Geeks logo

A Real, Impossible Dream

From Critic to Creator

By Malik LaFonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As humans we are wired for storytelling. Some people enjoy stories,others tell stories.There are several ways we tell these stories.Two of the most popular methods are:digital media and books.Lets discuss the latter.

A book is a medium for recording information in the form of writing or images, typically composed of many pages bound together and protected by a cover. There are novels,short stories,and magazines. These are just a few of the different formats of reading materials.

One type of book that stands out from all the others are comic books. Comic books, also called comic magazine or simply comic, is a publication that consists of comics art in the form of sequential juxtaposed panels that represent individual scenes. Comics are a form of storytelling that has captured the hearts of kids and adults.

The comics that many grew up reading has rapidly evolved over the years.There are toys,TV shows, and Halloween costumes. You can even see your favorite superheroes and villains on the big screen.Two of the most popular franchises are the Marvel Cinematic Universe(MCU),and the DC Extended Universe(DCEU).

The DC universe and the marvel universe have been around for a long time.Both of them have created thousands of the superheroes and villains we know and love.The have both produced amazing comics and stunning movies and TV shows.

While both of these franchises have done amazing things I believe I could excel and be on par with their level of storytelling.I know that is a bold statement to claim.I also know that it sounds impossible.However looking back at our history the impossible has been done before..

When I was younger I never had a good opinion about anything.I believed the shows I watched contained many flaws.I would go on about all the things they did wrong.I complained about the actors and their lines. I even complained about the extras in the background.Finally one day my mom said "If they're doing such a bad job, why don't you do better."

At first that challenge didn't mean anything to me.However as I got older the idea of writing and the art of film making became something fascinating .Something I was passionate about.I was even passionate enough to say something as crazy as:" I can make a universe filled with heroes and villains, just like Marvel and DC.

I'm not crazy. I realize that this is an easy thing to do. Marvel has been around way before I was even born,being created in 1939 .This isn't something that can grow in a year.This is a project that will take a lifetime.Even that might not be enough time to make an impact. That is why it's so important that this idea has a group of people behind it. To make sure the stories don't stop.It needs stories and characters that touch the people that hear them.This project needs a loyal fan-base. People that can hold the idea up and not let it fall.

These days things are different from when other comics were trying to get their start.While it still is challenging to gather support for your idea ,there are ways to do it.Stories can be posted on many sites and apps .Like the many sites for different Webtoons. There are also tools like Memberful,that allows you to earn revenue from your audience.

For a long time I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life.All I knew was that everyone was moving on with their life.While I was stuck in the same place.My life was going nowhere fast.It took a long time for me to discover who I am.I can now say it with confidence.I am a storyteller.

comics
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.