Geeks logo

30 Books to Read Before You Die (Pt. 55)

1621-1650

By Annie KapurPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

We’re almost there when it comes to our part 60 milestone and I want to say thank you for sticking around as long as you have. I want to say a huge thank you if you remember the teens and I want to say sorry if you’ve been here since part 1. Today’s subject, since last time we spoke of English Historical Non-Fiction, is favourite contemporary authors. Now, my favourite is Philippa Gregory and so, I will talk about her today.

Philippa Gregory is the author of some of the greatest modern novels ever in my opinion. My personal favourites are: The Lady of the Rivers and just that scene with Joan of Arc in prison and talking to Jacquetta Woodville is enough to make you really fall in love with the text. My next favourite is The Wise Woman in which there is a scene where a baby is born but the baby is made of candle-wax, and finally, the candle-wax baby’s head collapses. It is really quite brilliant and the ending is so subtle and yet so good. My next favourite is The King’s Curse because of the fact that it deals with the turbulent life and violent death of Margaret Pole. I feel like these three are her three strongest novels, but there are others such as The Constant Princess, The White Queen and The Red Queen that are also in my own favourites. Then finally, there is The Other Boleyn Girl which was made into a film that I didn’t really enjoy that much in comparison to the book. But then again, not many films are just as good as the book, are they?

I feel like Philippa Gregory’s writing of historical fiction in first person and mostly in the style of diary-like entries really gives us an insight into the private lives and the public lives of the ladies themselves. For example, the private mind of Margaret Beaufort in The Red Queen is actually entirely different to what we know her to be in history—the villainous and power-hungry woman she was as depicted in Shakespeare’s Richard III. Philippa Gregory makes very clear that these ladies, though they were extraordinary, were completely human. They had the same human requirements as you and me, even though they lived in a different time—the psychology of their lives was the requirement for freedom and personal space, something they didn’t have very often. I love the way Philippa Gregory writes because it reads so fluently and yet, so entirely personally, as if you were sitting opposite the lady herself and she was telling you her own story.

Now that we’ve gone through how much I love Philippa Gregory and how much I cannot wait for any new novels that are coming out soon, I would like to start this list. I will go through thirty books I have read and mark my favourites with a (*), talking about one or two intermittently throughout the article. I hope you’re enjoying this as much as I am and thanks for sticking around so long…

1621-1630

Philippa Gregory

1621. Catherine de Medici by Leonie Frieda

1622. Napoleon by Andrew Roberts

1623. The Days of the French Revolution by Christopher Hibbert

1624. The Old Regime and the French Revolution by Alexis de Tocqueville

1625. Madame de Pompadour by Nancy Mitford

1626. Eleanor of Aquitaine by Alison Weir*

1627. The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory*

1628. A Great and Terrible King by Marc Morris

1629. The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory*

1630. Killers of the King by Charles Spencer*

I read this book a couple of years back and I think I still have my hardback copy of it somewhere, but I remember buying the book especially. I lifted it from the shelf and just stared at it, taking in how ominous it looked with that famous painting of Charles I on the front. The title stood out as being very to the point and I totally knew that this was going to be a tale of terror concerning the end of the English Civil War. The book itself reflected that and it was brilliant.

1631-1640

Alison Weir

1631. Witchfinders by Malcolm Gaskill

1632. Hollow Crown by Dan Jones*

1633. Crown of Blood by Nicola Tallis

1634. The Lady in the Tower by Alison Weir*

1635. King John by Marc Morris

1636. The Peterloo Massacre by Robert Reid

1637. House of Beaufort by Nathen Amin

1638. The Stripping of the Altars by Eamon Duffy

1639. The Black Prince by Michael Jones

1640. The Perfect King by Ian Mortimer

1641-1650

1641. Magna Carta by David Starkey

1642. Henry III by Darren Baker

1643. Matilda by Catherine Hanley

1644. The Lost Tomb of Arthur by Graham Phillips

1645. God’s Traitors by Jessie Childs

1646. The Restless King by Nick Barratt

1647. Summer of Blood by Dan Jones

1648. Royal Books and Holy Bones by Eamon Duffy

1649. The Greatest Traitor by Ian Mortimer

1650. 1415 by Ian Mortimer

literature
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

190K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.