Geeks logo

The movies of my childhood and what they taught me

"The Virgin Suicides"

By Nostalgic CinefilePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Kirsten Dunst as Lux Lisbon

Backstory

I figure since I chose this image from "The Virgin Suicides" I should begin with this film.

Like many of the drama films I watched as a child, this movie was enjoyed in secret when I was home alone on a Friday night. I was in high school, I can't recall the exact age, but I remember being old enough to freely browse the cable channels. And I stopped on this movie because of the color of the film. I've always loved pastels and pinks and that dreamy type of aesthetic. When I saw this I didn't even pay attention to the storyline, just the visuals of the film. I watched it all the way through without really knowing what it was about. Years later, in my college dorm room, I would rewatch it. This time I would really watch it.

Lessons Learned

The first time I watched it, I learned how to watch a film past the plot. Before this I only cared about the storylines of movies. Don't get me wrong; a strong plot and character development are all very necessary and beloved. This movie, however, taught me that I could enjoy more than just the structure of dialogue and events. This movie taught me that film could, and very well should, be beautiful like a painting or a sculpture.

The second time I watched this film I learned that every moment I was called sensitive, or weak, submissive, or dramatic was rooted in something poisonous. Growing up I was also very sheltered, not in such a way as the Lisbon sisters, still I felt locked away a lot of my youth. I rarely had free time between school, tutoring, sports, and work/ volunteering. When I did I craved art, literature, or film. A feeling of relief I honestly forgot until this year. I also had very strict parents. Many confused my dad for ex-military. The truth was, there was little room for emotions. The whole concept of "your feelings are valid" was non-existent. I hid my panic attacks best I could. When I couldn't I called them asthma attacks to cover the truth-- my fear, my sensitivity. I began writing poetry because I needed to release all the pain and fear and anger I felt every day. I hid every bit of my emotions and a dark poison crept through me until it turned me into the person I am today-- haunted by all the unsaid. This was the first time I had seen women take their emotions and showcase them through every cell on their bodies. I hesitate to say I praised the characters of the story, because that seems insensitive in so many ways. I did, however, see myself represented through their stories. It was the beginning of my own revelation.

"The Virgin Suicides" was one of the first films I watched to analyze. It essentially started this entire part of me who loves and appreciates film.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Nostalgic Cinefile

Reliving my childhood through the movies that left an impact. From the kitschy and campy to the nuanced and serious, these are my experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.