Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: July 2021

Three interesting picks for your summer

By SamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m a fan of reading all sorts of different types of books, and this week I got myself into just that. One mystery, one horror manga, one children’s nonfiction book. I’m pretty proud of the choices this month, and I think they’re choices you wouldn’t see often. Check out the three picks below.

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

It’s always interesting to read a book from a different perspective, and Elizabeth is Missing delivered on that for me in spades. This is the story of an elderly Englishwoman with dementia. It’s about a missing sister and a missing friend, about past and present, and all the uncertainty of the future. Our protagonist, Maud, is likeable and one of the most sympathetic characters I’ve read in a while.

What I think makes this a story worth the read is how well the dementia is written. It was a believable character, and Maud’s struggle is one I’ve seen from my own grandmother. It felt honest and raw, and it made the mystery all the better. You’re just as confused as Maud, and you have to stay in her mind the whole time while everything unravels. It’s an amazing journey, and the way everything came together made for a satisfying conclusion.

Smashed by Junji Ito

I’m big into anime and manga, so it was only a matter of time before I finally got my hands on Ito’s work. For anyone unfamiliar with Junji Ito, he’s known for frightening imagery and creepy stories. Horror is a tricky genre for me, I like horror movies and books, even though they scare the hell out of me. There’s something psychologically interesting about the genre that I love analyzing and thinking about, and I’d never read a horror manga before this. I expected this one to get stuck in my head, especially with manga offering up visuals to go with the writing.

I can safely tell you that if you want to read something scary, you should really check it out. Even if you have a tiny interest in the horror genre, Ito is someone you need to investigate. This is a collection of stories, and each one is incredibly unique, playing on all sorts of different fears. For me, it was the first story that hit the hardest. One of the panels is pretty much seared into my brain at this point. It’s some of the most impressive art I’ve seen, and while I lost a bit of sleep over it, I’d say it was worth the read.

Finding Gobi by Dion Leonard

Here’s a pro tip from me. Even if you’re an adult, it’s rewarding to read books for kids. Finding Gobi tells the story of the author meeting a little stray dog while running a race across the Gobi Desert. He names her Gobi, after the desert, and the two end up running together and forming a bond.

What’s pretty cool about this one is that it’s a book for young readers adapted from an adult book. I’ll definitely get around to reading that one, and when I do I’ll be sure to give it another review here. For the time being, this version was a great and quick read.

It was so heartfelt and gripping. I was invested from the start. That it’s a true story makes it all the more compelling. You’ll fall in love with the characters and won’t be able to stop until you reach the end, I guarantee it. The writing was clear without being too “dumbed down” for kids, and it told the story in a concise way that works for all ages.

I think it’s safe to say at least one of these will catch a curious reader’s eye, and I definitely encourage going off your usual reading habits to try one. It cleanses the palette to read all kinds of things, so give one of these a go and see how it works out. Happy reading!

review
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.