Geeks logo

91 Thoughts I Had During the Golden Globes

They were...average?

By SamPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1
Tom Hanks is a beacon of loveliness

1. I’m gonna level with you all: Everytime I see Brad Pitt I will gasp because I love him and you can’t stop me.

2. Where is Ricky’s tie? Oh this is uncomfortable.

3. As expected, it was two minutes and I gasped at Brad Pitt.

4. Al Pacino looks lost.

5. This is so uncomfortable when they cut to everyone’s faces.

6. TOM HANKS’ FACE SENT JUST MADE ME SPIT OUT MY WATER!!!!!

7. That was savage, I don’t know what to say.

8. LOOK IT’S PAUL RUDD!

9. I’m still kind of reeling from Ricky Gervais, that was cringeworthy and just so so savage.

10. Jennifer Aniston keeps holding her stomach is she okay?

11. I’m still thinking about Tom Hanks’ face at the start of the show.

12. Wow, they’re having so many teleprompter reading problems, why are the Golden Globes always a mess.

13. Stellan Skarsgard is a little off the wall right now, these awards are A MESS.

14. So the Succession cast getting onto the stage gave us: a bad camera angle, a man almost falling down the stairs…

15. I’m sorry The Irishman is a tale of bullshit and lies. God I hate this boring movie. I HATE THE IRISHMAN. DO YOU HEAR ME SCORSESE?

16. IT’S JODIE COMER!!!

17. So I haven’t seen Parasite yet, but let me tell you: Bless director Bong Joon Ho. I’ve seen a good chunk of his movies and he has never ever disappointed me. I love him so much and he’s so talented. His speech was excellent and he deserves every acclaim that comes his way. Bless you Bong Joon Ho.

18. Kate McKinnon is great. I love brave gays. You really can’t take away what she’s done for the LGBT community

19. Seeing Obama in that Ellen reel made me miss him. Obama please come back.

20. Ellen is hilarious, this speech is fantastic.

21. JASON MOMOA IS IN A TANK TOP HAHAHA.

22. Al Pacino randomly put on his sunglasses when the camera wasn’t on him, so now he looks like he’s sleeping.

23. Ewan McGregor is standing awkwardly and I live for it.

24. I love Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood. I’m happy it won screenplay. I love love love this movie.

25. I’m so happy for Missing Link! The animation on this movie is lovely and unique.

26. LOOK AT LEO AND BRAD. LOOK AT BRAD. JUST LOOK AT HIM!!!! I’m not ashamed of this passion.

27. Marriage Story was good, I think Laura Dern was great in this movie, she really deserved it.

28. I love Nick and Priyanka, and I’m so impressed at how Nick married so high out of his league.

29. Every time Chris Evans is on screen, I just keep saying “He’s so hot.”

30. So far these awards have been kind of underwhelming, No big upsets, nothing too unexpected. This is all very standard and kind of monotone.

31. Why does the camera only pan to Tom Hanks when he’s doing funny faces? Poor guy can’t catch a break.

32. When Ansel Elgort showed up I started singing his song “Thief” and if you don’t know that song I highly recommend you check it out, it’s funny to hear the Fault in Our Stars guy try to be sexy.

33. Damn, Jason Momoa put his coat back on. Coward.

34. In scrolling through Twitter during this award show, it’s painfully apparent that the Tom Hanks Face will be the best thing about this award show.

35. JODIE. COMER. IS. THE. BEST.

36. The puffy sleeve is in this Golden Globe season? This is a quite a strange phenomenon.

37. Olivia Coleman has the most delightful voice. She always gives the most delightful and fun speeches.

38. I saw the green of Charlize Theron’s dress and I knew I would love it. I love green dresses.

39. Tom Hanks is making the absolute best faces tonight. He is the MVP of the Golden Globes.

40. Tom Hanks is a gem of the industry and you can’t convince me otherwise.

41. Forrest Gump is such AN AMAZING MOVIE!! This isn’t a revolutionary opinion, but it’s just so good. Saving Private Ryan is stellar. The Green Mile is amazing. So many of his movies are amazing. Tom Hanks is

42. “THERE YOU GO KATHY!!” I totally lost it.

43. Tom Hanks is a national treasure. I’m tearing up. We love Tom Hanks.

44. Charlize with her face in her hands crouching to the ground will be a reaction gif as well.

45. As expected, Tom Hanks is the best part of this award show.

46. I’m convinced Martin Scorsese isn’t quite paying attention, he’s just randomly smiling and giving thumbs up to people.

47. Literally if any other actor was going off like this I’d be disinterested but Tom Hanks can murder someone in front of me and I wouldn’t bat an eye.

48. Watching Ricky slowly walk off stage every time makes me giggle.

49. Wow I wasn’t expecting Sam Mendes to win. I literally thought that was the name of a singer, or maybe I’m just thinking of Shawn Mendes.

50. Cate Blanchett can do anything and I will follow her. I love her with my whole heart. I like her sleeves.

51. I’ve said it before an I’ll say it again. Joker had the most incredible soundtrack all year.

52. Michelle Williams is a good actress I’m sure, but I have to acknowledge the elephant in the room. What is that blue thing on her dress?

53. Tiffany Haddish is funny. The way she just announced Chernobyl as the winner like it was a super energetic comedy.

54. I really need to watch Chernobyl ASAP.

55. Hildur Gudnadottir did a fantastic job with this score, and she was the best part of Joker. I am so happy about this award, so happy that a female composer won, and her outfit is amazing!!!!! Hildur I love you!

56. Well that’s really all I care about I can go to bed.

57. OH WAIT NO BRAD JUST WON OMG THE OTHER WON I CARED ABOUT. YES GO BRAD YOU WERE THE BEST PART OF ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD.

58. Did he just call Leo LDC? I love this friendship.

59. I’ll say it again, I love Brad Pitt.

60. That Supporting Actor category is great because I saw The Irishman lose twice.

61. I wish little Roman from Jojo Rabbit won, I’d love for this small boy to smite the competition.

62. However, seeing Elton John so excited about Taron Edgerton winning made my heart happy.

63. Everyone Chris Evans is so darn handsome.

64. Awkwafina! Yes! She looks fantastic and she’s amazing and funny and a true delight! I love seeing Awkwafina win things!

65. I didn’t know A24 did The Farewell. They’re an amazing studio. Yay Awkwafina!

66. I’ve never been less interested in a movie than I am in Two Popes.

67. Will and Pierce together are so odd it’s funny.

68. WILL IS SO EXTRA WITH PIERCE WHY IS THIS SO FUNNY.

69. Yay OUATIH!!! I’m abbreviating the Tarantino movie because I can’t keep typing that out.

70. I just saw someone who I thought was Halsey and I’m so sad that it isn’t Halsey. I like Halsey.

71. Do we only have one category left?

72. Wait a minute, isn’t there always an In Memoriam segment? Did they seriously not do it this year?

73. Joaquin is very strange, I totally expected this speech to be offbeat like this. To be fair, I was a little conflicted about the movie, he was great.

74. Joaquin, what do you mean by “rock the boat”?

75. Is he going to give us a speech about going vegan or something?

76. I’m not surprised they played the music over him.

77. Please let this end. I’m tired and I have work tomorrow.

78. Why did this award show feel so dry? There were lots of things I enjoyed, but I wasn’t exactly hyped about anything.

79. Thank God the commercials are over.

80. It’s Rami Malek!

81. I’ve genuinely never heard of Judy before this very moment.

82. WAIT I JUST REALIZED WE’RE STILL NOT AT THE BEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA OR BEST DRAMA MOVIE. PLEASE LET ME SLEEP.

83. Why are we running so late?

84. The music did not come soon enough, let’s move it.

85. Renee get off the stage.

86. RICKY REALLY JUST SAID “KILL ME”. OH MY GOD THAT WEINSTEIN JOKE MADE ME WANT TO CURL UP AND DIE.

87. Hasn’t 1917 only been out for about two weeks? Who has seen it yet?

88. IT ISN’T EVEN OUT YET?

89. Thank God, it’s over. I can sleep now.

90. I sincerely don’t know what to make of Ricky Gervais tonight, some of his jokes were good, but yikes, I was cringing a lot.

91. I’m so excited to sleep everyone. Good night.

tv
1

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.