Gamers logo

Game Review: 'Doki Doki Literature Club'

Congrats! You're invited to join an innocent Literature Club!

By Rachel MariaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Meet the Literature Club members! Sayori, Yuri, Monika, and Natsuki

I'll admit it—I chose to play this game for all the wrong reasons, and it turned out to be the best, yet most petrifying mistake I've made. Thanks, Team Salvato! Released in September of 2017, Doki Doki Literature Club, DDLC for short, took online gaming by storm. At first glance, DDLC is an impressive, very well-written visual novel with undertones of Yandere Simulator in its artistic style. Visually representative of four special school girls, DDLC's pink, cutesy artwork will lead anyone into a false sense of security.

I was on a mission to beat the odds the first time I loaded DDLC onto my old laptop. Lucky for me, DDLC doesn't take up much memory, so there's no risk of it slowing down your computer. The night before I started to play, I'd spent a few hours watching someone else's gameplay on YouTube. I didn't make it too far past the beginning though, as I got sour that the videogamers weren't picking the girl I wanted. I quickly learned that keen observation and patience are key in DDLC. Do not press the skip button, even when you're tempted to. You'll thank me later.

So... you might ask, why the fascination for one character versus another? The beauty of DDLC is the explorative, detailed personality of each girl you engage with, either by choice or by pre-existing dialogue. Sayori, your childhood friend, is the epitome of sweetness. There's also the added benefit of her being your next-door neighbor, which makes it convenient when she practically drags you to check out the Literature Club. Though she's a handful, Sayori's your best friend.

At the Literature Club, Sayori introduces you to the rest of the club members. Monika is the president, Yuri is the thoughtful one of the group and Natsuki, the one with a sour attitude like mine, is the youngest one of the club. There's no right or wrong girl to choose from, who you pick is entirely dependent on your taste. Be mindful though, everything you learn throughout the game is part of a much bigger picture. You might get stuck with questions if you don't pay enough attention.

DDLC's real fear factor kicks in as the game's dark secrets start to unravel. It was too late for me when I realized how far off I was from a dating simulator. Psychological horror in video games, when used ideally, can create several different outcomes within the player's mind. Dan Salvato, DDLC's creator, has done an impeccable job of creating a realistic atmosphere that doesn't rely on cliche scare tactics. Hidden in plain sight are multiple mysteries that aren't easily accessible to the player with just one gameplay.

Having completed the game more than once, I also learned valuable lessons in friendships that I would have otherwise overlooked. The core mechanic of DDLC is that of a visual novel, so it's refreshing to play characters with relatable backstories. I identified with the girl of my choice because I thought she was unique, but that's not to say that the rest of the Literature Club isn't special at all.

Monika, the club's president, takes the cake for her leadership skills, literally. Sayori is the Literature Club's vice president (hence the persuasion), and Yuri's quiet nature hides the depth of poetry. Natsuki's bad attitude can be attributed to her harsh circumstances, but once you get acquainted, it's easy to relate to her too. DDLC has a little bit of everything if you're looking for a good visual novel to keep you on the edge of your seat. Also, if DDLC is not your kind of game, Team Salvato is very encouraging of fan mods, so long as they follow basic copyright rules.

horror
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Maria

Creating is my fixation. 28 years old -- NYC bound

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.