Gamers logo

Starter Picks For Every Generation

Inspired by KACIE T, link here:https://vocal.media/gamers/my-starter-pokemon-of-choice-for-each-generation

By LycanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7

I've been incredibly attached to Pokemon since I was small, my first encounter with the franchise being the anime since before I was 10. My tenth birthday was always the most I was excited for before I hit double digits, because my tenth birthday, like all trainers, was the day I would get my starter. Silly, sure, but I was also the ages of five to seven when I was thinking this.

That being said, as the generations went on, I still picked a starter each time new ones dropped. This article is inspired by the one by KACIE T, and I recommend you read their article as well! Their fellow love of Grass types is a big inspiration.

Keep in mind that I started playing after Generation Four had been released, starting with Pokemon Platinum, so if I mention any moves that were added after that release, that's why.

Generation 1: Bulbasaur

This pick is specifically because of the spin-off game, Pokemon Battle Revolution for the Wii. In that game, one of the starter trainers has an Ivysaur. I don't remember one of the moves, but I do remember that this particular Ivysaur knew both Toxic and Leech Seed, and if I'm recalling correctly, had the offensive move Magical Leaf. Leech Seed does not count as a status effect, so it can be used in tandem with Toxic. The combination of the Poisoned affliction and the use of Leech Seed kept my health leagues above my opponents. That Ivysaur came from a Bulbsaur, and due to this move combination, I've never thought Grass types were weak.

Generation 2: Totodile

I'm incredibly fond of Water types and how strong they can be, and also a fan of the fact that if you teach your Water type starter the HM Surf, it still works as a powerful move in combat. My original pick for Johto was initially Chikorita, but Totodile won the spot for two reasons. The main one being that I am rather fond of crocodiles as a species, and I find their power admirable. The second being that I don't enjoy when Pokemon have an obvious crush on their trainers. Chikorita was beat out by Ash because she was weird in the anime.

Generation 3: Treecko

Another fairly simple reason for this pick. One of my first games was Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky. In that game, without providing any spoilers as to how, Grovyle is an important part of the main storyline. Treecko, therefore, has a nostalgic feel to me, as it reminds me of being fully invested in a video game's story for the first time.

Generation 4: Turtwig

Nostalgia comes into play here again. Pokemon Platinum was my first game, as I mentioned, and Turtwig was my first starter. I can't get rid of the love in my heart for this little guy. I also find the information about Torterra being a habitat for other Pokemon fascinating.

Generation 5: Snivy

It's obvious at this point I have fondness for Grass types to an extreme degree. I picked Snivy when Black and White came out simply because I thought it was the prettiest consistently throughout it's evolutionary line. I also was a fan of the PokePark games when they came out, and Snivy is a princess in her story line in the second game. Her relationship with her mother, her upbringing, and how she interacted with her new friends all made for an interesting character, adding to Snivy being my pick for the Unova region.

Generation 6: Fennekin

The reasoning is getting a little shorter with these last few entries. Put simply, I thought Fennekin was more appealing than the other two because I thought - and think - he's cuter than both Froakie and Chespin. I also was overjoyed when I evolved my Fennekin into Braixen to find that he could learn Psychic type moves, and he's been one of my favorite Fire types since I played X.

Generation 7: Popplio

If I'm being honest, I might have chosen Rowlet over Popplio when Sun and Moon first started releasing promotional material. However, the absolute backlash that Popplio received made me feel so terrible for him that I ended up picking him just so he could be babied by me. I found that picking Popplio was more than worth it when I finally got Primarina, as the combination of Fairy type and Water type moves destroyed quite a few opponents along my journey.

Generation 8: Sobble

Probably the short reasoning on this list, as I haven't yet played Sword and Shield. I think Sobble is cute, I prefer Water types in combat, and I like that he looks like he needs to be spoiled with love.

list
7

About the Creator

Lycan

21|Dark Romance and Poetry|He/Him

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.