Geeks logo

Longing to enter the world of reading once more

I miss the choice to go to the library

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
I miss the library

One of the last things my family did prior the being forced to shelter in place was to go to the local library. We consider the library our second home and go there several times a week, at least we did. I can’t count the number of times I caught myself almost going to the library before I remembered I could not because of the pandemic. My three grandchildren were already being home schooled so we could go most anytime we chose. At the library they found books to read, played video games and used the computer. On Tuesdays there were special programs for the younger children, like puppet shows, crafts, and other special events.

By Iñaki del Olmo on Unsplash

My husband and I enjoyed watching the children have fun and at times read books to them. I love seeing each of my three grandchildren with two or three books in their hands to take home to read. I enjoy when they finish and tell me what they learned, then ask to return the material and get something else. This shows they have a thirst for knowledge which is so important in this world. It has been difficult to no longer have the choice to go to the library. We have missed movie night, fun days and other special events. The libraries now even off daily snacks for the children. Some of them have cafe's and soft chairs to sit in while you read. I’ve enjoyed going to the library since I was a child.

In addition to school libraries I would go to the book mobile that came to our town every month when I was a teen. When I a young adult, staying with my great aunt, I walked a few blocks to the library in her neighborhood. It was filled with information and reference material related to teh historic neighborhood where it resided. I learned information that was not taught in the history books this is important to obtain a full picture of situations. My grandchildren and I have been to most of every library in the city where we live. I miss the discontinued books that were sold for a dollar or less as well as those that were given away free. I built up my home collection by getting these treasures.

Inside the library

I long to scour the shelves for new materials and enter the various reading contests that they have. I can read anywhere and often curl up at home with a good book, but there is just something magical to me when I enter the library doors. Now I must reread what I have at home and it's becoming boring. I wonder if any authors have published anything new since the pandemic? I loved to see which books are being featured or what community events are listed on the library bulletin board. Sometimes I use the computers and if mine is out of ink, I can make copies and send faxes. The coronavirus has put everything on hold and I do wonder what changes await me when I return to the local libraries.

The children and teens had their own areas but social distancing will naturally cause some things to be different than before. I grew up in a time when libraries were filled totally with rows and rows of books on the shelves. Now, video games, CD's and DVD's are taking over. I also find that the type of books I loved as a child are being discontinued and I don't care much for modern literature as I am aging. Even so, the choice to go to the library was taken from me by the coronavirus and it's one less thing my grandchildren have to do that benefits them. Not knowing when things will open back up, or what changes there will be is troubling but I know in time it will all work out.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

The lst time we went to the Library there was someone who was reading to the young children, and as we were leaving my grandchildren were offered snacks. They ended up getting sandwiches, milk and fruit and were not hungry for lunch. The library has something for every age range and this is a good thing. Learning should never stop and I love seeing the over 60 crowd right beside the youth and teens checking out materials. Whatever is different in the future, I will attempt to go with the flow. I hope things are not so that I lose my desire to spend time inside the libraries. There is no set date yet as for when the library will open to the public again. I have spoken with a few librarians and they say they truly miss the children. I know my grandchildren and I am sure others miss them also.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.