Futurism logo

The Time Traveler #Prologue

How It All Began

By Sarah LeePublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

#ENTRY 1.001

I didn't know how to start this, even though I've done harder practical tasks but Lucy thought it would've been therapeutic for me to list down my part of the reality on pieces of paper to help me deal with this predicament.

Yes, I'm a time traveler, I was hired by government officials of a certain country I will not name.

I have been stateless ever since 20 years ago, at least in my timeline, I gave up all of my luxury and comfort in order to pursue what I'm doing.

How did I come across this?

I was a high school teacher before I was contacted, someone anonymous had come into the high school and gave a message to the principal.

The people needed to give this camera with a recording to me, the principal was sweating profusely as well, to my later knowledge, the General had threatened him with a lot of things.

The only thing that came out of his mouth was "It seems government."

The only thing on the video was an address, a time and password.

I won't be saying anything about the password or the address because of my priority to keep everything as private and as vague as possible for the diary.

It feels like as if someone is reading it, it is a paranoid, insensible feeling.

I went on to the address on the given date, I recall saying the password to a robotic voice, then came some clicking, clattering and the door opened.

I wore an official suit and tie as if it was official business, even though I was unclear on the purpose of my attendance.

When I entered the building, it was pitch black and then the lights were lit in succession from back to forward, in the middle there was a letter.

I was extremely confused and the letter didn't clear up anything, didn't clear up any of my suspicions.

Then came a voice that startled me.

"Come upstairs," the General said.

I saw a flight of stairs moving upwards so I followed the order, I scrutinized my surroundings, looking for any clues that could answer one of many questions floating around in my head.

Excitement and nervousness filled me with every step on the stairs until I reached the top and faced a door, I opened it.

My observation was a circular structure in front of me, then I saw desks, people in sweatpants, plaid shirts, totally opposite of my appearance, they were working and seemingly did not notice my sudden presence.

To my left, I heard, "Welcome, Mr. Paul."

Paul has been my alias for the past 20 years and I'll be using it for this journal as well.

A man stood there, normally built, around the same height as me, bald-heads, wearing dark glasses, wearing a suit and tie like me.

"You must have a lot of questions, let's go to my office and have a chat," says the General.

He started moving without looking for my consent, I followed him nevertheless. When we reached his office, it was a thing of beauty, it was beautifully designed for both comfort and times of distress.

It followed both themes suitably well, the dark floor, grey wallpaper and a relaxing scenery from the balcony that I later found out to be computer-generated.

He sat and requested me to take a seat opposite him.

He said, "You must be wondering why we contacted you, the government has been funding a top-secret technology and since I've told you that much information, you have no choice but to agree to the terms or else you will be met with federal felonies and spend your time in Guantanamo Bay. Any questions?"

Speechless.

He continues, "Good, well the technology is that of time-travel, yes it is becoming real, the physicists and billionaire corporations that are allied with our government are funding this project and it's worth billions—

You would be joining five others of different nationality and embark on a history-changing journey into the past because this what we are capable of, we are going to learn a lot from the past for the hopes of our future—

But, don't think about changing anything, so scratch saving Martin Luther King Jr, Malcolm X or John F. Kennedy for that matter, that is not the purpose of this experimentation—

We, our government, has chosen you due to your brilliance in history and the overall study of science, we have checked all your records; physically fit, mentally stable and no signs of psychopathic or sociopathic traces—

With no further questions, sign this form of agreement. Signing this provides protection, financial assistance for your immediate family, your siblings, and the daughter whom you have not heard of because of that one drunken night in university—

You will be told what to do after this, your belongings have been sent to one of our rooms, you will also sign this letter of resignation which will be sent to your workplace by the next hour. Good luck Mr. Paul." He finished.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Lee

Write about whatever catches your eye and gets your brain firing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.