Geeks logo

I Took a Break from TV for a Whole Month

I was noticing I was leaning far too heavily on television to fill my life. Here's what happened when I cut it out completely.

By Riley PearcePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

On the eve of April 1, 2019, my dad was driving me back to apartment. We were having a conversation about after-work activities and almost simultaneously he and I realized that we make grand plans to try new things, cook, and be active after work, but when we get home all we end up doing is watching Netflix or streaming of some other variety.

So I figured why not try and go a whole month without watching any TV streaming services.

As a side note: I did continue watching YouTube, but very rarely, and I didn't put it in the same category as Netflix and other sites because there isn't the same temptation to "binge watch" on YouTube.

I have to be honest, in the month where Game of Thrones came back, Beyonce released her documentary on Netflix, and Our Planet was causing a major emotional stir online, this was a tough month to be missing all the action.

On about day nine, I can remember feeling pulled to the TV. I was losing focus during my work, which is my habit when I start to lose focus. I take a quick brain break and watch some TV.

But not that day. It was amazing to hear the internal dialogue, wrestling with the idea of "just one show" and facing my inability to truly commit to a challenge.

It happened again a few days later when I was visiting one of my sisters. Typically when I'd go to visit her, we'd head to a grocery store and grab way too many snacks, a couple drinks, and then post up on the couch all weekend watching show after show.

So this time I had to figure something else out. Walk the dogs—that's a good idea. Maybe just ease into the day by reading my book. Catch up with her and her husband about their lives and things in the news. It felt... awkward.

The following weekend I was visiting my aunt and uncle. They live in a beautiful farm house, which just invites cozy behaviour.

When my dad and I arrived, we sat down to have dinner with everyone and quickly the conversation turned to what everyone was watching these days. I felt a bit left out and like the crazy person at the table who hadn't heard that the Earth was round! I was behind on the social currency of the time, and when I told people why I wasn't watching Netflix, I could see a bit of guilt flash over their faces.

That certainly was not my intention, but I do think I sparked some curiosity in people. What would we do if we didn't have streamable television?

So what did I discover?

For starters, I found myself snacking late at night FAR less. There was a double habit built into my after-work routine. On the way home, pick up snacks that I can wolf down while I watch my show until far too late in the evening—only to leave me feeling drowzy and lousy for the next day of work.

Speaking of work, I got a lot more of that done. Every moment when I wanted to sit down and watch TV I had to pick something else to do. There is always more work so I work a lot more. To the point where I think I can consider myself a workaholic.

Although the amount of work I was doing in my "free" time is actually not great. I was amazed at how much more productive I could be.

Now that it is May and I am free to watch TV as I please, I feel bad that I am not getting the same amount of work done. So bad that I really don't want to be watching TV anymore. I tried to watch a few episodes of something on May 1st, but it just felt like falling back into old habits and I haven't really been inspired to do it again.

I would have loved to discover a new hobby in this time, or taken the extra time to be more social. So for the upcoming month, I want to focus on that more. Now that I have reflected on the last month of TV-less time and realized I probably work too much, it is time to balance my life out.

I highly recommend taking a break from streaming services though. Maybe you'll discover a hidden talent, or reconnect with old friends, or stop an eating and TV habit like I did. The possibilities are endless if you just step away from the remote/laptop/cellphone.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Riley Pearce

A curious cancerian from the capital of Canada. My passions are science, space, fitness, food, and female health. Part-time dog walker and full-time aspiring dancer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.