Geeks logo

I'm not buying the Apple Vision Pro

I don't have $3499 USD

By Nicole CPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-65829689

Who has the money to buy the Apple Vision Pro?! And let's just say even if I did miraculously win lotto and had this money, would I still buy it? Would I?

Virtual Reality is kind of lonely, in my experience, when you're the only one who has the device and none of your friends can be bothered with it... That was me, during the pandemic with the Oculus Quest 2, and I was bored enough at that time to get it. Self-isolating and not doing much else. I killed some time with Beat Saber and felt like at least I was exercising.

I'm not a hard core gamer, but when I have an occasional day where miraculously, all my commitments and obligations have been ticked off and I actually get a 24-hour window to myself, to indulge in my introversion and either binge on Netflix or read a good book --- virtual reality and gaming would then also be one of the options to be selected for leisure time and amusement.

It's happening so much less now, especially for me this year in 2023.

My work arrangements have changed, my living situation has changed --- since the height of the pandemic. I don't know if there's anything going on in the astrology to explain all these changes, but I've been through quite the whirlwind.

Financially, yes it has felt like I am barely keeping my head above water. That there are constant "small fires" to be put out. As soon as the paycheck lands, immediately chunks of decimals need their allocations --- and then what is left over? Not much for leisure. Barely enough to be able to respond to emergency sore throats and runny noses.

I know I'm most likely not Apple's target customer, but I do still have my opinions about this. Realistically today, if I had to pay for something that was $3499 (and that is only USD, as an Australian the actual AUD amount is somewhere closer to $5000!) --- at this very moment, it's almost impossible. It's like, I need to speak to my bank for a personal loan, I can't even put it on AfterPay or ZipPay because I've already maxed out those options.

What is the experience that Apple wants people to buy into?

When I am finally able to clear my credit debts with AfterPay and ZipPay, sure I might have some left over to plan an overseas holiday --- that could be around the same price tag as the Apple Vision Pro.

And as a frontline retail worker, I would still rather physically go travelling than virtually go travelling. Plus, I already have my Oculus Quest 2...

I spent a while paying that off as an initial purchase of around $600 and that had felt like enough money for this kind of technology, back then. Just a couple of years ago actually.

There's nothing that Apple has shown me yet that makes me feel like, "Heck yeah! This is worth it!" --- I have an area of concerning mould, near the back of my house, the backyard cement area, where I have been thinking, "I need to hire someone to come power wash that" and still I have not yet organised the finances to even get that done.

Apple --- it's a lot. I don't know who has the money for this.

I've even tried NFTs! Very amateurly. I have some artworks on OpenSea that nobody's bought. Perhaps if somebody bought one of my art pieces then I could buy the Apple Vision Pro --- but could it help me to create and upload and sell?

Is it tax deductible if it does that?!

Right now, for sure, I agree with the sentiment of everyone else creating content about this launch that the price --- in this cost of living crisis?! --- is just plain unattainable.

If we need a sense of relief, of peace and contentment --- the feeling of paying my electricity bill on time does that for me in 2023.

gaming
1

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    🫵🏾💯🫶🏾📝 Great Article‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.