Geeks logo

Superhero Showcase - 'Black Widow'

The MCU's Most Undervalued Player

By Donovan BarlowPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4
Do we have a problem?

"It's 22:30... Day 5. I've taken in so much information, it's all starting to blend together... And the things we've seen recently... Things that I didn't believe existed last week. What do you think will after that?"

-Natasha Romanoff

That's from a transcript I found from a conversation between Natasha and Barton after the 2012 events in New York. It was the day that Director Fury had longed to see, a day when his dream came to fruition, the first time Earth's Mightiest Heroes banded together...

For their first group photo. Check it out!

Photographer: "Avengers on three!"

One.

Two..

Three...

Let's take a quick pause and take a moment to appreciate that Natasha is the MCU's FIRST female heroine and while she certainly lives up to the role on the team, she's definitely not appreciated for her contributions to the Avenger's success. There's a ton of people out there who wonder why she's even a part of The Avengers, some even attempt to make fun of Black Widow and assume she's useless.

Did I hear someone in the back ask, "Why do they think that?"

Now, isn't that the perfect question...

(Thinking of response)

On second thought! Who cares what they think? Any person familiar with Black Widow, the comic book character and Black Widow of the MCU understand fully that she's highly formidable and should never be underestimated. She's been trained in various martial arts, she's an excellent extractor of information, and on top of that, she has ZERO superpowers and fights against aliens... In all seriousness, I should end the article there... But my friends at Vocal have a 600-word minimum.

Challenge accepted!

Just in case you didn't catch it the first time, I'll repeat myself, she doesn't have SUPERPOWERS and FIGHTS against ALIENS.

"Yeah, but so does Hawkeye!"

Ohhh! You mean the guy who could do this, right?

Give me a break! In terms of power scaling for members of The Avengers, Black Widow's power is just as useful as Nano Tech is against Thanos... which is why when she steps into the ring, she's not one to F**K with.

Ugh! I feel it, the cold stares of judgement, thinking I'm full of myself for thinking this way.

🕺🏾 🕺🏾🕺🏾

So, for all you Black Widow doubters, sit back, relax, and enjoy today's Superhero Showcase, featuring our favorite Russain assassin, Black Widow, in some of her most useless feats.

001. I Could Use a Boost

So, for all you Black Widow doubters, sit back, relax, and enjoy today's Superhero Showcase, featuring our favorite Russian assassin, Black Widow, in some of her most useless feats.

I remember when The Avengers premiered in 2012, there was a moment that I watched and immediately thought to myself, "How is she able to do that?" and the more time that passed, the more I began to realize that even I underestimated the greatness of Black Widow...

I see confused looks, "Did he just throw in a PLOT TWIST?"

Not really, I acknowledged my thought and understood that I was wrong.

Here's a plot twist though, Black Widow had two major feats in The Avengers and the one mentioned above is always completely overlooked and you know why? Because grown men in basements hate to see a woman with power... I said what I said, don't @ me!

Widow's durability is through the roof, let's not forget she did get slapped by Hulk on the Helacarrier, yet here she is jumping off Cap's shield and grabbing hold of a Chitauri horse carriage. This feat alone places her miles ahead of Hawkeye and his Call of Duty level trick shots.

002. Thank You for Your Cooperation

Speaking of 2012 and more first war feats, it goes without saying that Widow's ability of information extraction is top notch and what makes it even better, is that she also takes the personal hits to get what she needs to achieve her mission. First, she gets Loki (Thor's brother/God of Lies) to admit that she was able to successfully sneak up on him, a mere human? Slippery enough to weasel in without detection by a God, you say?... that's useless!

Sure, if they hadn't placed Loki in Hulk's room, things may have ended up differently... Definitely would have. However, Widow's able to stay cool, calm, and collected, even as Loki attacks her for seeking to clear the red that's just too thick to wipe away... She looks defeated, what the hell was Fury thinking sending her in there after him? And boy, does Loki marvel in the moment... You got her didn't you bro...?

You're a monster! No, you brought the monster.

Gotcha!

Wait, she was able to trick even a God? A God of tricks and lies? I mean yeah... Yet here we are.

003. I'm Not Thanking That Thing

Yeah, if I was Widow, I wouldn't be thanking a mini attack drone, plus, she had the situation under control. Civil War has a plethora of fights to choose from, but obviously, the one that stands out the most is at the beginning when Cap and gang are after Crossbones. It should be unfair to compare the fighting capabilities of Widow when she's up against Thanos children, but put her against another Homo Sapien and well...

An excellent hand to hand combatant, it's clear that she's also possessing some superhuman strength and agility because GODDAMN, I mean some of the hits she delivered and moves she performed, almost made her seem a little more than human. Nevertheless, there's no secret serum boosting her attributes, no iron suit, no mighty hammer, no explosive arrows, no unmatched strength... Nope there's just a ton of Red Room training that has turned Widow into one of the fiercest women on the planet.

004. Let Me Go

There are still no words that can do justice to the magnitude of the moment on Vormir, when Black Widow solidified her status as one of Earth's Mightiest Heroes. When people throw harsh reviews at Widow, it's almost like they forget that she willingly sacrificed herself for the sake of the universe... Sort of giving me those Iron Man vibes, but that's just me. A woman who wanted to badly to have a family, found herself staring death in the face and rose to the occasion, not only for herself and her team, but so Clint could have his redemption and HIS family back. This moment stands as one of the most selfless acts by any character in the MCU, one that can never be reversed... Think about that.

"A soul for a soul."

Even though we see Natasha's fate in Endgame, there's still much to be learned about her, in her upcoming self-titled film. I'm sure it will bring Natasha's arc to an end, in the most spectacular of ways.

Don't worry, I'll wrap this up, I'm sure you're needing a moment after that last video.

I feel your pain!

There's no doubt that Black Widow has had her share of superhero feats throughout her time in the MCU, she's earned the respect of her peers, having fought alongside some of the greatest warriors in the universe, but y'all keep telling yourselves that she doesn't belong.

She'll treat you like she did Happy in Iron Man 2. That said, let's see if we can get this article to ten likes. Be on the lookout for more articles written from the content BORROWED from The Avengers HQ...

I promise, I'm going to return it! I think the Sun's getting low though, so I'm out of here for now.

superheroes
4

About the Creator

Donovan Barlow

Screenwriter, Father, King of the pirates, Demogorgon Killer, and The People’s Champion (Sorry Rock)

Follow me on Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.