Geeks logo

Baby Boomer favorites: Apple Jax-Jacks and the Roadrunner

A fond memory of a breakfast cereal and a cartoon character will always be with me.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

If I walk into a room and cannot recall why, my first born will remind me that I can remember what I was wearing at 7:00 PM on June 14 1968 and give him details of a conversation I had and all the people involved. I know other baby boomers can relate as our long term memories are becoming sharper, while short term recall can sometimes be frustrating. This morning at 5:50 AM a fond memory of one of my favorite cereals came flooding back. I told my children I would write about these random special moments rather than give them the details each time.

I was about to make my morning coffee and as I walked into the kitchen I noticed a box of Apple Jacks on top of the fridge. I had been looking at this cereal for 5 days but on this morning I went back to my childhood. I can recall watching The Roadrunner Show which came on at either 12:30 or 1 PM on Saturday afternoons. I watched a commercial for this cereal called Apple Jax although I can find no record of the spelling. The younger folk don’t know about the name change. I decided I would like to try this cereal and maybe 10 minutes later my mother decided to go to the local Minute Market and I tagged along. I got my first box of Apple Jax and I loved them.

Apple Jacks were invented as Apple O's" in 1965 by college intern William Thilly. In 1971 the name was changed to "Apple Jax" and Apple Jacks by advertisers. This would have been about the time I purchased them because I remember them being a new brand. The product was described by Kellogg's as a "crunchy, sweetened multi-grain cereal with apple and cinnamon." Today Apple Jacks is one of the top four cereal brands sold in stores and is marketed mainly on the Kellogg's internet platform.

My memory is somewhat faulty however because as I poured my cereal this morning along with my coffee the Apple Jax song came to mind. I’m singing as I’m pouring :

“A is for apple, J is for Jacks, Cinnamon-toasty Apple Jacks! You need a complete breakfast, that’s a fact. Start it off with Apple Jacks. Apple Jacks! Apple Jacks! Ten vitamins and minerals-that’s what it packs. Apple-tasty, crunchy, too! Kellogg’s Apple Jacks!”

I found out however that the song I’m remembering did not come along until the 1980’s. This means I learned it while watching cartoons with my firstborn who came long in 1981. Even so I felt like a kid again this morning as I was eating breakfast and signing the Apple Jacks toon. I find that reflecting on fond childhood memories is a wonderful way to remain young at heart.

As I am typing this the Road Runner theme song came flooding back.

If you're on a highway and Road Runner goes beep beep.

Just step aside or you might end up in a heap.

Road Runner, Road Runner runs down the road all day.

Even the coyote can't make him change his ways.

Road Runner, (beep beep) the coyote's after you.

Road Runner, (beep beep) if he catches you you're through.

Road Runner, (beep beep) the coyote's after you.

Road Runner, (beep beep)if he catches you you're through.

That coyote is really a crazy clown,

When will he learn that he never can mow him down?

Poor little Road Runner never bothers anyone,

Just runnin' down the road's his idea of having fun.

For a hose who did not know, yes The Roadrunner had his own separate cartoon. Today there are clips of episodes from that show on Boomerang and METV in conjunction with Bugs Bunny. Now my tale is done and it’s time for another cup of coffee “ Beep Beep”.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.