Geeks logo

The Demise of Toys 'R' Us: One Year Later

Reflecting on the day that we cried over the loss of a piece of our childhood.

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Everyone knows the Toys 'R' Us jingle by heart. We all sang it when all of us were kids—and as adults. Tomorrow is the one-year anniversary of the day that broke our hearts: the closing of all Toys 'R' Us stores. However, there is some good news that the beloved toy store is gearing up for a comeback. The question that came in my mind the other day: will it have the same nostalgic feel like before and be the same as I remembered as a child? According to multiple news articles, Toys 'R' Us is expected to return, just in time for the holiday season. Richard Barry, a former Toys 'R' Us executive, revealed plans for a relaunch. The new locations will be 10,000 square feet, as opposed to the 40,000 that was once proposed. As far as how many stores it'll open in the United States, those details are limited. Once more details are known, I'll be sure to update everyone.

I wanted to share some toys that I bought from Toys 'R' Us between 2013-2016. For the most past, almost all of my purchases were Power Rangers action figures, and other toys, spending around $300 during this time span. Talk about your wallet taking a huge hit.

Shortly after I moved to Springdale, Arkansas in February 2013, I went to my local Toys 'R' Us in the neighboring town of Fayetteville. I haven't been to a Toys 'R' Us store in 20 years, and walking in there one day was like reliving my childhood again. I immediately ran into the aisle where there were Power Rangers action figures. The Red Ranger caught my eye, so I bought it. It was the first action figure I've owned since I was a kid.

In March 2016, I bought a Pokemon 20th Anniversary Nintendo 3DS Red & Blue Bundle. Both games were pre-installed, and I was so excited when it arrived in the mail. This went on sale for $199, and was released in February 2016, but I had to wait a few weeks before purchasing mine. As a fan of the franchise, I played both Pokemon Red and Pokemon Blue just about every day. However, Pokemon Yellow is my overall favorite to this day.

October 2016: For so long, I've always wanted a Power Morpher. I eventually got what I wanted. Out of all the characters on Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Billy Cranston was my favorite, and still is today. He was the Blue Ranger, and I can relate to his character. I started to cosplay as him back in Halloween 2016, and didn't suit up as the Blue Ranger until 2017. The Blue Ranger is the character that many of my cosplay friends, and followers on social media, most recognize me as. I'm going to bring it back sometime in 2020.

September 2017: The Legacy Blade Blaster was another item that I wanted badly for months, but it felt good to have it in my hands. I even did a review of it in my Blue Ranger suit in a series of short videos on social media. It's great to have in your holster when you cosplay as a Power Ranger.

Also from October 2016, I made two major purchases: the Dragonzord and Falconzord. These totaled around $140, and I had to buy both of these, for display purposes. I didn't have a display case for my action figures. Instead, I used the top of my closet to display them. The Legacy Falconzord from Power Rangers: The Movie, I've since given that to one of my friends.

Usually I dislike the holidays, because I always spend them alone, and it's too commercialized. However, in this case, I'm looking forward to Toys 'R' Us's return, and once again, reliving my childhood. How are you feeling about Toys 'R' Us making a comeback? Are you feeling optimistic or unsure?

I hope you enjoyed this article and if you like the articles I've written, feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It'll help me, and other Vocal content creators share better stories. Not only that, but supporting us in a positive way. Have a fun and safe 4th of July.

collectibles
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.