Geeks logo

An Unexpected Alliance

303-305 Of the Mini-Series

By Elijah TaylorPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
https://www.deviantart.com/spiritofdarkness/art/Hidden-Light-622843428

FADE IN: NEW APARTMENT SHARED WITH SELINA

{TWO YEARS AGO}: LEAGUE HQ: 530 NTH PARK AVE APT 4A NEW YORK, NY 10065

{-$7,067,409.18}

Ethan has just gotten back with their latest score; a bag of watches, jewelry, and some high-end hand-bags for his cousin, Selina

ETHAN KYLE {-$31,064.21}

“Finally! Should be able to fetch a pretty penny with this score!”

POSION IVY

“Far better than your last one. Set the bags down over there, after the last score, you folks seem to be doing pretty well off.”

ETHAN

“And who are you?”

POSION IVY {-$175,000.12}

“Someone who you and your friend, go way back with. She owes me, and that extends to you.”

She reaches her palm out summoning various vines that stretch gripping the satchel filled with loot

Pulling it from his arm and enthralling him

ETHAN

“Nice tricks. But, no such luck.”

He grips the satchel tightly close to him and darts out the door

Before he is able to make it a few feet, the strange guest summons more vines in order to trip and trap Ethan

POSION IVY

“Please, stay. I insist...”

MEANWHILE AT THE BAT CAVE: {TWO YEARS AGO}

ELASTIC GIRL

“What happened to my necklace? I set it right here?!”

SELINA KYLE {-$10,307.48}

“Just perusing through town. Taking what I like, a girl’s gotta eat.”

ROBIN

“And you have quite an appetite rumor has it.”

She darts out of the window and lands to safety

ELASTIC GIRL

“Great. We have another break in in less than a week.”

ROBIN

“I can set up a surveillance system, maybe upgrade the HQ as best I can.”

JASON

“Orrr…we could go straight to the source.”

He reveals a tracker he planted on Selina before she darted

SELINA’S LAIR

ETHAN KYLE

“Glad to see that you have found a way to sustain our ever-growing debt.”

SELINA

“You know that we’ll never truly be free from The League. They’ll always have a watch on us.”

ETHAN

“Maybe…either way fifty thousand is a lot of money.”

ETHAN LEAVES TO LOOK AT NEW PROPERTY

ROBIN, ELASTIC GIRL, AND JASON BREAK INTO SELINA’S

ROBIN

“Expensive apartment for a high-end thief.”

SELINA

“I like to think of myself as a businesswoman.”

JASON

“That necklace?”

SELINA

“Worth at least $17,000 on the market.”

ELASTIC GIRL

“I’m still gonna need it back.”

SELINA

“The League has a better offer. I sell them a percentage of what I have earned and they give us property discounts.”

ROBIN

“That’s…actually really smart.”

JASON

“Either way, you have to stop targeting us.”

SELINA

“Something tells me you aren’t the only one in the mix…”

Rapid beeping is heard and Robin rushes Selina out of the window to safety

Elastic Girl does the same to Jason

The apartment scorches and seers from the heat from the new bombs

ROBIN

“You must have really pissed people off.”

SELINA

“That’s an understatement…”

{PRESENT DAY}: EARL’S CAFÉ {-$29,032.09}

Jason is at the store getting party supplies for the upcoming opening of the HQ

POSION IVY

“Hi, need help?”

JASON

“What do you mean?”

POSION IVY

“I mean you look lost.”

She enchants Jason and takes him back to Slade’s

POSION IVY (CON’D)

“I don’t know why on Earth you’re still acting like you’re allies. He’s too emotional and loyal to the Titans.”

SLADE

“Give it time. I feel progress has been made and that he will see things our way, in due time.”

POSION IVY

“And then what? He’s going to stay in the guest room and go on missions with the Titans? He’s not just going to be a roommate.”

SLADE

“Actually…that might be perfect. We can keep an eye on him and the Titans at the same time.”

POSION IVY

“And he’s supposed to be fine with being spied on?”

SLADE

“Not if it’s meant as a balance of power; a peaceful act if you will.”

POSION IVY

“One thing goes wrong, and I’ll kill him myself, and then you. Got it?”

SLADE

“I owe you my life. I will not disappoint my sire.”

He mimics her power and summons vines to the window allowing Poison Ivy to retreat Jason knocks on the slightly open office door

JASON

“Hey, sorry to interrupt, but white or red?”

SLADE

“White. Goes better with the carpet.”

JASON

“What’s your plan exactly?”

SLADE

“To increase profitability of the unit in order to sustain the League’s funds.”

JASON

“That was blunt.”

SLADE

“What can I say, I guess your ‘good looks’ are just too much for me to resist.”

JASON (QUIETLY)

“Shot number three, noted.”

Several hours go by as the two are discussing various topics

ETHAN

“…and I’ve always wanted to know what it’s like to have someone that I can talk to about other things and not just assassin targets. You have no idea how rough finding good property in New York has been on top of replacing everything we lost in the blast.”

JASON

“Wow. I am way less intimidated by you than I was before.”

ETHAN

“Shut up.”

He lightly hits Jason

Jason instinctively counters

Ethan grabs Jason by the throat and throws him behind him on the couch

Jason lands on his feet and rolls to the side

Ethan lets Poison Ivy’s influence over him take hold as the plants in the room grow their roots and extend all over Ethan’s body, encasing him in bark

Jason punches Slade’s rib only to have his hand scratched by the roughness of the bark

Slade backhands Jason back on to the couch

He quickly realizes the intensity and calms down; the vines retreat and the plants shrink slightly in size

Slade faints; drained and Jason catches him and tucks him in

JASON (OVER THE PHONE)

“I don’t know, it felt like a regular sparring session, like balanced but then he just went OP and got all Earthy.”

ROBIN (OVER THE PHONE)

“Define ‘Earthy’.

JASON

“He had bark for skin and he hit like a meta-human.”

ROBIN (OVER THE PHONE)

“Yeah. We just ran into one of those with fire. Don’t let him out of your sight, if we can get one on our side, it may turn the tide in our favor…”

END CREDITS

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Taylor

I guess I just took the term, "Gay Rights" to a whole other level.

https://www.paypal.me/ETaylor220

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.