious Five, which we get to learn in-depth, in terms of their past and how the 'Furious Five' came to be. Even though Po becomes the Dragon Warrior and has earned their respect by protecting the valley, he still admires them - that is kinda wholesome isn't it?

Told ya!

However, we then shift into the TV series of Legends of Awesomeness, where we dive deeper into the training Po underwent on his perilous journey to firming the title of the Dragon Warrior. It seems that this series helps us to strengthen the empathetic connection with Po, as we see when he finally defeats Tai Lung with the Wuxi Finger Hold.


This then leads to the next short film, Kung Fu Panda Holiday, where we get to learn about the responsibilities of the Dragon Warrior. It really lives up to the famous quote in the Spiderman franchise: "With great responsibility, comes with great power."

The next short films, Secrets of the Masters, Secrets of the Scrolls, develop further insight into the Masters, Ox, Croc, and Rhino and how they ended up in Gongmen City, as well as the Scrolls where we learn more about the Furious Five.

In the second movie, Kung Fu Panda 2, we really see the team chemistry we have seen as Manchester Centurions achieved. To defeat the man, or peacock in this case, who is responsible for stealing the loving, caring family that he had.

Oh, sweet revenge.

Skadooshing to the third movie, we meet Po's biological father and he learns more about his origins and village. This time, with the collective power of his fellow panda villagers and the Furious Five, Po reached an internal state we wish we could reach in reality... peace.

Finally. moving onto the final short film Panda Paws (2016), we now learn about Mei Mei and her journey to becoming the ultimate ribbon dancer. Notice how we are learning more than the names of the characters...

Finally, we end with the television series Kung Fu Panda: The Paws of Destiny. Po spreads his expertise, strength, and dragonesque skills, through four pandas - like Shifu and Po, who go along a journey to discovering their destiny - to save the world from malevolent powers.

And that is the Dragon Warrior Order. If you have any questions or if you want to tell me that you've tried it out, please let me know via my Instagram!

I'm @nyimhussain

p.s. I have only just made this account!

Thank you so much for reading, and remember, there are no accidents.

Nyim Hussain
Nyim Hussain
Read next: Best Customizable Games
Nyim Hussain

Hi there! 👋

This is just a place for me to talk about a lot of things.

Any questions, let me know via my Instagram @nyimhussain

See all posts by Nyim Hussain

Find us on socal media

Miscellaneous links