Geeks logo

Nicholas Sparks Film-Adaptations to Watch

When Romance Novels Come to Life

By Kayla SimasPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

The best-selling author, Nicholas Sparks has been writing love stories that tear at our heartstrings since 1996.

Eleven of his best selling novels have been turned into films, each unique and bringing to life the stories we read on pages.

Take a look at Sparks film-adaption films, to watch!

(Warning: if you do decide to watch one or two, or them all, make sure to have a box of tissues beside you. You will bawl your eyes out!)

Year: 2002

Cast: Mandy Moore and Shane West

Setting: Beaufort, North Carolina

Featured song: 'Only Hope'

Running time: 101 minutes

Movie quote(s): "Love is like the wind. You can't see it, but you can feel it."

"Love is always patient and kind. It is never jealous. Love is never boastful or conceited. It is never rude or selfish. It does not take offense and is not resentful."

Year: 2004

Cast: Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams

Setting: South Carolina

Featured song: 'I'll be seeing you'

Run time: 123 minutes

Movie quote(s): "I wrote you 365 letters. I wrote you everyday for a year. It wasn't over, it still isn't over."

"So it's not gonna be easy. Its gonna be really hard. We're gonna have to work at this everyday, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you. Forever. You and me, everyday."

"I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I've led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I've loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, tis has always been enough."

Year: 2014

Cast: Michelle Monaghan and James Marsden

Setting: Oriental, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Run time: 1 hour 58 minutes

Movie quote: "You're still alive. And that means you'll love and be loved. And, in the end, nothing else really matters."

"You might not understand, but I gave you the best of me, and after you left, nothing was ever the same."

Year: 2013

Cast: Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel

Setting: New Bern, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Run time: 115 minutes

Movie quote: "Everyone has a past, but that's just it -- it's in the past. You can learn from it but you can't change it."

"I promise there's no safer place in the world than with me."

Year: 2010

Cast: Miley Cyrus and Liam Hemsworth

Setting: Wilmingtn, North Carolina

Featured Song: 'When I Look at You'

Runtime: 107 minutes

Movie quote: "Love is fragile. And we're not always its best caretakers. We just muddle through and d the best we can, and hope this fragile thing survives, against all odds."

"Sometimes you have to be apart from the people you love, but that doesn't make you love them any less. Sometimes it makes you love them more.

Year: 1999

Cast: Robin Penn and Kevin Costner

Setting: Carolina

Feature song: N/A

Runtime: 107 minutes

Movie quote: "I am lost without you. I am soulless, a drifter without a home, a solitary bird in a flight to nowhere. I am all these things, and I am nothing at all. This, my darling, is my life without you. I long for you to show me how to live again."

Year: 2015

Cast: Scott Eastwood and Britt Robertson

Setting: Black Mountain, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Runtime: 2 hours and 19 minutes

Movie quote: "The only thing I know for sure is if we both want to, we'll find a way to make it work."

"I don't know what the future holds but I know this; no future without you."

Year: 2008

Cast: Diane Lane and Richard Gere

Setting: Rodanthe, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Runtime: 2 hours and 9 minutes

Movie quote: "While I sleep, I dream of you and the I wake, I long to hold you in my arms. If anything, our time apart has only made me more certain that I want to spend my nights by your side and my days with your heart."

"The greater the love, the greater the tragedy when it's over."

Year: 2010

Cast: Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried

Setting: Wilmington, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Runtime: 1 hour and 48 minutes

Movie quote:"I finally understood what true love meant. Love meant that you care for another person's happiness more than your own, that happens with first love, no matter how painful the choices you face might be."

"Two weeks together; two weeks. That's all it Tok for me o fall in love with you. But now we have one year apart. But whats one year apart after two weeks like that together."

Year: 2016

Cast: 1 hour and 51 minutes

Setting: Beautfort, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Runtime: Teresa Palmer and Benjamin Walker

Movie quote: "Life is about what you decide from one moment to the next."

"The secret to life is making the right choices."

Year: 2012

Cast: Zac Efron and Taylor Schilling

Setting: Hampton, North Carolina

Featured song: N/A

Runtime: 1 hour and 41 minutes

Movie quote: "Everyone has their own destiny. Not everyone makes the choice to follow it. And I'm lucky I did."

"Sometimes finding the light means passing through the deepest darkness."

movie
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Simas

Kayla Simas is a teacher and journalist from Staten Island, New York. She enjoys writing, traveling and country music turned up loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.