FYI logo

Thirteen

The Number Thirteen Still Bothers Me But I Am Not Always Superstious

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
13

Thirteen Still Bothers Me

I have always had an ingrained aversion to the number thirteen. There is no logical reason for it but it still affects me, and I am not too sure why.

At the end of March I spilled over to thirteen thousand reads on my Vocal account and that actually bothered me. What was worse is that because I was in hospital I could not post anything on Vocal so my reads really dropped. I don’t often get retrospective reads.

Playing Games For Good

However, yesterday thanks to hosting the VSS Letters and Guess and a shared post on Van Morrison’s “Astral Weeks” I scored 136 reads which took me over fourteen thousand reads, and that gave me a slight sense of relief.

Positive Aspects of Thirteen

On the 13th day of 2014, I originally posted this on Seven Days In, it was also the 13th day of the month. Some people regard 13 as an unlucky number. It has been ingrained into me that it's unlucky, but there is no logical reason for it.

Numerous reasons are given such as Judas was the 13th guest at the Last Supper (well they all made up the 13 so anyone could be designated as the 13th one). Given that there was Jesus and the Twelve Apostles that would make Jesus the thirteenth one so does that make thirteen a bad thing? I think not but that is just my opinion.

Bakers used to always add an extra loaf to batches of a dozen in case one wasn't up to scratch. Well given in most cases that all the loaves and buns would be fine doesn't that make 13 actually lucky for the recipients?

Magpies

It's like seeing magpies, one for sorrow and two for joy, but it's all about interpretation. Missing a bus could be the "sorrowful" event and catching one could be the "joyful" event. It's just how you choose to look at it.

Horoscopes

It's like horoscopes, those wonderfully ambiguous, snippets of promise, given to us by the snake oil merchants that call themselves astrologers. Here's one of mine for today, I'm Libran by the way and that supposedly makes me a balanced personality:

"Once again, your dual nature pops up -- but this time, it's making life sweet! You can see both sides of every issue, and you can also find new ways to bring your people together. Have fun!"

Hmm, well that's clear as a thing that is not very clear. We shall see how sweet life is today and I will post tomorrow and see how I can fit events to prove that this was true (that should be easy ).

Conclusion

I always encourage positivity in myself and others, but that doesn't cause things to happen, but it will drive you towards instigating things that will be beneficial to yourself. If you can be happy, and positive you are more likely to be confident in your decision making then either reap the benefits of the correct decision or easily deal with the fallout from an incorrect one. Always look for the positives in a situation.

An addendum to this post, nothing in my "dual nature" manifested itself, nothing I did made life sweet, though lots of communications received did that, and I didn't get an opportunity to bring people together that I was aware of. Monday was a day much like any other, but if I do notice any horoscopes that come true I will say.

Humanity
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.