Geeks logo

"Buy Me A Coffee"

Why I started a "Buy Me A Coffee"

By Ms Tonya ProductionsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Thank you everyone for taking time to understand why I started buy me a coffee. I'm a creator as some of you may know and some of you may know me for my dancing. Artists were hit pretty hard by COVID-19 and unfortunately we are looked at as last on the list. I live in New York City and the studios and theaters have been shut down since March 2020. It is now September 2020 the start of the dance season and dance studios and theaters are still closed. Many dance studios are providing livestreaming but my heart was not in livestreaming. Dancing allows us to be connected to each other. To create the same energy through movement in the same room. It is a different feeling trying to teach livestream. I admit I did do it, but my heart was not there. Yes, there is a great deal of money to be made for those who choose that route online, but it was not for me.

I had to really analyze what I really want. What I really want is to do a show. I love being the director of dance shows! The situation has changed though, I know longer have a theater to perform in, actors can't rehearse within six feet of each other, and all the other COVID-19 post regulations that are being set into place. How can I still deliver my message? How can I create a show and deliver a message to humanity? Podcast!

I will not lie, I was given many hints to start a podcast, but I delayed it due to fear. Then I kept getting signs to do it and I finally did it. I loved it! I was able to create a show directly in your mind! What a wonderful concept! Why didn't I start sooner? Why am I so slow to learn? I said these things to myself. Then I quickly got over myself and kept it moving. Thus you see the birth of the podcast "Keepin It Factual" a one woman show were I take on the role of a Lady, a Queen, an Empress, and a Goddess. The goal is to inspire the change in our mindset to change our reality. I know it is possible because it happened to me! You can hear more of my story on the podcast (links available through my website below). So Why Buy Me A Coffee Then?

I still wanted to produce a visual show with the idea of breaking people's perception, so the Truth can be seen. As an artist we do a great deal of gigs pro bono, but I wanted to be able to support these artists by paying them for their story. I also wanted to help promote small businesses along with artists and creators along the way. This came the Buy Me A Coffee. I like the idea of Buy Me A Coffee because it is so much more personal and creative! It just spoke to me. Through this platform I'm able to raise funds to pay artists and promote small businesses through "Keepin It Factual" podcast (small businesses/creators/artists) and through a new mini series "When Artists Speak" (artists). I discuss more of this mini series in a different post :-)

Producing a mini series cost money and now with new regulations other factors have to be considered for everyone's safety. When you purchase a membership or simply do a one time support of "Buying Me A Coffee" you are supporting a community of Artists in NYC and small businesses! I love the idea that I can help others along my journey.

I appreciate your support and for buying me a coffee. I look forward to buying you a coffee one day!

P.S. the community is new but it is growing with so much love!

With Love,

Ms. Tonya

"There's a Thin Line Between Perception and Truth"- Ms. Tonya

www.mstonya.com (don't forget to subscribe/follow on your listening platforms)

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.