Geeks logo

My Top 10 Food Network Crushes

Celebrities I Can't Help but Love

By E.L. MartinPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
2
My Top 10 Food Network Crushes
Photo by Jasmine Waheed on Unsplash

Food Network is hands-down my most watched channel, and for good reason. Food Network hosts and chefs come from diverse backgrounds and have varied personalities. Their charm, wit, humor, and relatability all take center stage. Plus, there is rarely anything sexier than someone who knows how to cook. Granted, a self-proclaimed hobbit is stating this, so please take that into consideration. With that being said, I'd like to introduce you to a romantically charged countdown of my favorite Food Network crushes and a long list of reasons why they're worth falling in love with-just in time for Valentine's Day.

By Glen Carrie on Unsplash

10. Guy Fieri

Everybody knows Guy Fieri. His talent is undeniable; and while he has his own huge fan following, he is receiving a tenth place mention on my list. I appreciate Guy's work and watch many of his shows that have introduced me to so many other great hosts and chefs. You could say he's my wing guy (pun intended). He has an enticing personality, but what I love most about him is his willingness to change and positively impact the lives of others. Whether it is helping out restaurant owners and service workers financially during the pandemic, officiating wedding ceremonies for homosexual couples, or feeding those who were impacted by California wildfires, Guy Fieri has done more positive deeds than most celebrities out there. Can you imagine knowing somebody that kind-hearted, philanthropic, and generous in real life? The man is incredible, and he will receive my views every single time.

Speaking of Guy's positive deeds, I was excited to watch Guy's Chance of a Lifetime. *Spoiler Alert. Please skip to number 8 if you don't want these spoilers.* I'm not typically big on the drama from reality competition style shows, but I watched this specifically because Guy Fieri was hosting it. I was metaphorically biting my nails the whole time hoping that Guy Fieri wouldn't just waste all of the contestant's time in this tense two week long interview for the sake of "show biz." I'm happy to say that Guy didn't disappoint; he gave out a runner up prize to all of the contestants that were not selected, which definitely changed multiple lives. This act just made me even more proud and inspired by Guy Fieri, which brings me to my number nine crush selection.

9. Kevin Cooper

Kevin Cooper was a contestant and winner on Guy's Chance of a Lifetime. Throughout the show, I was constantly in awe of him. His reasoning abilities and selfless attitude impressed me. He was a supporter of competition, and always ready and willing to learn. He took every criticism to heart and used it to make himself better. His life philosophies scream an astounding thing to me; his coping skills are close to perfection. At times I wondered whether or not someone on TV could truly be that good, but he has a genuineness and authenticity about it. Looking deeper into his background, you can understand how he became such a positive person and grows skills and perspective from every experience. He was truly an inspiration and the main reason I kept coming back to this show. I let out a huge cheer when Guy revealed the results, and at least two of the other contestants couldn't even be mad or jealous about him winning. Those two thought he deserved it, and were nothing but happy for him. (It may have helped that they received a significant prize as well, but hey, they at least stated that they liked him and that's something!)

On a side note, he may have also made me appreciate white pants on men. I can't deny that his appearance is almost equally attractive to his divine personal qualities. 😉 Obviously, I look forward to seeing more of Kevin Cooper.

8. Alex Guarnaschelli

Alex Guarnaschelli is an Iron Chef badass. She is addicted to competing and improving; using this "adrenaline junky" quality to its fullest and most beneficial potential. I love hearing her snarky, witty, and sarcastically funny remarks; she has the best sense of humor, and it absolutely adds to her charm. Between watching her compete on Guy's Grocery Games, Tournament of Champions, and her latest, Alex vs. America, I find that I have no issue watching competition food shows where she is a host or candidate. I was also especially fond of her show, Supermarket Stakeout which showcases a lot more of her comedic sense. You can tell that she really has fun with it, and any time she is on The Kitchen you can bet that's an episode I'm going to watch!

7. Sunny Anderson

Speaking of The Kitchen, that was where I was introduced to Ms. Sunny Anderson and that gorgeous complexion of hers. Her personality comes across as fun, warm, and playful. She has a somewhat youthful energy and almost dances with joy as she prepares or explains her various recipes. She also isn't afraid to cook up comfort foods and more "down-to-earth" recipes. Whenever I see her and her beautiful glowing skin, I can't help but think of how appropriately named she is; she is "sunny" and radiant. I can't help but be attracted to someone like her.

6. Maneet Chauhan

Maneet Chauhan is a woman after my own heart. Maneet has an adorable personality; she looks cute and sweet, but has a mischievous flair. I love hearing some of the coy and humorous things that come out of her mouth, and the way she says them makes me smile. I'm often inspired by Indian cuisine and flavors, and like that I can learn through watching her cook. She is a strong competitor that should give any woman great pride as she won the second season of Food Network's Tournament of Champions. Aside from her accomplishments, there is one more very special reason I love Maneet Chauhan. She and her husband founded a large brew house/beer park in Nashville, TN called Hop Springs. Why? Because: beer (obviously)! Maneet has a fondness and appreciation for wine and beer. The fact that I am also a craft beer and wine lover myself means we have something very big in common. I long to tour this venue, taste all of the brews they have on tap, and maybe even attend a concert. To me, it sounds like a perfect date!

5. Curtis Stone

Curtis Stone was my introduction to celebrity food icons. He was handsome, charming, and best of all; he knew how to cook with whatever was on hand. He is probably one of the reasons I decided to eat healthier in my adult life. As a teenager, I remember watching Take Home Chef and fantasizing that one day he would be in the middle of my kitchen preparing a meal for my family and me after I came home from school. The fact that we lived in an incredibly rural part of Appalachia did not even remotely concern me.

I once had a supervisor that adored Australian accents, and when she made that mere statement I couldn't help but think of Curtis Stone. He was perhaps, one of my very first celebrity crushes and likely the most family-approved.

Since my teen years, I've ventured into many of his other shows, especially the ones where he works with children as junior chefs. Watching his work with children also makes my heart swell with pride and glee. The man still captivates me as his heart and personality are both still as friendly and warm as the day I first watched Take Home Chef. Unlike my exes, I'll never regret my first Food Network crush.

4. Aarti Sequeira

Few chefs are cuter than Aarti Sequeira. Her personality and smile is so warm and bubbly that it is infectious. She makes recipes seem so simple in her explanations, and I love watching her compete in a variety of shows. Perhaps my favorite Food Network episode with her was one of Guy's Grocery Games during the pandemic when I found out she was married to her high school sweetheart and watched them compete together. Why does this give me the feels; because, they were so fun to watch together. If I was going to give a cutest couple award, it would go to Aarti and her husband. They are such fantastic compliments to each other, and watching their chemistry just proved to me that Aarti is as sweet as I expected. I found it especially adorable when she admitted that she is messier in the kitchen than her husband. I love that kind of honesty and transparency; no arguing, no trying to hide a comment that could embarrass her on TV, just a simple admittance with a shy smile. It made her seem relatable and human instead of someone ethereal or out of reach. Authenticity will win me over every time. Plus, just look at her smile! Her husband is a lucky man, and he knows it!

3. Eddie Jackson

My third place pick has me wondering who is in charge of talent disbursement in this world; that much talent and good looks? Eddie Jackson is total proof that life isn't fair, however, with his kind, fun, and friendly personality you can't help but fall in love with him. Any show he is hosting, I'm game for watching. Between BBQ cook-offs with Bobby Flay and hosting the Kids BBQ Championship, he makes every show fun and always improves my mood. I love watching talented celebrities work with children. As an avid baker, I was also stoked to hear about his excitement about hosting Food Network's Christmas Cookie Challenge, which I watch every holiday season for ideas and holiday cheer. I was happy to hear that he is a bigger fan than I am. It was a great season and his enthusiasm and presence made it even better! I also watch his series Yum and Yummer, despite its cringe-worthy name. He showcases many black owned restaurants in the series, and considering February is Black History Month, this is one of my month's top show picks. Between his good looks, humor, talent, and charm, you can bet that if Eddie Jackson is in it, I'm going to watch it.

2. Rocco DiSpirito

What I love about Rocco is his humility and empathy. Sure, he is incredibly easy on the eyes, but it is rare to find a chef so amazingly accomplished who clearly gives credit to others easily. His compliments to other chefs and understatement of his own work and dishes show his genuineness and benevolence. Rocco is always willing for others to surpass him, and to learn from them. He even likes learning from and losing to newer and younger chefs as he views it as "their turn to shine." In many episodes of Guy Fieri's shows where Rocco is featured honoring Carl "The Cuban" Ruiz, you can see how much he cared for and honored their friendship and Carl as a human being. His humility and emotional transparence makes him an incredibly attractive human soul.

I love Rocco's calming energy and presence. He seems at peace with others and the world around him, even when he is competing. With the multitude of cookbooks and achievements he has to his name, he has the right to be arrogant, but he chooses not to be. That speaks levels to his character. When I want to watch someone wholesome, he is my selection every time. He has never disappointed me in any of his appearances. He just impresses me more every time I watch him.

If you've had trouble gauging my sexuality by now, my top Food Network Star crush will clear up that question. I could write a completely separate post all about his accomplishments and the million reasons why I love him. In fact, I may do that in the future. Anyway, let me introduce you to the most wildly attractive and mentally stimulating individual on Food Network, Justin Warner. I'm going to try not to swoon too much in the process.

1. Justin Warner

I could listen to Justin Warner talk ALL day (though I said the same thing about my husband when we started dating, and after ten years of marriage I sometimes question that sentiment.) Justin personifies molecular gastronomy, using and discussing the science of cooking. He educates you throughout his cooking process, and when he explains his dishes. Many of the Food Network chefs crack jokes about his food explanations, and he takes it all in good stride while bouncing back with his own witty comment. I enjoy his sarcastic banter and remarks as much as I enjoy his instructions and unique cooking techniques. He is a mental maverick in the kitchen or "Rebel with a Culinary Cause" as his Food Network POV stated. Who could ask for a cooler namesake given by the network? But, he isn't your typical "bad boy" crush from your teenage years, he is definitely a geek.

He is the type of geek that loved Marvel before it was cool or trending. I share this sentiment. Comic books were a haven for people like us, and he enjoyed them so much he has created dishes around those characters. His Marvel cookbook, "Eat the Universe" was the one item on my Christmas list this year. I wondered if asking my husband for a book written by my celebrity crush was a kosher idea or not, but he watches me fawn over him anytime I see him on Food Network anyway so he obliged. Aside from looks, my husband and Justin have some uncanny personality and mental similarities anyway, so I'm probably biased. What can I say? I have a very specific type, and geek is it!

Between Justin's wild, off-beat wardrobe, his unapologetic ability to be himself, great sense of humor, and his love of all things geek, I fall in love all over again every time I see him. His style, articulation, and aptitude make me long to binge every episode he is in and purchase every cookbook he produces.

Celebrity Crush, Marvel, and Cooking Related? Yes, please!

The individuals on this list make me melt with their personalities, intelligence, creativity, and presence. The way they engage their audience captivates me not just as a viewer, but also romantically. I can't help but fall in love with them time and time again for a myriad of personalized reasons. So if you're looking for love this Valentine's Day, you need only watch a few Food Network episodes and get your chef hat on. It's much safer than Tinder, and much less costly than a date with some rando you probably don't want to be on anyway. Watch a few episodes beforehand, gather some ingredients, and feel free to swoon as they teach you how to cook some of their very best dishes. Maybe you'll find your own Food Network crush in the process.

By Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

pop culture
2

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.