Geeks logo

An Unconventional Segue

If You Like Star Wars, You Should Watch the Karate Kid Movies. Yes, all of them.

By Mark LeasurePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
An Unconventional Segue
Photo by Mahmoud Fawzy on Unsplash

Star Wars. Countless fans are obsessed with it. Countless others will never give it a chance. This is for the former. A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, George Lucas created Star Wars, and the world has never been the same. I wasn't around for the original trilogy. I was born in '92, so I just happened to be the perfect age when the prequels came out. They get a lot of hate but I love them, they introduced me to Star Wars, they introduced so much lore and background, and the lightsaber duels are just absolutely perfect. I'm not here to discuss trilogies though, that's a whole other topic that divides an entire fanbase. No, I will stay away from that for now, today I'm here to talk about Star Wars in it's entirety, and how, if you love it, you will probably love the The Karate Kid franchise. I know it seems kind of weird but hear me out.

They are both from the same generation of movie magic. The late 1970's through the 1980's have an unmistakable vibe when it comes to movies. You know the characters, the songs, and you can probably quote at least one line from most movies of this era without ever seeing them. It feels like home. I won't say it's the best era, but it's pretty damn close. Now, if you were around for the original trilogy then you're probably at least familiar with the first Karate Kid movie. It's a timeless classic. In fact most people have probably seen it. If not, no judgement here, I'm actually a recent fan. I heard about Cobra Kai on Netflix and decided to watch all of the movies first. I was not disappointed. If you have seen the first film, and enjoyed it, I think it's time to watch the rest, especially if you're a Star Wars fan.

The lore runs deep. There's a Star Wars extended universe and a Karate Kid extended universe. Star Wars may have a lot more content as far as that goes, but Karate Kid has something it doesn't. Continuity. Especially with Cobra Kai, the people in charge of that must know all there is to know about the Karate Kid world. It goes deep. As I'm writing this, in the next season they will be bringing back a villain from the third movie. Most people check out after the second movie, if they even get that far. I admit, it's cheesy. All four movies are, but mostly in a good way.

Mr. Miyagi and Yoda have a lot in common. They are both martial arts masters, very wise, have lost nearly everything, aging, both take on a pupil that they train to become much better than they should be by all rights. I mean let's face it, Daniel and Luke both accomplish pretty remarkable things in a very short amount of time. None of which would have been possible if not for their old quirky masters. Occasionally, we all need to see some great content featuring an old man training a kid to beat the hell out of his enemies. It's wholesome.

Speaking of wholesome, both are family movie night appropriate. Grab some popcorn and some carbonated beverages and gather around. If you're here because you're a Star Wars fan, I'm assuming you know that it's not just a movie franchise, but a cinematic adventure. Well, the same can be said for the Karate Kid franchise. They are just feel good, cheesy, fun, memory making films.

Look, I'm not saying all four of these films are masterpieces, because they're not. They're very enjoyable, and I don't think you'll regret watching them. The quality does get worse as you go but its always campy and fun. Never unwatchable. Which really describes the Star Wars franchise as well. I love both worlds, and I think you will too. So check them out, and then go check out Cobra Kai on Netflix, even if you find the films sub par it's worth it to get to the show and recognize all the easter eggs.

entertainment
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.