Geeks logo

9 June 1963: Johnny Depp Was Born

The Hollywood Legend turns 56

By Annie KapurPublished 5 years ago 11 min read
1

Born on the 9th of June, 1963 Johnny Depp is a native of Kentucky, having grown up elsewhere in the United States. He is quite possibly one of the most versatile actors of the 20th and 21st Century; he always begs you to question with his changing appearance on roles if you actually know what he really looks like.

From his first roles in A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) all the way to him portraying Grindelwald in the modern day, I want to say that Johnny Depp has had a profound impact on the way we watch movies and what we expect from actors. He is known for portraying the difficult and complex characters and no two roles are ever the same for him.

I truly believe that Johnny Depp has made it to the status of a great actor; he is quite possibly one of the best American Actors I've ever seen. He has a great filmography and has portrayed many different characters in many different films aimed at many different audiences. From the murdering barber, to the gangster, to the children's book character to a director in a biopic—Johnny Depp has done it all and so much more. Each time, he outdoes himself and that's what makes him so brilliant.

What we're going to do is countdown from ten to one what I think are the best roles portrayed by Johnny Depp, and what I love about them. There will also be more mentions because of the fact I recently found out I'd seen the entirety of his filmography and wanted to make sure I was getting everything I wanted into this article. Let us explore the top ten roles of the brilliant and legendary Johnny Depp.

10. Donnie Brasco in 'Donnie Brasco' (1997)

"Forget about it is like if you agree with someone, you know, like Raquel Welch is one great piece of ass, forget about it. But then, if you disagree, like A Lincoln is better than a Cadillac? Forget about it!"

One of his funniest, but also his most complex roles of the 1990s, Johnny Depp portrays "Donnie Brasco" an alias of Joseph Pistone, an undercover cop. Yes, you read that correctly. Johnny Depp had to portray a man who was undercover as another man. He did it brilliantly and if you ever watch this film (or have seen it already)—you will see the sheer amount of fluidity Depp has with this role. It's amazing and I definitely thought it deserved a space on the top ten.

9. Grindelwald in 'Fantastic Beasts (1 and 2)' (2016-Present)

"We only want to help you. You're so very, very far from home. Far away from everything you love. Everything that was comfortable. I would never see you harmed, ever. It is not your fault that your sister is an Auror. I wish you were working with me now. Towards a world where we wizards are free to live openly, and to love freely."

If you don't like the casting of Johnny Depp in this role, I really don't care. We're here to celebrate Johnny Depp and if JK Rowling thought he was good enough then he's good enough. His portrayal of Grindelwald is brilliant because he's not too evil—it's not over the top but it's just enough to make you believe that he is the villain. There's something very realistic about the villainy even though it's set in the magic world and that's something that I can only see Johnny Depp being able to do.

8. Willy Wonka in 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory' (2005)

"The waterfall is most important. Mixes the chocolate. Churns it up, makes it light and frothy. By the way, no other factory in the world mixes its chocolate by waterfall, my dear children, and you can take that to the bank."

Okay, this one is more of a personal addition because well, this film was released when I was nine years' old and I totally remember seeing the merchandise and DVDs everywhere when it came out. I actually got a special edition of the DVD and lord knows where it is now. It was such a good kids' film that I can't possibly forget how entirely complex the role of Willy Wonka was for Johnny Depp. He looks like he really put maximum effort in—Roald Dahl would've been proud.

7. Captain Jack Sparrow in 'Pirates of the Caribbean' (2003-2017)

I'm dishonest, and a dishonest man you can always trust to be dishonest. Honestly. It's the honest ones you want to watch out for, because you can never predict when they're going to do something incredibly... stupid.

These films are some of the blessings of my childhood and they are some of the most brilliant films post-Disney Renaissance. I love these films because they are the rare adventure films that you get that aren't just for children—they are just so damn enjoyable for everyone. The best thing about the films without a shadow of a doubt was Captain Jack Sparrow and I wager you to tell me if you could possibly see anyone else portraying that character. I didn't think so.

6. Edward Scissorhands in 'Edward Scissorhands' (1990)

"I am not complete."

I know it's a short quotation, but it's my favourite line from the whole film and it means a lot to me. I watched this film a while back now after it came on television. This is possibly one of Johnny Depp's most beloved roles and there is a clear reason why. The complexity of playing this outcasted stranger who scares people but is actually really nice and kind must have been a challenge for a young Johnny Depp. It was a brilliant opportunity to show what he could do. And he did it; he showed you exactly what he could do. He did it brilliantly.

5. Raoul Duke in 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' (1998)

"We had two bags of grass, seventy-five pellets of mescaline, five sheets of high-powered blotter acid, a saltshaker half-full of cocaine, and a whole galaxy of multi-colored uppers, downers, screamers, laughers... Also, a quart of tequila, a quart of rum, a case of beer, a pint of raw ether, and two dozen amyls. Not that we needed all that for the trip, but once you get locked into a serious drug collection, the tendency is to push it as far as you can. The only thing that really worried me was the ether. There is nothing in the world more helpless and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of an ether binge, and I knew we'd get into that rotten stuff pretty soon."

A great film that I have seen countless times, Johnny Depp takes to the road in this drug-fuelled semi-biopic based on the autobiographical novel by Hunter S. Thompson, one of the greatest journalists ever and the creator of Gonzo Journalism. The film sees Johnny Depp as the main character who is on his way to the motorcycle race in Las Vegas, but gets into drug hazes on the way that produce some horrifying side effects. It's a brilliant depiction of the book and I think it really is a product of its time. It would not have been even close to the same without Johnny Depp and Benicio Del Toro—they are brilliant together.

4. Benjamin Barker/Sweeney Todd in 'Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street' (2007)

"He recognized me from the old days. Tried to blackmail me. Half me earnings."

Fun fact: when I was at my cousin's wedding many years ago, I took a copy of Rolling Stone Magazine with me which was covering the press for Sweeney Todd and had "Johnny Sings" on the front cover. The reason I remember this is because it was an Indian wedding and they last forever, so I must have read the interview with Johnny Depp they did about five or six times over in the course of a few days. I noted when it came out and promptly watched it after it was away from cinemas (you see, I was only about 11 or 12 at the time and the film was an 18—I wouldn't be able to get into the cinema to see it). But, I love the film and have watched it many times since. It is so good and Johnny Depp makes a perfect Sweeney Todd!

3. John Dillinger in 'Public Enemies' (2009)

"I was raised on a farm in Moooresville, Indiana. My mama died when I was three, my daddy beat the hell out of me cause he didn't know no better way to raise me. I like baseball, movies, good clothes, fast cars, whiskey, and you... what else you need to know?"

I watched this film in the cinema and I remember it very well because my parents complained that it was an awful movie. I loved it though and I watched it a few times afterwards. I think really, this movie proves that there is no role that is out of reach for Johnny Depp. He doesn't always portray the weirdo—in this film he actually plays a real person in a very real situation and it's not weird or strange; it is quite scary to imagine it actually happened though. It is one of his most complex and brilliant roles and I love the film so much.

2. J.M Barrie in 'Finding Neverland' (2004)

"When I think of your mother, I will always remember how happy she looked, sitting there in the parlor watching a play about her family, about her boys that never grew up. She went to Neverland. And you can visit her any time you like if you just go there yourself."

My favourite childhood novel was Peter Pan by JM Barrie, I love Michael Jackson—whom throughout childhood I believed was the real life Peter Pan, so why the hell would this movie not be on the list? Peter Pan was one of the greatest literary creations in history and he was created by JM Barrie—this entire movie is Johnny Depp portraying the man who made the boy who never grew up. It is a brilliantly dramatic and emotional movie—it is absolutely moving and Johnny Depp portrays the author perfectly. This film actually comes on TV every now and again if you live in England, like me.

More Mentions!

Here are some more of Johnny Depp's most beloved characters...

The Mad Hatter in 'Alice in Wonderland' (2010)

"What a regrettably large head you have. I would very much like to hat it. I used to hat The White Queen, you know. Her head was so small."

Ichabod Crane in 'Sleepy Hollow' (1999)

"I beg pardon. But why am I the only one who can see that to solve crimes, we must use our brains, assisted by reason, using up-to-date scientific techniques?"

Mort Rainey in 'Secret Window' (2004)

"I know I can do it," Todd Downey said, helping himself to another ear of corn from the steaming bowl. "I'm sure that in time, every bit of her will be gone and her death will be a mystery... even to me."

George Jung in 'Blow' (2001)

"So in the end, was it worth it? Jesus Christ. How irreparably changed my life has become. It's always the last day of summer and I've been left out in the cold with no door to get back in. I'll grant you I've had more than my share of poignant moments. Life passes most people by while they're making grand plans for it. Throughout my lifetime, I've left pieces of my heart here and there. And now, there's almost not enough to stay alive. But I force a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent. There are no more white horses or pretty ladies at my door."

Frederick Abberline in 'From Hell' (2001)

"No one in Whitechapel, no matter what their trade, could afford grapes. Obviously, they were given to her by the killer. It follows that he must be someone with money."

1. Edward 'Ed' D. Wood Jr. in 'Ed Wood' (1994)

"Why, if I had half a chance, I could make an entire movie using this stock footage. The story opens on these mysterious explosions. Nobody knows what's causing them, but it's upsetting all the buffalo. So, the military are called in to solve the mystery."

I have probably seen this film the most out of the entire list because it's just so damn good. It is my favourite Johnny Depp movie ever because of the fact he looks so comfortable in the role. Ed Wood was a very complex man and it really looks like Johnny Depp did some real studying of his character before he went into the role—and it turned out to be worth it. His portrayal of the man who is called "the worst director in all of film history" (which I feel is harsh, he was avant garde, not bad per se) was awe-inspiring. I would actually say that this film is ironically better than any film Ed Wood ever made himself. Sorry mate, but it is.

Conclusion

Johnny Depp is one of America's most versatile actors. He's brilliant and what he does and you can tell he really puts everything into a role. He is an amazing actor and is able to portray a number of different characters, those of which are the most complex in the film. When he portrays a character, you can't see anyone doing it as good as he did. You may not be completely smitten with him like I am—but you have to admit, he's one of America's greatest actors.

feature
1

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.