Geeks logo

Loyal Gamestop Customer

Sympathizing with an Employee

By Ronnie GonzalezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Magic: The Gathering Set Booster purchased at Gamestop

December 29, 2021:

I'm not supposed to be here. Driving to my local Gamestop was not a part of my route today. I promised Mom that I would go to the grocery store. That was it.

But the gamer inside of me wanted to buy Magic cards.

After spending money on groceries, I only had $10 to spend at Gamestop. Just give me 5 minutes... I prayed.

I found a parking space in my Mom's sedan. (I don't have my own car yet.) Pretty vacant save a few cars and a UPS truck next door. I step out of the car, stroll over to the Gamestop, and was met with a white paper sign: "Limit of 5 guests in store." COVID-19 is a buzzkill.

I walk inside Gamestop. I was met with AC and disinfectant smells. I helped myself to the automatic hand sanitizer dispenser at the door (took me two waves of my hand to get it to work). Again, COVID is a buzzkill.

A male Gamestop employee in casual wear greets me from across the room. I was eager to navigate through the stands and shelves to get to the Magic: The Gathering merch. I was like a nervous adventurer anticipating the gold or the treasure at the end of the road.

I hear the Gamestop guy ask me if I needed any help finding something in the store. Stupidly, I tell him that I was looking for Magic: The Gathering cards. The guy strolls over to me, where the Magic merch was. He pointed to the starter bundles (around $40 a pop - certainly not budget-friendly for someone with $10 left to spend for the day).

"Are you new to the game?" he asked.

Dammit!

I just wanted to buy a pack of Magic cards, so that I could say Hey! I have Magic cards! I can't wait to build a legit deck, and then learn how to play the game! But no. This guy smelled blood... I was new to the game.

I had my alibi: I'm a YouTuber. I'm trying to experiment on my channel. I wanna do unboxings and all that... I didn't tell him of my LarryBoy Fanatic persona on YouTube. Perhaps that would've made him annoyed. So, I saved him the meaningless talk.

The point was, I just wanted to buy Magic cards just for the fun of it. That game had piqued my interest for a long time now. But I digress.

Well, I guess he bought my story, because he was casually moving a green Minecraft plushie around on another shelf. That had to be a good sign, right?

By the time I got to the register with a pack of Magic cards - a set booster, the large TV at the counter was showing off an advertisement of Rainbow Six: Extraction - the game was set to come out in 2022. My eyes lit up. Maybe... if I mentioned my anticipation for the game, Gamestop Guy might lighten up.

"I can't wait for Rainbow Six: Extraction," I said.

No dice.

He told me that he's played Rainbow Six Siege, but he wasn't sure about Extraction.

Call me crazy, but I was kinda floored, because I myself have played Rainbow Six Siege since late June 2021. The game is pretty good. And now that there's talk of Extraction, I was pretty excited. But to see someone not having much interest... well, that sucked.

A consolation prize for this mood? I was able to buy the cards regardless - $5.99 retail value (well, $4.86 after verifying my Gamestop account).

Okay, one last shot of kindness: "Thanks for the advice," I told him. "Thanks for the tip."

Either he smiled or smirked at me. I couldn't tell.

I even walked out of there smiling. No complaints.

Maybe he's just having a bad day, I told myself several times on the drive home. Just maybe...

Will I come back to that Gamestop? Of course.

Will I get more Magic cards? Yes. I'm committed to learning and playing the game now. Quitting would've made this shopping trip be completely in vain.

Will I continue to be nice? Definitely.

Now, not to make fun of this guy, but... When I had checked my receipt and caught a glimpse of the guy's name (where the cashier's name usually goes on a receipt - top lefthand corner with today's date and store number)... Well, let's just say that he has the same name as that moody green monster from Sesame Street.

gaming
1

About the Creator

Ronnie Gonzalez

YouTuber: LarryBoy Fanatic

Gaming Connoisseur: gamer_vrouw

Writer: "Dolphin Princess" series (Barnes and Noble Press)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.