Geeks logo

'My Hero Academia': Season 4 Episode 7 Review

We're headed for a big fight...

By SamPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Look at these good boys leaping into action

Welcome to my weekly My Hero Academia reviews! I’ve been a fan of this show for about a year, and this is the first time I’m actually watching the shows as they air. I should also mention I watch it with my three other roommates, so I have tons of theories and fun commentary to share about the show. Also worth mentioning, I’m approaching this from a show-only perspective, so I haven’t read the manga and have no idea what’s coming. So better late than never, and I’m going to be writing weekly recap/reviews for this new season. So far, the season has been amazing, and with Overhaul continuing to cause tensions with his Quirk-erasing master plan, this week continues to build the suspense to a ridiculous high.

I thought this week would give us a lighter filler episode considering we found out last week that Overhaul’s “daughter” (still not convinced that’s the whole truth yet) Eri was being used make bullets that take away a hero’s Quirk. There were some sweet things that didn’t play into the plot, like seeing the rest of Class 1A a bit more. I’m thinking specifically of Iida and Todoroki, who support Deku in the sweetest lunchtime chat I’ve ever seen. Deku is very upset about leaving the child, Eri, when he could have grabbed her and saved her from Overhaul. The guilt has been eating at him, and I actually teared up a little to see him crying into his food. I love Iida’s small pep talk to him, and it was so good to see him after he’s taken a bit of a backseat to the rest of the action. The first half was pretty mellow, and that was good to kind of get insight to how Deku is feeling.

That being said, once our four 1A students working with the pros, Deku plus Kirishima, Ochaco, got the call they needed for a hero raid to save Eri, the plot kicked into high gear again and didn’t let up until the end. The dedication Mirio and Deku have to saving Eri after letting her go in the very beginning of the season is such a great plot to the story. Deku is at his best when he’s driving for something. With All Might out of the picture for a little bit, he needed something else to keep that never give up attitude going. Mirio is like a copy of him, feeling the same way and having that same optimistic drive. The two of them together are an awesome pair, and the cliffhanger of them running into Overhaul’s compound to save Eri made me want to fast forward this entire week just to get to next week.

However, I’m also anxious as to where this season is going, particularly with Mirio. If you ask my roommates, they’ll tell you that Mirio is my son (I have many anime “sons”) and I can’t help but pick up the hints that something bad is going to happen to him. He keeps being held up as the future of the hero industry. In this episode, Nighteye gets a big internal monologue about his work study student; Nighteye expresses some worry about Mirio’s future, and silently urging him to do his best. I swear if anything happens to Mirio you’ll know because there won’t be a review on Monday for that episode, I’ll have died of a heart attack.

Regardless, this episode was great and took me on an emotional roller coaster from beginning to end. For next week, I predict it’ll be awesome. Partially because I’m so excited to see Tamaki (or Suneater, to use his hero name) kick ass and get more character development like his relationship with Tamaki and Mirio being teased, and mostly because my one roommate absolutely loves him (he is her anime son, haha) and she’s going to pass out from how wonderful he is when we watch. Another fun note about Tamaki, my roommate has a new headcannon that he keeps snacks in all those pockets on his costume so he can eat things for him to transform into. I’ll have some incredible stories next week about how we all freaked out about how delightful Tamaki is. Let’s go Suneater!

review
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.