Gamers logo

My Experience with the New 'Hit or Miss' OLG Lottery

#BeerMoney

By Nancy DPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was given a 'Free Play' coupon to play OLG's new Hit or Miss lottery. I had no idea what it was at the time but... free is free! I ended up giving this new lottery quite the try, I bought new tickets about once a twice a day for a while and I even made a couple of my friends try it. Here is what I learned about OLG's new lottery and what I thought about it.

What is Hit or Miss?

"HIT OR MISS is the new lottery game from OLG where players can win the top prize by matching all or none of the numbers in their selection with those drawn."—OLG

What makes Hit or Miss different?

  • The draws are pretty much every five minutes. No more waiting two to five days to find out if you won.
  • There is an animated video that you get to watch on your phone or computer.
  • It's only $2 and no offer for encore.

What is the top prize?

The top prize is $250,000. Match all 12 numbers, or match none at all, to win it.

I won $22!

Overall, I pretty much only get free re-plays... however I did eventually win $22 and then later I won $2. So... after about 11 to 14 plays... well, at least I won something... right?

It says online that the odds of winning any prize is one in 2.2*... but I guess I must be really unlucky because I didn't even get free plays near that often. I just kept continually losing for the most part. Also, I don't know why there is a star* next to the "odds", but that is the way it was on the OLG website.

When do you not win anything?

There is no prize for matching six of 12 or seven of 12 numbers. Which happens pretty often actually... I mean, in my experience.

Wait, how often are the draws?

The draws really do happen pretty much every five minutes... with exceptions of nights. It's been kinda cool to check if I won merely minutes after getting my lottery ticket.

There are no draws during the night between 1:30 AM to 6:55 AM.

I don't care much for video on the OLG app

I know that the animated video on the app is suppose to be fun and cute... but I honestly hit 'skip animation' pretty much every time.

You can't buy tickets online or through the app?

Even though they have that animated video you can watch on your app... 'Hit Or Miss' tickets can only be purchased and redeemed in person at an OLG lottery retailer. But... why?

What are the Odds of Winning the top prize of $250,000**?

According to the OLG website, the odds of winning the top prize are:

One in 2,704,156* per $2 play.

Again, I don't know why there is always a star next to these numbers, but thats what they do on the OLG website.

How long do you have to claim your prize?

I consider this to be good news! You have 12 months to claim your 'Hit or Miss' prize after the day you bought it.

"HIT OR MISS prizes must be claimed within 12 months of the draw date." —OLG

Please Note

"Prize shares are calculated each evening around midnight so will not be available on the winning numbers page on OLG.ca until the following day." —OLG"The HIT OR MISS draws are conducted using a Random Number Generator (RNG) at the OLG Prize Centre in Toronto."—OLG

Wait, Is there an encore available?

No, there is no encore available for OLG's new 'Hit or Miss.' However, I personally prefer it like that. It's a nice change.

Which of the two barcodes do I scan?

I was confused about this for a while so I was glad to finally get some clarification on this. You scam the bottom barcode of the two on your lottery ticker.

Hello. Nice to meet you! How are you? Hmm... this feels like a really one-sided conversation... why don't you follow me on social media so I can get to know you too!

About the Author

I started blogging about two years ago and my collection of blogs and articles is getting pretty impressive. I’ve taken online classes for writing and even some classes about the art of blogging itself. It would be really awesome if you join the adventure and maybe even help me think of what to write about next. If you would like to submit some feedback or ideas, you can always tweet me on twitter.

Like the story? Share it!

Thank you for reading my article. Would it be okay if I ask another favour though? Would it be okay if you share this on your Facebook page or Twitter? If you can't share, there is a tiny little donate box at the bottom too. No pressure though, just thought I would mention it.

Work Cited

“ALL ABOUT HIT OR MISS.” OLG, lottery.olg.ca/en-ca/hit-or-miss/about-hit-or-miss.

Lottery, Ontario. “How to Play HIT OR MISS!” YouTube, YouTube, 18 Dec. 2017, www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyOzv7aZbRw.

mobile
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.