Geeks logo

Introducing The Geekiest Girl Ever

Hi I'm New. I'm Also A Geek.

By Geeky SweetiePublished 4 years ago 19 min read
Like
Last Year's Halloween Costume as Rainbow Brite

Hey everyone! I'm new to Vocal. I wanted to write my first post as an introduction about myself! I go by Geeky Sweetie. Some of my older social media profiles go by Xenokitten. You might know me from my blog www.GeekySweetie.com

I love all things geeky, especially if you combine geeky with "kawaii" (cute) or "shoujo" (girl) things.

My biggest passions in life are my geeky hobbies. The first thing I always tell new people when I meet them is I'm a geek. I tell them that before anything else, before what I do for a living, my family life, religious beliefs, where I'm from, or any other detail?

Why? Because being a geek is more than just a hobby. Being a geek DEFINES me as a person. It makes me... well ME. It makes me WHO I am and WHAT I am. It is the most important part of my identity.

When I think about WHO AM I? the question we all ask ourselves... this is the answer I come up with. I am a geek. I love Japanese pop culture. This includes Anime, Manga, Video Games, Especially JRPGs and Japanese games, visual novels, Otome Games, yes I do play other games as well including western developed titles. I play board games. I play card games. I love to Cosplay every chance I get. I collect adorable but expensive Japanese dolls and toys. I go to anime conventions, video game conventions, I even started my own "Geek Club" in the town where I live where I meet lots of other geeks so we can play games or watch anime together.

Everything I do, comes back to one simple fact... and that is... I'm a geek.

Even my career path and education, as a web developer and graphic artist.

Literally everything important to me, crucial to me, is tied back to me being a geek.

I have been a geek as long as I can remember - maybe even longer than that.

I have memories of being too small to reach the controls and my step dad lifting me up to play Qbert or Centerpede or Pinball back in the 80s.

I remember our first console was the 8 bit NES. It originally was a christmas gift for my stepdad. He tired of it quickly though and it became mine after a year or two. Around that same time I got my own first console, the Sega Genesis. I had wanted Streets of Rage, but Sonic had just come out and all the consoles were now sold with Sonic. So Sonic was kinda my "gateway drug" into becoming a Geek.

The following year I received a super nintendo for Christmas.

And every birthday or Christmas after that, the latest new gaming console.

I was an only child. And an only grandchild. I was spoiled. We were not rich. But I was happy. I had a lot of toys. And even more video games. I still have them too.

Right now my collection looks like this (oldest to newest or to my best recollection):

NES

Genesis

SNES

Gamegear

Gameboy - and all the various itterations, classic, color, pocket, NDS, GBA, whatever, I had them all lol.

Sega CD

Sega 32X - Yes I have this - and Knuckles Chaotix is one of the funnest Sonic Games ever - OK? lol.

Sega Saturn

N64

Playstation 1

Dreamcast

Playstation 2

Playstation 3

Playstation 4

Nintendo Switch

Along the way I also had a Coleco Vission that we picked up at a yard sale years after its release. I even had a virtual boy that little black and red handheld 3D goggle thing by nintendo. It was garbage but man I sold it for hundreds of dollars years later which was nice lol.

I also have Xbox and 360 but will never purchase another Microsoft Console - because they don't have the types of games I like - I do love and cherish my copy of lost odyessee though. That game is amazing.

I know you're going to tell me Atari is missing from my list, well that's because my best friend had one and I saw her every weekend so we'd just play hers. lol.

I've bought most of the retro consoles and mini remakes over the years too.

I'm also a PC gamer with legit over 1,000 games in my steam library lol. Mostly from their sales and/or humble bundle and similar.

I've played, and probably own, almost every JRPG ever released - and even some that were never released - thank you fan translations and emulation. Even before fan translation was "a thing" I was importing JRPGs onto my modded consoles back in the 90s. I'd play em and use "walk thru" guides if needed on the internet. Like the first Tales game on SNES or some of the Final Fantasies and Mana games we never got over here for example. Importing was expensive too back in the day.

Now with fan translation and emulation man anything is possible it seems. It is the best time right now to be a gamer. But to me, most of the greatest games of all time were back in the 90s.

My favorite game series of all time is Lunar first appearing on the Sega CD back in the 90s. I think I played Eternal blue first before going back and playing Silver Star. And I of course played all the remakes. Furthermore, Working designs was and probably always will be my favorite localization publisher. I was so sad when they went out of business. I have every single one of their games. Except the ones on Turbo Graffix. If you notice, that is one of a few consoles missing from my massive collection. That and like Lynx/Jaguar, and 3DO, and Neogeo might be the only consoles I don't own lol.

Working Designs games are my favorite, Lunar, Magic Knights Rayearth, Arc the Lad, Shining Wisdom, Dragon Force, Popful Mail, Growlanser, Vay, Elemental Gearbolt, many others I'm just forgetting to mention.

Now with no Working Designs left in the world my next favorite publisher and developer is Atlus. Catherine, Persona, Tokyo Mirage Sessions, and Shin Megami Tensei are among some of my favorite more recent titles.

I also absoltely love Visual Novels, especially Otome games. The replay value is fantastic. Each one takes around 80 hours to read, and the choices you make determine the endings you receive.

Other games I like include simulation titles like obviously "The Sims" although I spend more time making people than playing the game LOL - especially with custom content. The base game is always so FUGLY but the community makes nice content! I love the custom content and endless possibilities.

But I also play other types of simulation games, like for example Animal Crossing, or Harvest Moon and Rune Factory, like building / management style games. Theme Park / Theme Hospital and others too. Anything where you're building and creating. I'm very creative lol.

I like mobile games too and been playing them increasingly much over the years. Some of my favorite mobile games include Mr Love Queen's Choice, Line Play, Love Live, IdolM@ster, Bang Dream, Utapri, Sky, Zookeeper Versus, Shining Nikki, Love Nikki, CocoPPaPlay, Happy Street, Animal Boyfriend, HuntCook, Tiny Farm, Moe Can Change, I love Coffee, I love Pasta, A3, Game of Dice, Pocket Camp, Dream Boyfriend, and Wizardess+

But my all time favorite type of game is Otome Stat Sim Management Games like Tokimeki Memorial Girl's Side and Princess Maker series. I can't wait for Tokimeki Memorial Girl's Side 4. And I'm always sad that Princess Maker 4 was skipped for localization. It is my favorite of all the Princess Maker titles.

I could go on for days and days about my favorite games. lol. Right now I'm most excited about Eiyuden which I backed on Kickstarter. It is a successor to Suikoden, another favorite gaming series of mine. By the same team as Suikoden. It'll be AMAZING. Can't wait. So Excited!!

Aside from video games, which you can see I truly adore, I also love anime and Kdrama. If I'm not playing games, I'm watching anime or KDrama. Here are some of my all time favorite titles:

Peach Girl (anime - there is a Taiwanese drama but I didn't find it to be that good.)

Chobits

Plastic Memories

HAL

(yes I have a thing for stories about AI lol)

Speaking of AI.... My favorite manga is Absolute Boyfriend - which was never made into an anime but has been made into a live action in like 5 different countries, Japan, Taiwan, China, and I think even India. I dunno why they haven't made an anime yet. The manga is by the same woman who wrote Fushigi Yugi which is another favorite of mine. Yuu Watase :).

Tegami Bachi

Sailor Moon

and over on the live action side of things some favorites are:

Angel Eyes

My Love From the Star

Doctors (sometimes called Doctor Crush)

90 Days Time To Love

Cinderella Man (this was my first live action experience)

49 Days

Oh My Ghostess

Hi Bye Mama

The Master's Sun

Golden Rainbow

10 Promises To My Dog

That Winter The Wind Blows

Autumn in My Heart

Inheritors

You're My Destiny (I actually prefer the original Taiwanese version. I haven't finished watching the Korean version yet)

Someone Like You

Remember

Pinnochio

Stairway to Heaven

Tree of Heaven

probably many others I'm forgetting. Over the years I've moved away somewhat from anime and more into live action.

Still love anime though. My faves in 2020 are Promised Neverland and the new season of re:Zero.

I collect a lot of dolls. I was never into dolls as a child. but now as an adult, and discovering anime figures and dolls such as Asian Balljointed Dolls and Dollfie Dreams, and Azone, I love dolls more than any other physical possession in this world.

I love cats. I have one right now named Squeegee. And back home at my parents I have 2 currently, Milo and Sadie.

I like stuffed animals. When I met my now fiance, he slept with a teddy bear that he had since he was a child. He started tucking me in with his teddy bear every night. And since then, stuffed animals have taken over our bed. lol. I can't sleep now without holding one and I'm a grown ass woman lol. They are so comforting. They take away all my anxieties.

And speaking of anxiety, let's talk a little bit about the year 2020... I had a lot happen to me this year! FOR REAL! Not just Covid, but a LOT of shit. In March of 2020, I was diagnosed with Epilepsy after my 2nd Grand Mal Seizure. I still have petitie mal seizures several times a week, but thanks to medication, I haven't had any more Grand Mals, not yet anyways. Fingers Crossed on that one. Due to my seizures, I lost my driver's license. Also due to Covid and businesses losing money, my hours were cut, and I was eventually let go, and had no health insurance for a few months there. I just decided last week to get some insurance using tax credits on the market place. Let's talk about why the United States is the only damn country in the world without health insurance for its people. It's ridiculous. People say it's impossible because we are too large have too many people and people don't want their tax rates to go up. But you know what, having more people means there's more tax money coming in compared to those other countries, and I think you can afford a 10% tax increase to help your god damn fellow human beings. This is ridiculous.

So with a new PERMANENT disability - there is no cure. You might be asking how the fuck does she play video games if she has epilepsy - well, not all epilepsy is caused by flashing lights. Shocker! I know, believe me, I didn't know this either until I was diagnosed this year. Turns out only about 20% of epilepsy is caused by flashing lights, and in most cases, there is no cause determined, some is from head or brain injuries but an astonishing number of epilepsy cases really just appear out of nowhere. Who knew right?!

Still... uhm just in case... I decided to cut my screen time WAY down dramatically. Like I try not to be on a computer, phone, or television for more than 20-30 minutes at one time, and try to total less than 3 hours a day.

So my dolls and my art and other things have become increasingly important to me.

They still need to run more tests, and have been blowing up my phone about scheduling me for these tests, but I had no insurance. Now I'm just waiting on my medical cards to arrive. Then hopefully can get some answers about my Epilepsy.

Another horrible thing happened to me in 2020. Back in 2019, I was doing very well at my former job. I received a very generous bonus (a few thousand dollars). It has always been my life long dream to go to Japan for obvious reasons as you can now tell from this post. Well I finally did it. I booked my flight. I booked my hotel. I had everything all paid for and ready to go this summer. But then... Covid19 happened... And all international flights were grounded.

At that time, I kinda thought that this would all just stay over in Asia - Ignorant I know!!! But none the less, I got a refund from my Japan trip and instead decided to do 2 weeks at Walt Disney World, ALL INCLUSIVE - their top of the line meal plan, hotel, park hopper passes, everything... And then.... Disney closed. Disney graciously refunded me - But I had booked my airfaire seperately because it was cheaper that way... And the airlines would not refund me. I still have these 2 tickets that I can supposedly use to go somewhere before March of 2021... But now with mounting health costs and being unemployed I don't see that as feasible anytime in the forseeable future.

But 2020 wasn't all bad - One really good thing happened for me. I got engaged! We are getting married August 28, 2021. We already booked the church and we are looking at venues. We're going to go see a venue right now today in about 2 hours. And we saw one last weekend. And we're seeing about FIVE of them this coming saturday lol. There's been some whailing and gnashing of teeth, and bumping heads with the inlaws over the wedding planning which has been very stressful. Finances also of course stressful but not impossible. Doing a small wedding, for probably round $6,000 in the end, total including everything food/dress/venue/centerpieces/etc. This is in line with price quotes I've already received from the venues we are considering. Right now in my state indoor gatherings are limited to 25 people and outdoor to 250. We're looking around 60-85 people right now, so hopefully those restrictions change. Honestly though I like outdoor weddings as long as there's a covered patio or something in case of rain.

My boyfriend - now fiance - is like a shining light at the end of all this darkness. I was married once before - and then seperated 3 months later. He was abusive both mentally and then it grew later to physically. We were "together" "dating" for like 10 years, but once we got married/moved in things changed. He went on to marry someone else a month or two after we divorced, and that marriage for him lasted less than a year too. I sadly think he passed away. A nosey family member or friend was looking on facebook, and told me one morning there was a memorial page. I still haven't confirmed this 100%, but if it's true I would have to guess it was suicide. He was always threatening me with that when I would try to leave. And he was very very mentally ill. Aggressive and Depression both. A dangerous combo.

I have no ill will. I grew a lot because of that experience. He was only my 2nd boyfriend. I fucked things up with my first love by being jealous and insecure. I was also young. We were both under 20 at the time. I think it's a normal part of growing up. I was the abusive one in that situation. I was very very insecure and had low self esteem. I had been bullied a lot in grade and high school and I had never had a boyfriend. My first boyfriend was my first EVERY thing, first guy I kissed, first date to a movie/dinner, first time meeting someone's parents, first time having sex, first time falling in love, to me I idolized him, and loved him incredibly much, but I always questioned myself and my doubts led to my insecurities... I couldn't understand why someone so amazing would be with someone like me. And so I ruined it... TWICE... he even took me back and I still couldn't change... NOPE. I didn't have enough self esteem or enough life experiences. It's sad but it's part of life and growing up. The eternal journey of self discovery.

So after my 2nd relationship - and first and only divorce - I finally grew. I had independence. I was out of a very toxic environment and I was happy. I dated "a lot" to me at least lol it felt like a lot. Dating doesn't mean sleeping around though lol. But I had a lot of "contenders". My calendar was full every weekend, seeing people all the time. While I'd be on dates with one, I'd be getting texts and calls from other "prospects" lol. It was an exciting time! It built my self esteem. I found someone nice, and we dated exclusively for a few years, but he just didn't have his life together. He only worked part time, lived with his parents, and didn't drive, and when I was in the hospital for a surgery, I realized, this is stupid, he couldn't be there for me. What were we doing just playing house. I waited a few more months but nothing changed. I did try talking to him but he would tell me "have faith it'll work out" but after hearing that for four years and seeing NO action - like if he had at least APPLIED for a job - or at LEAST taken the written part of the driver exam, or got the book to even study to learn to drive - ANYTHING - shown me SOMETHING - I could have perservered and maybe it would be different. This was the first person I ever left voluntarily. First time I ever broke up with someone. It was hard. I cried.

For the next two years I remained single. When ready to date again I jumped back into dating. I made some mistakes chasing after people who weren't very interested in me. You know the saying, if they want to be with you, they'll make time to do it. I made other mistakes by moving to fast and pushing people away.

And then I met the man that would become my fiance now today. And everything is and was different. From the moment we met, the way he smiled at me. I knew. I can't explain how I knew, but I did. I told everyone else I had been seeing "No" when they asked to see me, even before my fiance and I became "exclusive" but the truth was, we both already were exclusive. From the first date, neither of us saw other people.

He tried to play it cool. Often times after a date, I'd ask if I could see him again next weekend. And he'd reply "I dunno about next weekend, but the weekend after that definitely" but by mid week, he'd be texting me that his schedule freed up and asking me to meet up that weekend. And so we never spent a single weekend apart. In the beginning It was never "I miss you" He would say "I think my cat misses you". It was 3 months before he told me "I love you."

Now 3 years have gone by since that day. We have lived together for about a year and a half. And he has been with me through 2 surgeries, and my Epilepsy. He is patient, loving, and kind. We rarely ever fight, but when we do, we just talk things out. He never raises his voice, much less his fist to me. He never calls me a derogatory term like bitch or stupid or whatever else I have experienced. Things have just been calm and steady right from the beginning.

Although we've gone through SO much, illness, and now world events like quarentine and covid19, we are stronger than ever.

I am happy and eternally thankful to my fiance. I have finally met the love of my life who will take care of me and love me for the rest of my life. He has already been there for me. When I had surgery, he would sleep on the floor holding my hand as I slept on the couch. I couldn't climb the stairs to get into bed. When I had my grand mal seizure he called 911. They wouldn't come into the house because of covid. He had to carry me. And I'm like twice as big as him. When you love someone you get amazing strength. Plus he is pretty strong.

We are opposites. He's a jock and into playing sports every day. If he's not playing sports he's watching sports lol.

But you know what. It's OK. I go watch him play sports, and then he comes with me to anime conventions or ren-faires. We take turns picking movies. I suffer through his action movies, and then make him watch an anime with me the next time, or etc. lol.

Relationships are about doing things together, and for the other person. We also give each other space to be independent and explore our own hobbies and interests by ourselves.

He works hard, often times 2 jobs, and he is very outgoing and makes me feel at ease. I can open up around him and be goofy and be myself.

All of these things and more are just part of the reason why I love him. Can't wait to marry this man next year. I hope to eventually adopt children. I hope they like some of my geeky hobbies, but I'm sure their dad will also want them to be active and play sports. Why not both right? :) a jock who is secretly a geek LOL.

Anyways that's it for my introduction. It's nice to meet you. I hope to make friends here on Vocal.

Tell me what's your favorite game or anime or Kdrama? :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Geeky Sweetie

I am a Geek.

I love:

Anime

Board Games

Card Games

Video Games

Cosplay

KDrama

Dolls, Toys, and Collectibles

Technology

I have a blog at www.GeekySweetie.com where I write about all of this.

I also like to write about my personal life and experiences

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.