Geeks logo

The Best of Every World

From Script to Screen

By Maya Papaya Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1
The Best of Every World
Photo by Jason Dent on Unsplash

From the page to the screen the only difference is the medium. Each art form is its own unique brand of creativity and imagination. One would not be complete without the other. Books, movies, theater need each other.

The words make the plot, the cinematic graphics make the world, and the actors bring the picture to life.

When you look at the behind the scenes process of all it can entail, you realize that the worlds are more entwined than you would have thought. Each medium connects to each other in a way that is unparalleled. It gives people the imagination to think of the impossible, encourage them to pursue their dreams, and shows them how to be brave and not back down in life.

As a child who has dreamed of nothing but writing, has gone through acting classes to know what it feels like for the actors that she wants to write for, has gone behind and in front of the camera to understand the difference between novel and script, I can honestly claim that I still do not understand a thing.

It is a different experience that does not compare.

By Andrew Neel on Unsplash

It started with a college class when I was thirteen. At that time I was homeschooling with my mother and the biggest thing I remember of that time was her ability to connect with me on a practical level: traveling to the states and hearing history from their eyes, performing hands on science experiments with people who were knowledgeable in the field, finding a way to learn from the books that I would read on a regular basis than force a reading list on me.

It was an experience like no other and one that I am privileged to have had.

One of the things that consisted of my learning was to take some light college courses to prep me for my field of choice. Within the next four years I would take multiple courses that would help me towards a writing degree.

One of those classes consisted of teaching the students how to write a screenplay.

I think you know where I am about to go with this.

By ShareGrid on Unsplash

The whole world opened up in a new light and I got to look through a new lens (pun intended). I saw what could really become of the words that were written. It was no coincidence that around the time I started my class was the time the world decided they liked the idea of historical movies.

History came to life in a whole new way for me.

The way that I watched movies changed drastically. Not only could I appreciate the art for what it was, I was able to detect the plot, write out the characters in my head, know how the director's decision would effect the final cut.

I became invested as more than just a consumer.

By Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

YouTube changed the game entirely after that. At this point, I was not entirely sure how far I wanted my career in writing to go. Or to be more accurate, in what direction.

I knew that writing meant more to me than just a passing fling. This is what I was made to do and damn if I did not want to live up to the expectations that other great writers have set.

I was anxious to learn and grow. I wanted to absorb everything. I wanted to grow in every avenue, but even within myself I knew that was not wise. If you explore everything than you will not be great in anything.

Did I even want to be great?

I still am not sure how I would answer that question to this day. I still feel the need to explain to people that while this is end game for me, this will be the thing that I will forever strive for and work towards, it is not the money that is the prize but the art. It is genuine, but at the end of the day, there is the aspect that it is indeed a job.

Where do I land and how do I move on from here?

If you want to find out, there will be a part 2 coming your way! I would also like to encourage anyone who is reading this to check out both my YouTube channel (Maya Hernandez) and my Instagram (babbling_bumbling_booknerd)! I love to be active and listen to other voices who love books, writing, and just enjoy life.

I also would be so appreciative if you were to be so kind as to tip (not a requirement). All of the money goes back into all of my platforms and of course daily living. I am also looking into some fun ways to give that money back and would love any and all suggestions. Thank you all so much!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.