Geeks logo

The Charlie Brown Christmas tree lesson I learned

There is a benefit to scaling down during the holiday season.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

At the time my husband and I met in 1976 we both had large families. By the time we had our third child, we were giving Christmas gifts to about 30 different individuals and we loved it. Everyone had good jobs and there was never any stress regarding holiday spending. The biggest part of the holiday was that everyone put up a 6 foot or taller Christmas tree. It was magical to see the various trees decorated and all the presents lying beneath. Fast forward to 2020 and much had changed. A majority of our loved ones have passed away and COVID has shifted the way many people are celebrating this year.

I thought of my mother who about a decade before she died began putting up what she referred to as her Charlie Brown Christmas tree. For anyone who may be unaware, in 1965 a Christmas animated classic titled “ A Charlie Brown Christmas” aired on CBS. During the 30 minute cartoon Charlie Brown is asked to pick out a Christmas tree. He returns with what looks like a house plant and all his friends laugh at him. He is distressed and asks if anyone can tell him the true meaning of the season. His pal Linus reads to him the story of the first Christmas and Charlie’s spirits are lifted. He decided to ignore the naysayers and decorate his little shrub.

Charlie Brown tree after decorating.

He attaches one light bulb and the tree falls over. Charlie Brown laments thst evrything he touches he ruins and walks away, in his absence his friends decorate the tree for him and it turns out to look really great. This is why when my mother switched from a large tree to a small table top she called it her Charlie Brown tree. I have had a large tree, both living and artificial in my every home for my entire 62 years on the earth but this year decided to follow my mothe’s example. It is a job putting up a huge tree and decorating it, even when family helps. There is also the issue of taking it down and putting everything away.

This year, I just did not feel like making the effort. I realized that I’m human and COVID had taken a toll even though no one in my immediate family had tested positive for the disease. I am a little stressed and depressed in 2020 and it’s OK. Thetr was a time when schools, jobs, neighborhoods and churches all decorated for and had programs, parades and pageants to celebrate the holiday season. COVID as well as changing views has stripped us of the ability to choose to observe the day as we once did. The truth is, however that I’m not even obligated to put up a tree but it’s in my blood.

I wanted to do something that pleased me this year that no one could stop and that I would enjoy. I purchased a 2 foot table top tree that is prelit and runs on 3 double A batteries. I can leave it lit 24/7 and not effect my light bill. I can leave home and not be concerrned there wil be an electrical fire. I added a few touches just like the Peanuts gang did for Charlie Brown’s little tree and I’ve transformed my own Christmas tree from they way it appeared on the box. The stress and strain of dragging a 7 foot tree from the attic, stringing lights, and placing ornaments is not an issue this year.

I am totally free to reflect upon the season as I see fit. I will keep Christmas in my heart all year as Ebeneexer Scrooge declared. I know as the Grinch found out that this Holiday is more than what comes from a store. I will do as Tiny Tim said and think on He who made the lame to walk and opened blind eyes. Like the Peanuts gang I’ve taken little and turned it into much and will prize my Charlie Brown Christmas tree. Perhaps I might even keep it up all year long. I’m free of being bound by 6 decades of traditions thrust upon me by others . Don’t get me wrong, I live the way I was taught to observe December 25. It’s just that this year with the coronavirus taking so many choices away,

I’m thankful to be able to choose something that please me that no one can take from me. Thank you Charles Shultz, Charlie Brown, and Peanuts gang for a valuable lesson.Charlie Brown’s tree was not much in the beginning and fell over under the weight of one ornament. Linus used his most prized possession, his trusted blanket

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.